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Frequently Asked Questions
Q. May I apply for the Act 539 Regulatory License online?

A. Yes.  Dealers who are currently in good standing may renew online by visiting the Department of
Revenue’s webpage at  http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/licenses/mvdrl.html and selecting Online
Motor Vehicle Dealer License Application. A convenience fee is required.  You must be able to upload the
bond, insurance, and photo documents electronically to use this system.  Note: First time applicants must apply by
mail only.

Q. Is it acceptable to fax my application, insurance certificate and bond?  Can I have my insurance agent
send my bond and insurance certificate directly to the Alabama Depart ment of Revenue?

A. No, the application and bond must be original documents, the insurance certification can be a copy; how -
ever, all documents must be attached to the completed application.  Incomplete applications and parts
thereof are returned to the sender.  Note: Now that the online application is available at
 www.revenue.alabama.gov/licenses/mvdrl.html, you will be able to submit your information electronically.

Q. What are the bond requirements for obtaining a motor vehicle dealer’s license in Alabama?

A. All applicants need a bond (available from your insurance agent).  Franchised new car dealers need a
$25,000 bond while those dealing in used cars only need a $10,000 bond.  If your bond is cancelled for
any reason, your license will be revoked.  If you decide to change your bonding company, you must
deliver the new bond to the Severance & License Section before the old bond is cancelled.  Otherwise,
your license will be revoked when the coverage ceases under the old bond. Note: a new bond must be pro-
vided when changing from one legal entity to another.

Q. What insurance is required to get a license?  What proof of insurance must I submit with my
 application?

A. Each applicant must maintain blanket liability insurance coverage for all owned vehicles and all non-
owned vehicles associated with the business.  A current insurance certificate must be submitted with the
application, and it must provide for 30 days advance notice to the Severance & License Section in the
event the coverage is cancelled.  If the coverage is cancelled, or if it is not renewed prior to the expiration
date, your license will be revoked.  See page 15 for a sample certificate showing what must be included
and page 16 for a list of information required to be shown on the insurance certificate.

Q. If I previously provided an insurance certificate must I submit a new one with this year’s application?

A. Yes, each application must be accompanied by a current insurance certificate.  In most cases the certificate
must be issued no more than 15 days prior to the date the application is received.  However, for a dealer
who is licensed and in good standing on September 30th, the certificate can be dated any time after
August 31st, provided the completed application package is received & processed by October 31st.
Anytime you request a change to your license during the year, a currently dated certificate of insurance
must accompany the request.

Q. Do I need a Sales Tax Number?

A. Yes, if you sell any motor vehicles to non-dealers you must have a sales tax number assigned in the same
name as the business.

Q. Can I apply without a Sales Tax Number?

A. No application for a new or used retail dealer’s license will be accepted without a sales tax number for
the business.

Q. How do I get a Sales Tax Number?

A. Sales Tax Numbers can be obtained in person or by mail, at no charge, from the Business Registration
Unit in Mont gomery.  Applications are available from your local Taxpayer Service Center or by calling
(334) 242-1584 in Montgomery.  You may also apply on-line at  www.revenue.alabama.gov/ salestax/
register.html.  Remember to allow time for your Sales Tax Number to arrive before submitting an applica-
tion for a retail dealer.
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Q. If I sell motor vehicles on the Internet, am I required to obtain a motor vehicle dealer’s license?

A. Yes, you are required to obtain a motor vehicle dealer’s license if you are publicly selling and soliciting
the sale of motor vehicles on-line.

Q. Can my cell phone serve as my business phone?

A. No. Each permanent location must have an operable landline telephone that is listed in the business
name or if individually owned can be listed in individual’s name.  This office must be able to verify the
phone listing.

Q. What do I need to do if I move from my licensed location?

A. If you decide to relocate your business during the year, you must promptly contact the Severance &
License Section, in writing, to determine if the new location is acceptable for licensing.  Furthermore, you
must provide a new insurance certificate for the new location and proof of the new telephone number.
Retail dealers must also furnish photographs of the new location and sign.  In addition, you must submit
the applicable license fee.

Q. Is there a charge for each location?

A. There is no charge for the first location, but each additional location has a $5.00 charge.

Q. What type of remittance is acceptable?

A. Certified funds or checks are acceptable.  Do not send cash through the mail. Insufficient funds will result
in license revocation. Credit card payments are acceptable for online  applicants.

Q. Am I required to remit any additional money when making a change to my regulatory license?

A. Yes, when making any changes to your regulatory license account, you are required to remit the original
license fee.  This includes requests for duplicate licenses.

Q. If I bring my application to Montgomery in person, what do I need to bring and where do I go?

A. If you bring your application in person, you should arrive between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.  The
correct license fee, original application, bond, power of attorney form, insurance certificate and proof of a
landline telephone must be presented.  If the limited liability authorization is required to be completed it
must be notarized prior to arrival.  Additionally, if you are a retail dealer, you must present photographs.
The Severance and License Section is located in room 3103 of the Gordon Persons Building at 50 N.
Ripley Street.  Note:  NO LICENSES WILL BE ISSUED OVER THE COUNTER.

Q. What are the location and sign requirements?

A. If you are a motor vehicle dealer (retail, wholesaler, rebuilder or reconditioner) you must have a perma-
nent business location.  Each permanent location must be owned or leased by the sole proprietor, a part-
ner, LLC member or corporation.  If you are a retail dealer, you are required to have a permanent sign
that meets the sign requirements (see page 4).  

Q. When providing a picture of my sign and location, may I use digital photographs?

A. Yes.  You may use digital photographs.  However, they must be clear.  (See page 4 for details about sign
and photograph requirements.)

Q. If I want to conduct a tent sale at a different location, what must I do to obtain the proper licenses?

A. A tent or off-site sale can only occur in the city or county where you are licensed as a used motor vehicle
dealer or within your area of responsibility as a new motor vehicle dealer.  The fee for an off-site sale is
$25.  The off-site license must be obtained at least 14 days prior to the beginning of the sale.  Once this
license is obtained, a Section 40-12-51 license should be obtained from the county probate office, as well
as any city licenses required.  You may download an application at
 www.revenue.alabama.gov/licenses/LIC-539-6.pdf.



Definitions
Motor Vehicle – Any self-propelled vehicle; any vehicle which is propelled by electric power from overhead

trolley wires; and any vehicle which is drawn by a self-propelled vehicle, but such term shall not include
trailers, semi-trailers, or house trailers as defined in Section 40-12-240.

Motor Vehicle Reconditioner – Any person, firm, or corporation engaged in the business of refurbishing, repairing,
or replacing damaged parts of motor vehicles for the purpose of preparing such vehicle for resale under
the same identification and identity as the vehicle bore before such refurbishing.

Motor Vehicle Rebuilder – Any person, firm, or corporation engaged in the business of making or causing to be
made extensive repairs, replacements, or combination of different motor vehicles to the extent that the
finished motor vehicle must be assigned a new identification to be issued by the Alabama Depart ment of
Revenue under the provisions of Chapter 8 of Title 32, Code of Alabama 1975.

Motor Vehicle Wholesaler – Any person, firm or corporation engaged in the business of buying, selling, or
exchanging motor vehicles at wholesale to motor vehicle dealers, as defined in this article and not to the
 public.

New Motor Vehicle – A motor vehicle, other than a used motor vehicle, the legal title of which has never been
transferred by a manufacturer, distributor, or new motor vehicle dealer to an ultimate purchaser.

New Motor Vehicle Dealer – Any person, firm, or corporation which holds a bona fide contract or franchise in this
state in effect with a manufacturer or distributor of new motor vehicles and is engaged in the business of
selling, advertising, or negotiating the sale of new motor vehicles or new and used motor vehicles.  Such
duly licensed new motor vehicle dealers shall be the sole and only persons, firms, or corporations enti-
tled (other than in connection with the rental or leasing of new motor vehicles by persons engaged in the
business of motor vehicle rental and leasing) to sell and publicly or otherwise solicit and advertise for
sale new motor vehicles as such.

Permanent Location – A building or structure from which sales of motor vehicles are conducted.  A house used
as a residence by the business owner, a partner, or a corporate officer from which sales of motor vehicles
are conducted may also be a permanent location.  The building or structure must be owned, rented, or
leased and must be used as an office and a place to receive mail, keep records, and conduct routine busi-
ness, to include an operable telephone listed with the telephone company under the name of the licensed
business.

Used Motor Vehicle Dealer – Any person, firm, or corporation engaged in the business of buying, selling,
exchanging, advertising, or negotiating the sale of five or more motor vehicles at retail during a calendar
year, whether or not such motor vehicles are owned by such person, firm, or corporation, or in offering or
displaying motor vehicles for sale at retail to the public.  The term “selling” or “sale” shall include lease-
purchase transactions.  The term “used motor vehicle dealer” does not include banks and finance compa-
nies which acquire motor vehicles as an incident to their regular business and does not include motor
vehicle rental and leasing  companies.

Ultimate Purchaser – With respect to a new motor vehicle, the first person, firm, or corporation, other than a
new motor vehicle dealer, who in good faith purchases such new motor vehicle for purposes other than
resale.  Ultimate purchaser shall not include a person, firm or corporation who purchases a vehicle for
purposes of altering or remanufacturing the motor vehicle for future resale.
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Sign and Photograph Requirements
For All New Motor Vehicle Dealers and Used Motor Vehicle Dealers

Rule 810-8-5-.01, Sign Requirements

An appropriate sign of sufficient size should be legible from the street fronting the display area, or
from a distance of fifty yards, whichever is greater, so as to apprise a reasonable consumer that a retail motor
vehicle sales business is being conducted at said location.  This sign may be free standing or attached to the
face of a building, and shall be erected at the location stated on the regulatory license application.  The sign
shall use the name under which the applicant is licensed, and should this name not clearly identify the appli-
cant as a seller of new and/or used motor vehicles, then a supplemental sign shall be attached, and state, in
letters not less than six inches high, “used motor vehicle dealer” and/or “new motor vehicle dealer” as
appropriate.

Signs Not Acceptable

• Signs that do not clearly inform the consumer that Motor Vehicles are sold by the business.
• Signs that do not name the applicant exactly as applied for on the license application.
• Signs that are not clearly legible at 50 yards.
• Signs that are considered temporary or constructed of materials of very limited life such as paper and card-

board; banners of vinyl, canvas or other fiber; lettering which weathers poorly, fades, runs, or dislodges;
and/or erected in such a manner that it is questionable as a permanent sign.

• Signs that are or become obscured from normal traffic vision by operation of doors, windows, etc.; vegeta-
tion; or other reasons.

• Indoor signs.
• Signs that are legible only when illuminated by artificial means.

Rule 810-8-5-.02, Camera Photograph Requirements

An applicant for a new and/or used motor vehicle dealer regulatory license shall submit with the
required application a camera photograph.  This photograph shall be an image of the principal sign dis-
played and situated on the dealer’s permanent location or locations apprising the public that a retail motor
sales business is being conducted at said location.  In addition, the photograph shall contain any supplemen-
tal sign required to be attached to the principal sign.  Any new and/or used motor vehicle dealer having
more than one location shall submit a photograph for each location.  The photograph shall be of such visual
quality and size that a reasonable viewer of the photograph could discern all lettering appearing on the sign
or signs.  Failure to submit necessary photograph or photographs with said application will result in rejection
of the application.

Photographs Not Acceptable

• Photographs in which all lettering on the sign cannot be read.
• Photographs which do not show both the sign and location.
• Photographs that were not recently taken.
• Photographs which have been retouched or edited.
• Digital photographs which are not clear.

IMPORTANT
Photograph(s) of sign must include location.  More than one photo may be used.



5

Important Information for Applicants
• After receiving your Regulatory License, you must purchase your privilege license (Section 40-12-51) from

your county licensing office. You must present your regulatory license to obtain the privilege license. 

• If your business is located within the city limits, please contact city licensing officials to determine if a city
business license is required. 

• Dealer plates are purchased at your county probate office. Act 2011-554 amended Section 40-12-264 to limit
the number of dealer plates available for purchase to 25 for new motor vehicle dealers, 10 for used dealers
& motorcycle dealers. New and used dealers completing more than 1500 title applications during the pre-
vious license year may purchase an additional 25 plates. Permits new and used dealers, wholesalers,
rebuilders, and reconditioners to purchase a maximum of 10 dealer transit license plates.

• If your company has an outstanding liability related to dealer license plates, your regulatory license is sub-
ject to non-renewal or revocation.

• If you wish to become a Designated Agent, please e-mail the Motor Vehicle Division at
 Etaps@revenue.alabama.gov. 

• If your insurance is cancelled during the license year, a reinstatement letter or new certificate must be sub-
mitted by mail or fax.

• If you change locations during the license year, you must return your old license and obtain a new license.
For details, please contact the Severance & License Section at (334) 353-7827.

• If you change the name of your business or form of organization during the license year, please contact the
Severance & License Section regarding the requirements.

• If you go out of business, you must return your Regulatory License to:
Alabama Department of Revenue
Severance & License Section
P.O. Box 327550
Montgomery, AL 36132-7550

AND

you must return your dealer plates to:
Alabama Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Division
Registration Unit
P.O. Box 327620
Montgomery, AL 36132-7620

If you conduct a temporary off site sale, an additional license is required and must be obtained 14 days prior
to the beginning date of the sale. You must submit $25.00 and a completed application. The application can
be downloaded from www.revenue.alabama.gov/licenses/LIC-539-6.pdf.
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ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS & LICENSE TAX DIVISION

SEVERANCE & LICENSE SECTION
P.O. Box 327550 • Montgomery, AL 36132-7550 • (334) 353-7827

Application for Act 539 Regulatory License
October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2012

LIC: 539-3  Rev. 3/12

For Office Use Only

� New � Renewal

1. ________________________________________________________________________________________________________
LEGAL NAME OF BUSINESS DBA NAME

________________________________________________________________________________________________________
MAILING ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

________________________________________  ___________________________________ __________________________
STATE SALES TAX NUMBER (RETAIL ONLY) FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID NUMBER DATE BUSINESS BEGAN

2. Form of Organization: � Individual  � Partnership  � Limited Liability Company  � Corporation
Provide the information below for owner, ALL partners, members, officers and directors. Attach additional sheet(s) if necessary.

A. _____________________________________________________________________________________ ______ /____ /________
NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_____________________________________________________________________________________ (______)_______________
HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP HOME PHONE

B. _____________________________________________________________________________________ ______ /____ /________
NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_____________________________________________________________________________________ (______)_______________
HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP HOME PHONE

C. _____________________________________________________________________________________ ______ /____ /________
NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_____________________________________________________________________________________ (______)_______________
HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP HOME PHONE

D. _____________________________________________________________________________________ ______ /____ /________
NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_____________________________________________________________________________________ (______)_______________
HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP HOME PHONE

3. List exact permanent location(s): TELEPHONE
(VERIFIABLE LANDLINE)

ADDRESS CITY ZIP NO CELLULAR PHONES

Primary Location __________________________________________________________________________________ (_____)________________

Second Location __________________________________________________________________________________ (_____)________________

Third Location ____________________________________________________________________________________ (_____)________________
4. Number of Motor Vehicles Sold January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2010:

RETAIL: WHOLESALE:

New Vehicles ________________ ________________

Used Vehicles ________________ ________________
NOTE:  Failure to provide all information will result in a delay of processing
the application.

For Office Use Only

Approved By: ____________________________
Bond Number: ___________________________
W/I Date: ________________________________
Entered By: _______________________________
Date: ____________________________________

Applying For: Check Appropriate Box(es)

Franchised New Motor Vehicle Dealer . . . . . . . . . . . . � . . . . . $10.00 Motor Vehicle Reconditioner . . . . . . . . . . . � . . . . . $10.00

Used Motor Vehicle Dealer (Retail) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � Motor Vehicle Rebuilder . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � . . . . . $10.00

Extra Locations ($5.00 each) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ____________ Motor Vehicle Wholesaler. . . . . . . . . . . . . . � . . . . . $10.00

Total Enclosed With Application . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ____________

Insufficient Funds Will Result In License Revocation

For
Manufacturer:____________________________________________ Line Make:_______________________________________

New Car Manufacturer:____________________________________________ Line Make:_______________________________________

Dealers Manufacturer:____________________________________________ Line Make:_______________________________________
ONLY! Manufacturer:____________________________________________ Line Make:_______________________________________

– or – }

{

_______________________
County
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5. The questions in part 5 must be answered by ALL APPLICANTS. Note:  Only retailers are required to answer question
(5)(e)(5).

Yes No

a. Have you ever knowingly dealt in stolen vehicles or accessories? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �
b. Have you disconnected, turned back, or reset the odometer of any 

motor vehicle in violation of state or federal law since September 1, 1991? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �
c. Have you skipped title assignments or accepted open assignments of title 

or bill of sale during the last year?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �
d. Section 40-12-395, Code of Alabama 1975, states in part: “Only one licensed dealer 

shall operate at the same place of business; provided, that a motor vehicle reconditioner 
or motor vehicle rebuilder may operate on the premises for which he is licensed to 
operate as a motor vehicle dealer.” Do you acknowledge awareness of this statement? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

e. Regarding the location(s) listed in part 3 of this application:

1) Is/Are the location(s) permanent and owned or leased by the sole proprietor, 
a partner, LLC member or the corporation as listed on the application?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

2) Is there sufficient space to adequately display/store on each location one or more 
vehicles offered for sale?  (Space must be exclusive.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

3) Does/Do the location(s) have a suitable place from which a motor vehicle dealer can, 
in good faith, carry on the business of a motor vehicle dealer, keep and maintain 
books and records necessary to conduct such a business?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

4) Does/Do the location(s) listed in part 3 have operable landline telephone(s) listed 
with the telephone company under the name of the licensed business? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

5) Does/Do the location(s) listed in part 3 each have the required sign designating
that the location is a place of business of a motor vehicle dealer? (Retailers only.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

The information provided in this application will be cross-checked for compliance with Alabama Sales Tax and Income Tax Laws.

Retailers only
Attach Photo(s) Here

Photo(s) must show Sign and Location
labeled for each separate location.
A new photo is required each license year.
Digital photos are acceptable if legible.__________________________________________________

Name of Business

NOTE: Multiple Member Limited Liability Company must complete
authorization form on page 13 if only one member signs this form.

__________________________________________________
Signature of Owner, Partner, Member, Officer or Director

__________________________________________________
(Type or Print Name)

__________________________________________________
Signature of Partner, Member, Officer or Director

__________________________________________________
(Type or Print Name)

__________________________________________________
Signature of Partner, Member, Officer or Director

__________________________________________________
(Type or Print Name)

__________________________________________________
Signature of Partner, Member, Officer or Director

__________________________________________________
(Type or Print Name)

Under penalties of perjury, the undersigned hereby certify that all
information contained in this application for a regulatory license is
true and correct in every respect; furthermore, that the undersigned
is/are aware of all requirements provided by Sections 40-12-390
through 40-12-400, Code of Alabama 1975, and is/are aware of all
applicable penalties for code violations.
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ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS & LICENSE TAX DIVISION

SEVERANCE & LICENSE SECTION
P.O. Box 327550 • Montgomery, AL 36132-7550 • (334) 353-7827

Application for Act 539 Regulatory License
October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2012

LIC: 539-3  Rev. 3/12

For Office Use Only

� New � Renewal

1. ________________________________________________________________________________________________________
LEGAL NAME OF BUSINESS DBA NAME

________________________________________________________________________________________________________
MAILING ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

________________________________________  ___________________________________ __________________________
STATE SALES TAX NUMBER (RETAIL ONLY) FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID NUMBER DATE BUSINESS BEGAN

2. Form of Organization: � Individual  � Partnership  � Limited Liability Company  � Corporation
Provide the information below for owner, ALL partners, members, officers and directors. Attach additional sheet(s) if necessary.

A. _____________________________________________________________________________________ ______ /____ /________
NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_____________________________________________________________________________________ (______)_______________
HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP HOME PHONE

B. _____________________________________________________________________________________ ______ /____ /________
NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_____________________________________________________________________________________ (______)_______________
HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP HOME PHONE

C. _____________________________________________________________________________________ ______ /____ /________
NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_____________________________________________________________________________________ (______)_______________
HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP HOME PHONE

D. _____________________________________________________________________________________ ______ /____ /________
NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_____________________________________________________________________________________ (______)_______________
HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP HOME PHONE

3. List exact permanent location(s): TELEPHONE
(VERIFIABLE LANDLINE)

ADDRESS CITY ZIP NO CELLULAR PHONES

Primary Location __________________________________________________________________________________ (_____)________________

Second Location __________________________________________________________________________________ (_____)________________

Third Location ____________________________________________________________________________________ (_____)________________
4. Number of Motor Vehicles Sold January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2010:

RETAIL: WHOLESALE:

New Vehicles ________________ ________________

Used Vehicles ________________ ________________
NOTE:  Failure to provide all information will result in a delay of processing
the application.

For Office Use Only

Approved By: ____________________________
Bond Number: ___________________________
W/I Date: ________________________________
Entered By: _______________________________
Date: ____________________________________

Applying For: Check Appropriate Box(es)

Franchised New Motor Vehicle Dealer . . . . . . . . . . . . � . . . . . $10.00 Motor Vehicle Reconditioner . . . . . . . . . . . � . . . . . $10.00

Used Motor Vehicle Dealer (Retail) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � Motor Vehicle Rebuilder . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � . . . . . $10.00

Extra Locations ($5.00 each) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ____________ Motor Vehicle Wholesaler. . . . . . . . . . . . . . � . . . . . $10.00

Total Enclosed With Application . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ____________

Insufficient Funds Will Result In License Revocation

For
Manufacturer:____________________________________________ Line Make:_______________________________________

New Car Manufacturer:____________________________________________ Line Make:_______________________________________

Dealers Manufacturer:____________________________________________ Line Make:_______________________________________
ONLY! Manufacturer:____________________________________________ Line Make:_______________________________________

– or – }

{

_______________________
County
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5. The questions in part 5 must be answered by ALL APPLICANTS. Note:  Only retailers are required to answer question
(5)(e)(5).

Yes No

a. Have you ever knowingly dealt in stolen vehicles or accessories? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �
b. Have you disconnected, turned back, or reset the odometer of any 

motor vehicle in violation of state or federal law since September 1, 1991? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �
c. Have you skipped title assignments or accepted open assignments of title 

or bill of sale during the last year?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �
d. Section 40-12-395, Code of Alabama 1975, states in part: “Only one licensed dealer 

shall operate at the same place of business; provided, that a motor vehicle reconditioner 
or motor vehicle rebuilder may operate on the premises for which he is licensed to 
operate as a motor vehicle dealer.” Do you acknowledge awareness of this statement? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

e. Regarding the location(s) listed in part 3 of this application:

1) Is/Are the location(s) permanent and owned or leased by the sole proprietor, 
a partner, LLC member or the corporation as listed on the application?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

2) Is there sufficient space to adequately display/store on each location one or more 
vehicles offered for sale?  (Space must be exclusive.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

3) Does/Do the location(s) have a suitable place from which a motor vehicle dealer can, 
in good faith, carry on the business of a motor vehicle dealer, keep and maintain 
books and records necessary to conduct such a business?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

4) Does/Do the location(s) listed in part 3 have operable landline telephone(s) listed 
with the telephone company under the name of the licensed business? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

5) Does/Do the location(s) listed in part 3 each have the required sign designating
that the location is a place of business of a motor vehicle dealer? (Retailers only.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � �

The information provided in this application will be cross-checked for compliance with Alabama Sales Tax and Income Tax Laws.

Retailers only
Attach Photo(s) Here

Photo(s) must show Sign and Location
labeled for each separate location.
A new photo is required each license year.
Digital photos are acceptable if legible.__________________________________________________

Name of Business

NOTE: Multiple Member Limited Liability Company must complete
authorization form on page 13 if only one member signs this form.

__________________________________________________
Signature of Owner, Partner, Member, Officer or Director

__________________________________________________
(Type or Print Name)

__________________________________________________
Signature of Partner, Member, Officer or Director

__________________________________________________
(Type or Print Name)

__________________________________________________
Signature of Partner, Member, Officer or Director

__________________________________________________
(Type or Print Name)

__________________________________________________
Signature of Partner, Member, Officer or Director

__________________________________________________
(Type or Print Name)

Under penalties of perjury, the undersigned hereby certify that all
information contained in this application for a regulatory license is
true and correct in every respect; furthermore, that the undersigned
is/are aware of all requirements provided by Sections 40-12-390
through 40-12-400, Code of Alabama 1975, and is/are aware of all
applicable penalties for code violations.



Instructions
Application for Act 539 Regulatory License

(New or Used Motor Vehicle Dealer, Motor Vehicle Reconditioner,
Motor Vehicle Rebuilder, and Motor Vehicle Wholesaler)

Use the application form for the current year.  These instructions are for the application for the fiscal year
beginning October 1, 2011, and ending September 30, 2012.  If these dates are not preprinted on your applica-
tion, it is the wrong application form for the license year.  Current applications are available from the county
probate offices or may be accessed and completed at  www.revenue.alabama. gov/ licenses/lic-539-3.pdf or
submitted electronically at  www.revenue.alabama.gov/licenses/mvdrl.html.

Begin by inserting the county in which the primary business is located in the blank on the right side, near
the top.

Check the appropriate box(es) for the business category for which you are applying.  Definitions of these
categories are on page 3 of this booklet.

There is a $5.00 charge for each additional location.  If you will have more than one location, calculate the
fee for additional locations, and enter that amount in the space titled “Extra Locations.”

Add the $10.00 license fee for each business category for which you are applying and the fee for extra loca-
tions.  Enter this total on the line titled “Total Enclosed with Application.”  Your check for that amount
should be made payable to the Alabama Department of Revenue and attached at the top of the application.
(Note: If completing an on-line application, payment will be made by credit card.)

All new motor vehicle dealers must provide the name of the manufacturer with whom they are franchised
and the name of each line of new motor vehicles they are authorized to represent.

Item Instructions:

Part 1. Enter the legal name of the business.  For an individual, list the owner’s full and true legal name.
For a partnership, limited liability company or corporation list the exact name of the business as
shown in the organizational records.  New applicants (LLC & corporations) must attach a copy of
their organization papers from the Secretary of State’s Office.

List the name under which business will be conducted.  This is the name by which customers and the
public will know the business and the name that will appear on all required signs.

List the mailing address to be used by the Alabama Department of Revenue for correspondence pur-
poses.

All Motor Vehicle Retail Dealers are required to have a sales tax number and the number must be in
the name of the business.  The regulatory license will not be issued without a sales tax number.  Enter
the sales tax number exactly as issued by the Alabama Department of Revenue.  [Information about
obtaining a sales tax number is available by calling (334) 242-1584.  You may also apply on-line at
www.revenue.alabama.gov/salestax/register.html.]

Enter the Federal Employer Identification Number, if applicable.

Enter the original date the business began or is expected to begin.

Part 2. Check the form of the organization:  Individual (proprietorship), Partnership, Limited Liability
Company, or Corporation.

In A through D supply the full and true legal name, social security number, home address (no P.O.
Box) and telephone number of all individuals responsible for the business, including the business
owner, all partners, all members of a limited liability company and all officers and directors of a cor-
poration.  Extra pages can be attached, if needed.

11
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Part 3. List the exact permanent place where the business will be primarily located, and the exact permanent
place of each additional business location as well as the landline telephone number for each location.
For Motor Vehicle Retail Dealers, photographs of signs at each location are required.

Part 4. Enter the number of new and used motor vehicles sold during the last full calendar year.  If the cor-
rect answer is zero, enter 0.  Do not leave these spaces blank.

Part 5. Items a through f must apply to all of the undersigned jointly and individually.  Simply check the
appropriate squares for each statement.

Complete the Certification.

a. Enter the name of the business from Part 1.

b. One officer who is authorized to sign on behalf of a corporation must sign and date the applica-
tion.  Applications filed for all other organizations must be signed by each individual required to
be listed in Part 2.  In some cases, one member may be able to sign for a limited liability company.
(See authorization form on page 13.) Type or print the name of the person(s) signing the applica-
tion below their signature(s).

NOTE:  If the address assigned by the post office is not sufficient to identify the exact location of the busi-
ness, a hand-drawn map should be attached to the application for each such location. The map should have
sufficient detail to show the location.

Check List Before Mailing

� Check or Money Order (Made Payable to 
Alabama Department of Revenue)

� Completed Application

� Original Bond and Power of Attorney with All
required  signatures/seals, or if renewing license
an original continuation certificate approved by
the Department

� Photo(s) of Sign and Location (Label Each
Location)

� Properly dated Certificate of Insurance

� Proof of Landline Telephone listed at each busi-
ness location. (NO CELL PHONES)

� LLCs and corporations must provide a copy of
their Articles from the Secretary of State’s office.

Mailing Address
Alabama Department of Revenue
Business & License Tax Division

Severance & License Section
P. O. Box 327550

Montgomery, AL 36132-7550

Physical Address
Gordon Persons Building

Room 3103
50 North Ripley Street

Montgomery, Alabama 36104

Telephone
(334) 353-7827

Fax
(334) 242-0770

Website
www.revenue.alabama.gov
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I am signing as a member of the LLC for which a bond and/or application for a motor vehicle regulatory
license is submitted, I hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, as follows:  (1) I am vested with full authority
to execute this Bond and/or Application on behalf of the LLC; and (2) the Articles of Organization or any
operating agreements of the LLC DO NOT provide that management is vested in a manager or  managers.

___________________________________________, LLC
An Alabama Limited Liability Company

By: _____________________________________________
Its Member

I am signing as manager of the LLC for which a bond and/or application for a motor vehicle regulatory
license is submitted, I hereby certify under penalty of perjury, as follows:  (1) I am vested with full authority
to execute this Bond and/or Application on behalf of the LLC; and (2) the Articles of Organization or any
operating agreements specifically vest management authority in me.

___________________________________________, LLC
An Alabama Limited Liability Company

By: _____________________________________________
Its Manager

STATE OF ______________________________________

COUNTY OF ____________________________________

I, the undersigned, a Notary Public in and for said County, in said State, hereby certify that _______________
_________________________________________ whose name as ________________________________________,
of _____________________________________________, LLC, is signed to the foregoing instrument and who is
known to me, acknowledged before me on this day that, being informed of the contents of said instrument,
(s)he, as such member or manager, and with full authority, executed the same voluntarily on the day the
same bears date for and as the act of said Limited Liability Company.

Given under my hand and seal this _________ day of _________________, _________.

________________________________________________
NOTARY PUBLIC

(Instructions on Back)

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS & LICENSE TAX DIVISION

SEVERANCE & LICENSE SECTION
P.O. Box 327550 • Montgomery, AL 36132-7550 • (334) 353-7827

Limited Liability Company Authorization Form
for

New Motor Vehicle Dealer, Used Motor Vehicle Dealer,
Motor Vehicle Reconditioner, Rebuilder, or Wholesaler

AUTH
7/08
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Authorization Form Instructions
This form should only be completed for a multiple member limited liability company when less than all
members of the LLC are signing the application. Also, the person completing the form must be a member
or manager that is authorized to sign on behalf of the company.

The following information must be included on the authorization form.

• The true legal name of the limited liability company.
• The signature of the member or manager that is authorized to execute this form.
• The signature and seal of a Notary Public. The individual notarizing the signature cannot be one of the

individuals required to be listed on the application.
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CERTIFICATE HOLDER

© 1988-2010 ACORD CORPORATION.  All rights reserved.
ACORD 25 (2010/05)

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE

CANCELLATION

DATE (MM/DD/YYYY)CERTIFICATE OF LIABILITY INSURANCE

LOCJECT
PRO-POLICY

GEN'L AGGREGATE LIMIT APPLIES PER:

OCCURCLAIMS-MADE

COMMERCIAL GENERAL LIABILITY

GENERAL LIABILITY

PREMISES (Ea occurrence) $
DAMAGE TO RENTED
EACH OCCURRENCE $

MED EXP (Any one person) $

PERSONAL & ADV INJURY $

GENERAL AGGREGATE $

PRODUCTS - COMP/OP AGG $

$RETENTIONDED

CLAIMS-MADE

OCCUR

$

AGGREGATE $

EACH OCCURRENCE $UMBRELLA LIAB

EXCESS LIAB

DESCRIPTION OF OPERATIONS / LOCATIONS / VEHICLES  (Attach ACORD 101, Additional Remarks Schedule, if more space is required)

INSR
LTR TYPE OF INSURANCE POLICY NUMBER

POLICY EFF
(MM/DD/YYYY)

POLICY EXP
(MM/DD/YYYY) LIMITS

WC STATU-
TORY LIMITS

OTH-
ER

E.L. EACH ACCIDENT

E.L. DISEASE - EA EMPLOYEE

E.L. DISEASE - POLICY LIMIT

$

$

$

ANY PROPRIETOR/PARTNER/EXECUTIVE

If yes, describe under
DESCRIPTION OF OPERATIONS below

(Mandatory in NH)
OFFICER/MEMBER EXCLUDED?

WORKERS COMPENSATION
AND EMPLOYERS' LIABILITY Y / N

AUTOMOBILE LIABILITY

ANY AUTO
ALL OWNED SCHEDULED

HIRED AUTOS
NON-OWNED

AUTOS AUTOS

AUTOS

COMBINED SINGLE LIMIT

BODILY INJURY (Per person)

BODILY INJURY (Per accident)
PROPERTY DAMAGE $

$

$
$

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE POLICIES OF INSURANCE LISTED BELOW HAVE BEEN ISSUED TO THE INSURED NAMED ABOVE FOR THE POLICY PERIOD
INDICATED.  NOTWITHSTANDING ANY REQUIREMENT, TERM OR CONDITION OF ANY CONTRACT OR OTHER DOCUMENT WITH RESPECT TO WHICH THIS
CERTIFICATE MAY BE ISSUED OR MAY PERTAIN, THE INSURANCE AFFORDED BY THE POLICIES DESCRIBED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL THE TERMS,
EXCLUSIONS AND CONDITIONS OF SUCH POLICIES. LIMITS SHOWN MAY HAVE BEEN REDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS.

INSR
ADDL

WVD
SUBR

N / A

$

$

(Ea accident)

(Per accident)

THIS CERTIFICATE IS ISSUED AS A MATTER OF INFORMATION ONLY AND CONFERS NO RIGHTS UPON THE CERTIFICATE HOLDER. THIS
CERTIFICATE DOES NOT AFFIRMATIVELY OR NEGATIVELY AMEND, EXTEND OR ALTER THE COVERAGE AFFORDED BY THE POLICIES
BELOW.  THIS CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE DOES NOT CONSTITUTE A CONTRACT BETWEEN THE ISSUING INSURER(S), AUTHORIZED
REPRESENTATIVE OR PRODUCER, AND THE CERTIFICATE HOLDER.
IMPORTANT:  If the certificate holder is an ADDITIONAL INSURED, the policy(ies) must be endorsed.  If SUBROGATION IS WAIVED, subject to
the terms and conditions of the policy, certain policies may require an endorsement.  A statement on this certificate does not confer rights to the
certificate holder in lieu of such endorsement(s).

The ACORD name and logo are registered marks of ACORD

COVERAGES CERTIFICATE NUMBER: REVISION NUMBER:

INSURED

PHONE
(A/C, No, Ext):

PRODUCER

ADDRESS:
E-MAIL

FAX
(A/C, No):

CONTACT
NAME:

NAIC #

INSURER A :

INSURER B :

INSURER C :

INSURER D :

INSURER E :

INSURER F :

INSURER(S) AFFORDING COVERAGE

SHOULD ANY OF THE ABOVE DESCRIBED POLICIES BE CANCELLED BEFORE
THE EXPIRATION DATE THEREOF, NOTICE WILL BE DELIVERED IN
ACCORDANCE WITH THE POLICY PROVISIONS.

�A

�B

�C

�D

�E

�F
�G �H

�I

�K

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS & LICENSE TAX DIVISION
PO BOX 327550
MONTGOMERY, AL 36132-7550

75,000.00
25,000.00
50,000.00
25,000.00

X
X

X

SAMPLE

Letters correspond to Certificate of

Liability Insurance Requirements 

on next page.

�J

Garage



Certificate of Liability Insurance Requirements 
(All letters referenced on Certificate of Liability Insurance Sample must be completed properly) 

PROOF OF INSURANCE – Each applicant must file an original or facsimile certificate of liability insur-
ance with the license application. The certificate must contain the following information: 

�A The insurance certificate must be dated as follows: 

(1)  For renewals, the certificate must be dated September 1st or later and received no later than
October 31st.

(2)  For all new applicants, applicants not in good standing, and for any applications received
after October 31st, the certificate must be dated no earlier than 15 days prior to the date the
application is received. 

�B The name of the insurance company providing the coverage. 

�C The name, address & phone number of the agency that produced the certificate. 

�D The insured party, which must be the true legal name of the party applying for the license, as fol-
lows: 

(1)  If an individual, the applicant’s name as well as the business name. 

(2)  If a partnership, the names of all partners and the name of the partnership. 

(3)  If a limited liability company, the true legal name of the company. 

(4)  If a corporation, the legal corporate name. 

�E The physical address of each location for which insurance coverage is provided. 

�F A description of the vehicles covered by garage liability or automobile liability insurance that
must include one of the following: 

(1)  Any owned and non-owned auto (Covered auto symbols 22 & 29)

(2)  Any Auto (Covered auto symbol 21)

�G The effective date and the expiration date of the insurance coverage. The coverage may not be
less than one year, and must not expire less than 75 days from the certificate date.

�H The dollar amount of insurance coverage provided. The coverage amounts shown must be no
less than $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident; $50,000 combined bodily injury per acci-
dent; $25,000 property damage per accident or a combined single limit of $75,000 per accident
may be shown. 

�I A statement that the insurance company will provide written notice to the certificate holder in
the event the coverage is cancelled before the policy expiration date. 

�J The certificate holder must be listed as: 

Alabama Department of Revenue
Business & License Tax Division
P.O. Box 327550
Montgomery, AL 36132-7550 

�K The original or facsimile signature of an authorized representative of the insurance company,
and the agent’s State of Alabama license number. 

(Refer to www.revenue.alabama.gov/licenses/liabins.html for the complete regulation.)

16
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KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, that we _____________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

City__________________________________________ , County___________________________________ , State__________________________ ,

As Principal (hereinafter called Principal), and ________________________________________________________________________________
NAME OF SURETY

________________________ of ____________________________________________________________________________________________ , as
Surety (hereafter call Surety), are held and firmly bound unto the State of Alabama in the sum of  Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00), for
the payment of which, well and truly to be made, we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns, jointly
and severally, firmly by these presents.

The conditions of the foregoing obligation are such that:

WHEREAS, the Principal has been duly appointed a “Used Motor Vehicle Dealer,” “Motor Vehicle Reconditioner,” “Motor Vehicle
Rebuilder,” or “Motor Vehicle Wholesaler” as the case may be, under the provisions of Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 8, Code of Alabama
1975, such Principal shall comply with the conditions of any contract made by such dealer in connection with the sale or exchange of any
motor vehicle and shall not violate any of the provisions of  law relating to the conduct of business for which he is licensed.

It is expressly understood and agreed that neither this obligation nor any liability thereunder shall be released or the validity thereof
affected by reason of the adoption by the State of Alabama of any Act in lieu of or amendatory to said laws, but this obligation shall con-
tinue in full force and effect with respect to said statutes or any amendments thereto or changes therein which may be adopted before the
cancellation of this obligation as herein provided, or before the actual cancellation and surrender of this obligation by the State of Alabama
pursuant to any law now existing or hereafter adopted relating thereto.

It is further expressly understood and agreed that the liability of both the Principal and the Surety on this bond shall be for the license
period of _________________, _____ through September 30, _____ and that a new bond or a proper continuation certificate must be deliv-
ered to the Alabama Commissioner of Revenue AT THE BEGINNING OF THE LICENSE YEAR, WHICH IS OCTOBER 1, AND EXPIR-
ING ON SEPTEMBER 30 OF THE SAME LICENSE YEAR; provided, however, that the aggregate liability of the Surety in any one license
year shall in no event exceed the sum of such bond. 

The Surety on this bond may be released and discharged from any and all liability to the State of Alabama accruing on this bond after
the expiration of sixty (60) days from the date upon which said Surety shall have filed with the Alabama Department of Revenue written
request to be released and discharged provided; however, such request shall not operate to relieve, release or discharge such Surety from
any liability already accrued or which shall accrue before the expiration of said sixty (60) day period.

In WITNESS WHEREOF, we hereunto set our names and seals on this the ________ day of __________________, _________

___________________________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
NAME OF SURETY COMPANY SIGNATURE OF PRINCIPAL, PARTNER, MEMBER, OR CORPORATE OFFICER (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

By: ________________________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
SIGNATURE OF AGENT OF SURETY COMPANY SIGNATURE OF PARTNER/MEMBER (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

Telephone (_______) __________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
SIGNATURE OF PARTNER/MEMBER (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

___________________________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE SIGNATURE OF PARTNER/MEMBER (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

ALL  NAMES  MUST  BE  TYPED  UNDER  SIGNATURES

(Instructions on Back)

Bond Number

______________________

LIC: 539-4A  Rev. 8/11ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS & LICENSE TAX DIVISION

Bond of Used Motor Vehicle Dealer, 
Motor Vehicle Reconditioner, Rebuilder, or Wholesaler
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Bond Form Instructions

The surety company must complete all bonds on the form prescribed by the Alabama Department of
Revenue.

Completion of The Bond:

� The bond must include the true legal name (as the name(s) appear on the application) of the party for whom
the bond is being sought, as follows:

• If an individual ownership, the applicant’s name as well as the business name;
Example:  John Doe, DBA ABC Auto Sales

• If a partnership, the names of all partners and the name of the partnership;
Example:  John Doe & Jane Doe, DBA ABC Auto Sales

• If a limited liability company, the true legal name of company;
Example:  AAA Auto Sales LLC

• If a corporation, the complete corporate name.
� The bond must also show the following:

• The city, county and state in which the business is located;
• The name and address of the surety company providing the coverage;
• The effective date and the expiration date of the bond coverage;

The coverage may not exceed one year and must not begin before October 1st and must expire
on September 30th of the same license year.

• The issue date of the bond;
• The telephone number of the agent.

Signature Section Requirements:

� All signatures must be originals.
� The bond must include the signatures of the following:

• The signature of the surety company agent;
• The signature of the applicant (individual owner), all partners, all LLC members, or a corporate

 officer.  In some cases, one member may be able to sign for a Limited Liability Company.  See autho-
rization form on page 13 for details.

� Type or print name of person signing form.

Power of Attorney Requirements:

� An original power of attorney form indicating that the agent is authorized to execute the bond on behalf of
the surety company must accompany the bond.

� The power of attorney must have the same date as that on the bond.

All required documents should be mailed to:

Alabama Department of Revenue
Business & License Tax Division

Severance & License Section
PO Box 327550

Montgomery, AL 36132-7550

Telephone:  (334) 353-7827

Any bond or power of attorney received separately from application will be returned to sender.

The bond form must be an original with original signatures.  No facsimiles, photocopies, 
letters or phone calls are acceptable substitutes for the original bond.

Laser printed certificates must have surety company seal.
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ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS & LICENSE TAX DIVISION

Bond of New Motor Vehicle Dealer

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, that we _____________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

City__________________________________________ , County___________________________________ , State__________________________ ,

As Principal (hereinafter called Principal), and ________________________________________________________________________________
NAME OF SURETY

________________________ of ____________________________________________________________________________________________ , as

Surety (hereafter call Surety), are held and firmly bound unto the State of Alabama in the sum of  Twenty Five Thousand Dollars
($25,000.00), for the payment of which, well and truly to be made, we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and
assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.  

The conditions of the foregoing obligation are such that:  

WHEREAS, the Principal has been duly appointed a “New Motor Vehicle Dealer,” under the provisions of Title 40, Chapter 12,
Article 8, Code of Alabama 1975, such Principal shall comply with the conditions of any contract made by such dealer in connection with
the sale or exchange of any motor vehicle and shall not violate any of the provisions of law relating to the conduct of business for which
he is licensed.

It is expressly understood and agreed that neither this obligation nor any liability thereunder shall be released or the validity thereof
affected by reason of the adoption by the State of Alabama of any Act in lieu of or amendatory to said laws, but this obligation shall con-
tinue in full force and effect with respect to said statutes or any amendments thereto or changes therein which may be adopted before the
cancellation of this obligation as herein provided, or before the actual cancellation and surrender of this obligation by the State of Alabama
pursuant to any law now existing or hereafter adopted relating thereto.

It is further expressly understood and agreed that the liability of both the Principal and the Surety on this bond shall be for the license
period of _________________, _____ through September 30, _____ and that a new bond or a proper continuation certificate must be deliv-
ered to the Alabama Commissioner of Revenue AT THE BEGINNING OF THE LICENSE YEAR, WHICH IS OCTOBER 1, AND EXPIR-
ING ON SEPTEMBER 30 OF THE SAME LICENSE YEAR; provided, however, that the aggregate liability of the Surety in any one license
year shall in no event exceed the sum of such bond.

The Surety on this bond may be released and discharged from any and all liability to the State of Alabama accruing on this bond after
the expiration of sixty (60) days from the date upon which said Surety shall have filed with the Alabama Department of Revenue written
request to be released and discharged provided; however, such request shall not operate to relieve, release or discharge such Surety from
any liability already accrued or which shall accrue before the expiration of said sixty (60) day period.

In WITNESS WHEREOF, we hereunto set our names and seals on this the ________ day of __________________, _________

___________________________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
NAME OF SURETY COMPANY SIGNATURE OF PRINCIPAL, PARTNER, MEMBER, OR CORPORATE OFFICER (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

By: ________________________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
SIGNATURE OF AGENT OF SURETY COMPANY SIGNATURE OF PARTNER/MEMBER (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

Telephone (_______) __________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
SIGNATURE OF PARTNER/MEMBER (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

___________________________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE SIGNATURE OF PARTNER/MEMBER (TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

ALL  NAMES  MUST  BE  TYPED  UNDER  SIGNATURES

(Instructions on Back)

LIC: 539-4B  Rev. 8/11

Bond Number

______________________
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Bond Form Instructions

The surety company must complete all bonds on the form prescribed by the Alabama Department of
Revenue. Note:  Franchised new motor vehicle dealers are not required to submit the used motor vehicle
dealer bond.

Completion of The Bond:

� The bond must include the true legal name (as the name(s) appear on the application) of the party for whom
the bond is being sought, as follows:

• If an individual ownership, the applicant’s name as well as the business name;
Example:  John Doe, DBA ABC Auto Sales

• If a partnership, the names of all partners and the name of the partnership;
Example:  John Doe & Jane Doe, DBA ABC Auto Sales

• If a limited liability company, the true legal name of company;
Example:  AAA Auto Sales LLC

• If a corporation, the complete corporate name.
� The bond must also show the following:

• The city, county and state in which the business is located;
• The name and address of the surety company providing the coverage;
• The effective date and the expiration date of the bond coverage;

The coverage may not exceed one year and must not begin before October 1st and must expire
on September 30th of the same license year.

• The issue date of the bond;
• The telephone number of the agent.

� Type or print name of person signing form.

Signature Section Requirements:

� All signatures must be originals.
� The bond must include the signatures of the following:

• The signature of the surety company agent;
• The signature of the applicant (individual owner), all partners, all LLC members, or a corporate

 officer.  In some cases, one member may be able to sign for a Limited Liability Company.  See autho-
rization form on page 13 for details.

Power of Attorney Requirements:

� An original power of attorney form indicating that the agent is authorized to execute the bond on behalf of
the surety company must accompany the bond.

� The power of attorney must have the same date as that on the bond.

All required documents should be mailed to:

Alabama Department of Revenue
Business & License Tax Division

Severance & License Section
PO Box 327550

Montgomery, AL 36132-7550

Telephone:  (334) 353-7827

Any bond or power of attorney received separately from application will be returned to sender.

The bond form must be an original with original signatures.  No facsimiles, photocopies, 
letters or phone calls are acceptable substitutes for the original bond.

Laser printed certificates must have surety company seal.
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ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS & LICENSE TAX DIVISION

Continuation Certificate
of

New Motor Vehicle Dealer, Used Motor Vehicle Dealer, 
Motor Vehicle Reconditioner, Rebuilder, or Wholesaler

The ____________________________________________________________________ (hereinafter called the Surety)

hereby continues in force its Bond No. ________________________________________________________ in the sum of

__________________________________________________________ Dollars ($_________________________), on behalf

of __________________________________________________________________________________________________in

favor of the State of Alabama, Department of Revenue for the term beginning on the 

_________ day of __________________________, __________ and ending on the 30th day of September, ___________,

subject to all the convenants and conditions of said Bond.

In WITNESS WHEREOF, the Surety has caused this instrument to be signed by its officers proper for the purpose

and its corporate seal to be hereto affixed this __________ day of ________________________, __________.

_____________________________________________________
NAME OF SURETY COMPANY

By: __________________________________________________
SURETY AGENT

Laser printed certificates must have surety company seal.

LIC: 539-5  Rev. 8/11



Bond Continuation Certificate Instructions

The surety company must complete all continuation certificates in the manner prescribed by the Alabama
Department of Revenue.

A bond continuation certificate will be accepted in lieu of a new bond at the beginning of each license year
provided the following prerequisites are met:

� The applicant was licensed and in good standing in the previous license year.
� The applicant has previously provided an original bond form and a proper certificate for each inter-

vening license period. There can be no lapse in bond coverage since the original bond was pre-
sented to the Department.

� The continuation certificate is in the form prescribed by the Department.

Note: The surety company may use its own form provided the terms of the bond are not altered and
all required information is provided as prescribed by the Department.

COMPLETION OF THE CONTINUATION CERTIFICATE:

� The certificate must include the true legal name of the party for whom it is being furnished, as follows:
• If an individual ownership, the applicant’s name as well as the business name

Example:  John Doe, DBA ABC Auto Sales
• If a partnership, the names of all partners and the name of the partnership

Example:  John Doe & Jane Doe, DBA ABC Auto Sales
• If a limited liability company, the true legal name of company

Example:  AAA Auto Sales LLC
• If a corporation, the complete corporate name

� The continuation must also show the following:
• The bond number as assigned on the original bond form
• The name of the surety company providing the coverage
• The coverage period

The extended coverage may not be for more than one year and must not begin before October
1st and must expire on September 30th of the same license year.

• The dollar amount of the extended bond coverage
• The issue date of the continuation certificate
• The original signature of the authorized representative of the surety company

Laser printed certificates must have the insurance company’s seal affixed.
The agent’s or client’s copy will not be accepted.

All required documents should be mailed to:

Alabama Department of Revenue
Business & License Tax Division

Severance & License Section
PO Box 327550

Montgomery, AL 36132-7550

Telephone:  (334) 353-7827

Any continuation certificate received separately from application will be returned to sender.

The continuation certificate must be an original.  No facsimiles, photocopies, 
letters or phone calls are acceptable substitutes for the original certificate.
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August 1, 2011

M E M O R A N D U M

TO: ALABAMA USED VEHICLE DEALERS

FROM: BILL BASS, DIRECTOR
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION

SUBJECT: MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER USED VEHICLE AFFIDAVIT

In accordance with the Synchronized Taxation and Registration System or “STARS” Act, beginning
January 1, 2000 ad valorem or property tax on motor vehicles will be collected forward on a current basis. 

When registering a new Class IV motor vehicle, the tax will be deferred until the next subsequent regis-
tration. On the first renewal date following the initial registration, the amount of tax paid by the owner
will include the tax that would have been due at the time of the first registration in addition to the next
year’s tax to be paid in advance. In contrast, at the initial registration of a used vehicle, the taxes will be
collected in advance through the last day of the assigned renewal month of the owner.

In the case where back taxes are owed on a vehicle, they must be paid before the new owner can register
the vehicle. The county taxing official shall determine the amount of taxes owed on the vehicle from the
information provided by the owner. If the number of months of delinquent taxes cannot be determined,
the motor vehicle shall be presumed to have been in the state for one preceding year plus the current tax
year. Vehicles with delinquent registrations shall be subject to payment of escaped taxes for up to two
prior years plus the current year.

By completing the affidavit printed on the reverse side of this memorandum for each vehicle you sell,
you can help your customers pay only those taxes actually due on the vehicles purchased from your
 dealership.

I encourage you to use this affidavit to provide the county tag official with true and accurate information
about the vehicles you sell. You may reproduce this affidavit. The affidavit should be presented to the
COUNTY TAG-ISSUING OFFICIAL by the person wishing to register the vehicle.

If you need additional information about property tax on motor vehicles, contact the Property Tax
Division at (334) 242-1525.

State of Alabama
Department of Revenue

(www.revenue.alabama.gov)

50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36132

CYNTHIA UNDERWOOD
Assistant Commissioner

MICHAEL E. MASON
Deputy Commissioner

JULIE P. MAGEE
Commissioner
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Used Car Dealers:  Motor vehicles owners may be eligible to receive an exemption of ad valorem taxes on vehicles held
for sale in your stock. Upon a motor vehicle entering a dealer’s inventory, no new ad valorem tax lien will attach until the
vehicle is sold from the dealer’s inventory. In order to apply for this exemption, complete this affidavit for your customers to
present to the County Tag Official when  registering a vehicle.

Motor Vehicle Dealer

A F F I D A V I T
AD VALOREM TAX EXEMPTION

(PRESENT TO TAG-ISSUING OFFICIAL AT TIME OF REGISTRATION)

THIS IS TO CERTIFY that the motor vehicle described below became a part of the  inventory of the dealer

named below on ____________________________________ and,

(1) ___ was previously registered in the State of Alabama, Tag Number _____________________________,

Decal Number _____________________________ Expiration Date: _________________________,

OR

(2) ___ was brought into the State of Alabama from the State of ____________________________________

on ____________________________, OR

(3) ___ was removed from inventory held for sale on ____________________________ for use as a service,

rental, loaner, or personal vehicle.

This vehicle was sold to ____________________________________________________________________
(NAME AND ADDRESS OF PURCHASER)

________________________________________________________________________________________

on ______________________________.

Make ____________________________ Year _________ Model __________________________________

Body Type _________________________________ VIN _________________________________________

Subject to the penalties of PERJURY under the Laws of the STATE OF ALABAMA, I, the undersigned, here-
by certify the information hereon is true and correct.

__________________________________________________
DEALER

__________________________________________________
DEALER’S LICENSE NUMBER

__________________________________________________
ADDRESS

__________________________________________________
AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE

Sworn to and subscribed before me this ________ day of ________________________, ________.

_______________________________________ Notary Public

This Form May Be Reproduced

(Seal of Notary)
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