
Standard

Category Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

Passenger, Pickups (0-8,000 lbs GVW) and 

Motorcycles
PC $15 - $23 N/A $50.00 Yes Yes

Trucks and Truck Tractors

Gross Vehicle Weight (Pounds) Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

8,001 - 10,000 P1 (1) $35.00 N/A $50.00 Yes Yes

10,001 - 12,000 XA & XM $105.00 N/A N/A N/A Yes

12,001 - 18,000 X1 $170.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

18,001 - 26,000 X2 $235.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

26,001 - 33,000 X3 $300.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

33,001 - 42,000 X4 $520.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

42,001 - 55,000 X5 $585.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

55,001 - 64,000 X6 $650.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

64,001 - 73,280 X7 $715.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

73,281 - 80,000 X8 $815.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Over 80,000 X9 $890.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Truck - For Hire Limited XL $300.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Mini-truck MT $23.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Cotton Module CF $250.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Motor Homes - Some distinctive license plates may be displayed on motor homes upon payment of additional fee. 

Gross Vehicle Weight (Pounds) Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

0 - 8,000 R1 $23.00 N/A $50.00 Yes Yes

8,001-12,000 R2 $50.00 N/A $50.00 Yes Yes

12,001 - 18,000 R3 $100.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

18,001 - 26,000 R4 $175.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

26,001 - 33,000 R5 $275.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

33,001 - 42,000 R6 $500.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

42,001 - 55,000 X5 $585.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

55,001 - 64,000 X6 $650.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

64,001 - 73,280 X7 $715.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

73,281 - 80,000 X8 $815.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

Over 80,000 X9 $890.00 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

Dealer, Dealer Transit, and Manufacturer. New license plates are issued annually.

Category Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

Dealer DL $15 - $23 $1.75 N/A N/A N/A

Dealer Transit DT $15 - $23 $1.75 N/A N/A N/A

Manufacturer MF $15 - $23 $1.75 N/A N/A N/A

Only vehicle registration (tag) fees are listed in the following schedules.  For most vehicles, ad valorem (property) tax and local issuance fees will also apply.  

Prorated tag fees (1 month -11 months) are only allowed for newly acquired vehicles and vehicles registered for the first time in Alabama.  EXCEPTIONS:  

Alabama law allows prorated registration fees for self-propelled campers, farm trucks, and farm truck tractors that are to be RE-REGISTERED.

ALABAMA REGISTRATION (TAG) FEE SCHEDULE



Buses

Seats Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

1 - 5 BU(Q1) $47.50 N/A N/A N/A N/A

6 - 10 BU(Q2) $60.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

11 - 15 BU(Q3) $85.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

16 - 20 BU(Q4) $110.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

21 - 40 BU(Q5) $160.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Over 40 BU(Q6) $210.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Non Commercial (Private) PC $23.00 N/A N/A N/A Yes

Private - Church, Private School, Hospital CB $13.00 N/A N/A N/A Yes

Farm. F4 plates are only issued to truck tractors (LIMIT 4 then must obtain X category plate).

Gross Vehicle Weight (Pounds) Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

0 - 30,000 (Truck) FT(F1) $30.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

30,001 - 42,000 (Truck) FT(F2) $85.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Over 42,000 (Truck) FT(F3) $250.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Over 42,000 (Truck Tractor) FT(F4) $250.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Forest Product (Trucks only)

Gross Vehicle Weight (Pounds) Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

0 - 30,000 FO(L1) $40.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

30,001 - 42,000 FO(L2) $65.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Ambulances and Hearses

Municipality Inhabitants Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

1 - 9,999 (3) AM(K1) $15.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

10,000 - 40,000 AM(K2) $25.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

40,001 - 100,000 AM(K3) $35.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Over 100,000 AM(K4) $55.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Taxis

Gross Vehicle Weight (Pounds) Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

0 - 2,500 TX(Z1) $21.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

2,501 - 3,000 TX(Z2) $27.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

3,001 - 3,500 TX(Z3) $30.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

3,501 - 4,000 TX(Z4) $36.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Over 4,000 TX(Z5) $40.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Trailers

Category Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

Travel TL $12.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Utility UT $12.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Rental RT $15.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Fleet FL $15.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Semi TR $20.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Permanent TT $60.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A



Vintage Vehicles (2)

Category Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

Vintage VQ $10.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Vintage - Original (1976 and older) VA $10.00 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Rescue Squad, Fire Department, and Firefighter Plates

Category Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

Rescue Squad - Unit Owned RS Free   N/A N/A N/A N/A

Rescue Squad - Member (8) RS Free - $105 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Volunteer Fire Department - County CO $15 - $23 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Volunteer Fire Department - State S $15 - $23 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Volunteer Fire Department - Municipality MU $15 - $23 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Volunteer Fire Department - US Government 

Loaned 
GL $15 - $23 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Volunteer Fire Department - State Issued VD $15 - $23 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Volunteer Fire Department - County Issued VF
Free - Annual 

Renewal
N/A N/A N/A N/A

Volunteer Fire Department - District Owned
Varies based on 

GVW of Vehicle
$23 - $845 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Firefighter (12) FD $15 - $105 N/A $0.25 N/A N/A

Professional Firefighter PA $15 - $105 N/A $0.25 N/A N/A

Retired Professional Firefighter RF $15 - $105 N/A $0.25 N/A N/A

Military

Category Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

Active Military Reserve(8)(9) US Free - $105  N/A N/A N/A N/A

Air Force AI $15 - $890 $3.00 N/A N/A Yes

Alabama State Defense Force SD $15 - $890 N/A $50.00 N/A N/A

Army AY $15 - $890 $3.00 N/A N/A Yes

Atomic Nuked Veteran VN $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

Battle of the Bulge VB $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

Bronze Star BS $15 - $105 N/A $25.00 N/A Yes

Coast Guard CO $15 - $890 $3.00 N/A N/A Yes

Desert Storm/Desert Shield-Personalized VS $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

Disabled Veteran (10% or higher disability)(4) DV Free N/A N/A N/A Yes

Disabled Veteran (USVA purchased vehicle)(4) DV Free N/A N/A N/A Yes

Disabled Veteran (over 50% rating or special 

mechanical control devices)
DV $5.00 N/A N/A N/A Yes

Global War on Terrorism GT $15 - $105 $3.00 N/A N/A Yes

Korean War Veteran VK $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

Legion of Valor (8) LV Free - $105 N/A N/A N/A Yes

Medal of Honor (8) MO Free - $105 N/A N/A N/A Yes

Merchant Marine MM $15 - $890 $3.00 N/A N/A Yes

Navy NV $15 - $890 $3.00 N/A N/A Yes

National Guard - Active/Retired (8)(9) NG Free - $105 N/A $50.00 Yes Yes

Operation Enduring Freedom - Afghanistan OE $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

Effective January 1, 2016, pursuant to Act 2015-362, an additional fee of $5 will be added to all distinctive plates (listed below), whether prenumbered or 

personalized, in the year the license plates are issued.



Operation Iraqi Freedom OA $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

Pearl Harbor Survivor PS $15 - $105 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

Prisoner of War (8) PW (No Pocket) Free N/A N/A N/A Yes

Prisoner of War PP (Pocket) $15 - $105 N/A N/A N/A Yes

Purple Heart (8) VH Free - $105 N/A N/A N/A Yes

U.S. Armed Forces Retired RM $15 - $105 $3.00 N/A N/A Yes

U.S. Marine Corps - Active OG $15 - $890 $3.00 N/A N/A Yes

U.S. Marine Corps - Retired/Honorably Discharged OR $15 - $890 N/A $25.00 N/A Yes

Vietnam Veteran VV $15 - $890 $6.00 $3.00/$50.00 Yes Yes

WWII American Campaign VW $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

WWII Asiatic Pacific Campaign VC $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

WWII European Campaign VR $15 - $890 $3.00 $50.00 Yes Yes

Specialty Plates 

Category Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

Alabama Battleship, USS BB $15 - $23 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Alabama Gold Star Family (10) OH Free - $105 $3.00 $50 (11) Yes N/A

Amateur Radio AR(02) $23 - $890 N/A $3.00 N/A N/A

Bicentennial BI $15 - $890 N/A $50 (11) Yes N/A

Civil Air Patrol AC(02) $23 - $890 N/A $1.00 N/A N/A

God Bless America GB $15 - $890 N/A $50 (11) Yes N/A

Helping Schools HS $15 - $890 N/A $20.00 Yes N/A

Retired Educator ER $15 - $890 N/A $25.00 Yes N/A

All other categories of specialty license plates Varies $15 - $890 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

Collegiate Plates - All plates may be personalized.  

Category Plate Indicator Standard Fee Issuance Fee (6)  Additional Fee (5) Personalized Disability Access (7)

All Categories of in state and out-of-state 

colleges/universities
Varies $15 - $890 N/A $50.00 Yes N/A

(1) P1 personalized plates and distinctive plates, excluding plates with the international symbol of access, may be issued for pick up trucks.            

(2) Permanent plate for vehicles more than 30 years old.

(3) Same rate applies for an unincorporated territory.

(4) Additional plates not available.

(5) Additional fee collected annually and cannot be prorated.

(6) Issuance fee collected when metal plate is issued.

(7) Federal Regulations require recertification for disability access parking privileges every five years.

(8) First plate is registration fee exempt. 

(9) May apply registration fee exemption (maximum - $23.00) toward any other plate.

(10) First plate is exempt from all fees.

(11) Additional fee collected annually only for personalized plates.  Additional fee cannot be prorated.

(12) First plate is registration fee exempt for an active volunteer firefighter.


