ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
TITLE SECTION
P.O. Box 327640 ¢ Montgomery, AL 36132-7640 e titles@revenue.alabama.gov

o Report of Unclaimed Vehicle

(Complete with typewriter or print)

THIS FORM MAY BE DUPLICATED OR ADDITIONAL COPIES MAY BE OBTAINED FROM THE DEPARTMENT WEB SITE
AT www.revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/mvforms/mvt38_1.pdf
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER* YEAR MODEL MAKE MODEL

BODY TYPE COLOR NO. CYLINDERS

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

License plate number State of issuance

Date vehicle came into your business
Name and address of business making report.

NAME OF BUSINESS

PHYSICAL ADDRESS

MAILING ADDRESS (If different from physical address)

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

(

TELEPHONE NUMBER TYPE OF BUSINESS MAKING REPORT
If vehicle was impounded by or at the direction of a law enforcement agency, list the
agency and it's address.

LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

A printout of the current Alabama title and registration records for the vehicle may be obtained by completing a Request for Motor
Vehicle Records form (MV-DPPA1).

I, , do hereby certify that the vehicle listed above is an unclaimed vehicle as
PRINTED NAME OF INDIVIDUAL MAKING REPORT

specified in Section 32-8-84, Code of Alabama 1975 and this report is being made in compliance with that Section.

SIGNATURE OF INDIVIDUAL MAKING REPORT DATE

*All VINs for 1981 and subsequent year model vehicles that conform to federal anti-theft standards are required to have 17 digits/characters.

Definition of an unclaimed vehicle and requirements for filing a
Report of Unclaimed Vehicle appear on the back of this form.



Section 32-8-84. Reports to department of stolen, converted, recovered and unclaimed vehicles; sus-
pension of registration of stolen or converted vehicles.

(c) An operator of a place of business for garaging, repairing, parking or storing vehicles for the public,
in which a vehicle remains unclaimed for a period of 30 days, shall, within 30 days after the expiration of
that period, report the vehicle as unclaimed to the department. Such report shall be on a form prescribed by
the department.

A vehicle left by its owner whose name and address are known to the operator or his employee is not
considered unclaimed. A person who fails to report a vehicle as unclaimed in accordance with this subsection
forfeits all claims and liens for its garaging, repairing, parking or storing and is guilty of a misdemeanor pun-
ishable by a fine of not more than $100.00.

(d) The department shall maintain and appropriately index weekly cumulative public records of stolen,
converted, recovered and unclaimed vehicles reported to it pursuant to this section. The department may
make and distribute weekly lists of such vehicles so reported to it to peace officers upon request without fee
and to others for the fee, if any, the department prescribes.

Motor Vehicle Regulation 810-5-75-.64. Report of Unclaimed Vehicle — Where Vehicle is Unclaimed
for Longer than Thirty (30) Days (Form MVT 38-1).

(1) An operator of a place of business for garaging, repairing, parking or storing vehicles for the public,
in which a vehicle remains unclaimed for the period designated in Section 32-8-84(c), Code of Alabama 1975,
and whose owner’s name and address are unknown to the operator, shall complete a report of unclaimed
vehicle (Form MVT 38-1) and cause such form to be mailed or delivered to the Department within the period
established in Section 32-8-84(c), Code of Alabama 1975.

(2) The individual completing the report of an unclaimed vehicle (Form MVT 38-1) shall provide the fol-
lowing information on the form: vehicle identification number, make, year, model, body type, color, number
of cylinders, date vehicle was left at operator’s establishment, name and address of business making report,
type of business making report, license plate number and state of issuance if available, name of law enforce-
ment agency if impounded by such an agency, and the signature and date of the individual who completes
the form.

(3) A certified copy of the Alabama title history including the current Alabama title information for any
vehicle reported as unclaimed may be obtained from the Department by completing a Request for Motor
Vehicle Records form (MV-DPPA1).
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