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MEMORANDUM 2010-12
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FROM: Don Clemons, Revenue Managgr
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SUBJECT: Changes in The Alabama Title Law (Title 32, Chapter 20, Code of
Alabama 1975)

Act 2009-746, known as the Alabama Manufactured Home Certificate of Title Act, was
signed by Governor Riley on May 22, 2009. The provisions of this act became effective on
January 1, 2010.

Manufactured Home title fees increased to twenty dollars ($20) for the following
transactions:
o Applications for first time Alabama titles (transaction code 01)
o Applications for title transfers (transaction code 03)
o Applications for cancellation of manufacturer’s certificates of
origins/certificates of titles (transaction code 44)

Under this act the cancellation of manufactured home certificates of title are to be processed through a
designated agent (licensed manufactured home dealers, county license plate issuing officials, law firms,
title agents, etc.) of the Alabama Department of Revenue using the Electronic Title Application Processing
System {ETAPS). A request for certificate of cancellation must be accompanied by an application for
cancellation (form MVT 5-44E), notice of cancellation (form MVT 5-39E) and either a current Alabama
title, manufacturer’s certificate of origin (mso), or bond.

Each Notice of Cancellation of a Certificate of Origin/Alabama Certificate of Title for a
Manufactured Home Classified as Real Property (form MVT 5-39E) must be signed by the Judge of
Probate, in the county where the manufactured home is located, attesting to the fact that the
manufactured home has been recorded in that office as permanently affixed to real property (see
Section 32-20-20(b)(3), Code of Alabama 1975).

There is a twenty dollar ($20) fee for the cancellation of a manufactured home title (using either the current
title or mso) for each side (i.e. side A = $20 and side B = $20). When the current owner or lienholder is not
properly recorded on a certificate of title, such parties may post a bond by applying through a designated
agent to obtain title. A single bond is required for each manufactured home. The bond shall be in an amount
equal to fifty thousand ($50,000.00) for manufactured homes less than ten (10) model years old and
twenty-five thousand ($25,000.00) for all manufactured homes ten (10) model years old and older.

Please feel free to email this office at titles@revenue.alabama.gov if you have any questions regarding this
matter.
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