
 

 

December 13, 2011 
 
 
 

M E M O R A N D U M       2011-22 
 
TO:  License Plate Issuing Officials 
 
FROM:  Amy Bright, Registration Unit Supervisor 
  Motor Vehicle Division 
 
SUBJECT: New License Plates for January 2012 
 
    
Below is information on the 3 new license plates that will be issued beginning January 1, 2012.  
 
Disability Access 
The Disability Access license plate and permanent placard have been redesigned and are being delivered to county 
offices now.  Once the new designs are issued, please retain all license plates and permanent placards with the previous 
designs for audit purposes. For this 5-year license plate cycle, individuals with qualifying long-term disabilities that have 
the disability access license plate or permanent placard may self-certify using Form MVR 32-6-230 (they do not need a 
physician’s certification).  The new form will be available on the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) website by January 1, 
2012. 
 
Retired Firefighter 
The Retired Firefighter distinctive license plate is only available for retired paid or part-paid firefighters.  Retired paid 
and part-paid firefighters may no longer obtain the regular Firefighter license plate, because Section 32-6-280, Code of 
Alabama 1975, supersedes Section 32-6-270, Code of Alabama 1975.  A list of eligible retired firefighters is on the 
Alabama Fire College website at http://www.alabamafirecollege.org/tagList.aspx.  The registration fee is $23.  There is 
no additional fee.  The license plates are available upon request from the MVD warehouse.   
 
Mini-truck 
The Mini-truck distinctive license plate may be issued to vehicles as defined in Section 2 of Act 2011-205.  These vehicles 
are exempt from titling, but a VIN inspection is required.  The registration fee is the same as a standard passenger 
license plate.  These license plates may be ordered as customers request them on PROS in the same manner as the pre-
numbered Race and commercial Helping Schools plates.  Mini-truck license plates are not for interstate use. 
 
Tag types and tag number schemes for these plates may be found on the MVD website at 
http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/index.html under ‘Reference’ then ‘Tag Information’.   
 
If you have any questions, please contact the Registration Section at (334) 242-9006 or tags@revenue.alabama.gov. 
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