
810-5-1-.228   The Issuance of Temporary License Tags and Registration Certificates 
by License Plate Issuing Officials. 

 (1)  For the purposes of this regulation License Plate Issuing Official shall be 
deemed to include any official authorized and required by law to issue motor vehicle 
license tags.  
 
 (2)  Each License Plate Issuing Official, upon request to the Department of 
Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division, shall provide a supply of temporary tags and 
registration certificates for issuance in accordance with the provisions of Section 32-6-
213, Code of  Alabama 1975.  

   
 (3)   License Plate Issuing Officials are not required to pay for temporary tags in 
advance, but are to remit the sum of $1.50 for each temporary tag issued to the 
Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division. The balance of the $2.25 fee collected 
for each temporary tag is to be distributed in accordance with the provisions of Section 
32-6-215.  

   
 (4)  Under the provisions of Section 32-6-213, Code of Alabama 1975, License 
Plate Issuing Officials are authorized "to issue a temporary license tag and a temporary 
registration certificate to the owner of a motor vehicle to be licensed in this state when, 
due to circumstances, a permanent license tag cannot immediately be issued or when, 
in the judgment of the License Plate Issuing Official... just cause exists for the issuance 
of such temporary license tag and registration certificate." With regard to this section, 
"just cause" has been determined by the Commissioner of Revenue to exist in -- but not 
limited to -- the following instances:  
 

(a)  when the purchaser of a motor vehicle does not receive from the selling 
individual, dealer, or firm the certificate of title or other documents necessary for 
application for title or for proof of ownership for a non-titled vehicle; 

   
(b)  when the Alabama motor vehicle dealer delays in furnishing the buyer with 
an owner’s permit copy of an application for title.  

 
 (5)  "Just cause" according to Section 32-6-213 does not exist when, in the 
judgment of the License Plate Issuing Official, the applicant for temporary registration is 
resorting to that measure in an effort to avoid remission of regular registration fees, 
casual sales tax, or ad valorem tax in full.  

   
 (6)  On temporary registration receipts issued for trucks or truck tractors weighing 
twelve thousand and one (12,001) pounds or more, License Plate Issuing Officials shall 
affix the notation "UNLADEN WEIGHT ONLY." Law enforcement agencies shall 
consider the operation of a truck or truck tractor with a temporary Alabama license 
plate/registration at a weight exceeding the unladen (empty) weight of that truck or truck 
tractor plus the weight of the passengers and their personal luggage as operation 



without a valid license plate/registration; anyone convicted of such a violation shall be 
subject to sanctions under Section 32-6-219, Code of Alabama 1975.  
 
 (7) The License Plate Issuing Official, in issuing the temporary tag, must print the 
following information on the Temporary Tag Receipt, Form MVR: 32-6-211: the 
temporary tag number, the vehicle owner and the owner’s address, the vehicle make, 
vehicle identification number, model year, type vehicle, date issued, the License Plate 
Issuing Official’s name and by whom the tag and receipt were issued.  Any erasures or 
other alterations of the required information on the Temporary Tag Receipt will render 
the document void.   

   
 (8)  Each License Plate Issuing Official, upon issuance of a temporary tag, shall 
forward the registration certificate information in subsection (7) to the Department of 
Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division, by the next business day.   
 
 (9)  The Temporary Tag Receipt shall be retained within the motor vehicle to 
which the temporary tag was issued for the time period that the temporary tag is valid. 
 
 (10)   License Plate Issuing Officials will be held accountable for temporary tags 
and registration receipts assigned to and received by them. If any temporary tags 
assigned to and acknowledged as received by a License Plate Issuing Official are 
determined to be missing, the required registration fees for said tags must be remitted 
as required by Section 32-6-215.  

   
  (11)   License Plate Issuing Officials, in issuing temporary tags, shall print, in ink, 
on the temporary tag itself complete information as to expiration date, vehicle 
ownership, make, model, year, vehicle identification numbers, issuing official’s signature 
and name and date of issuance. Any erasures or other alterations of the information 
required on a temporary tag or registration receipt will render it void, and of no value to 
the person or vehicle described thereon.  

   
 (12)  Each temporary tag is to be displayed by its purchaser in the rear window of 
the vehicle for which it was purchased. If secured for a commercial vehicle or a vehicle 
lacking a rear window, the temporary tag is to be posted in a location conspicuous to 
law enforcement officers.  

   
  (13)  A License Plate Issuing Official, in his/her discretion, may, at one time, 
issue up to three (3) temporary license plates to one vehicle owner/lessee for one motor 
vehicle. In so doing, the License Plate Issuing Official shall indicate the beginning and 
ending effective dates on each of the temporary license plates issued.   
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