
810-6-3-.42.02   Nonresidents, Sales to. 
 

(1) Other than the exceptions noted in (2) and (3) below, sales to 
nonresidents are sales at retail subject to the tax even though such purchasers 
claim that the property purchased is for use outside of Alabama, except where the 
seller delivers the property outside Alabama or to the U.S. Postal Service or to a 
common carrier for transportation outside Alabama. (Sections 40-23-1(a)(5), 
40-23-4(a)(17) and 40-23-62(2)) 
 
 (2) Sales of automobiles, motorcycles, trucks, truck trailers, or 
semitrailers that (i) will be registered or titled outside Alabama and (ii) are exported 
or removed from Alabama within 72 hours by the purchaser or the purchaser’s 
agent for first use outside Alabama are not subject to Alabama sales tax when the 
sales tax laws of the state in which the purchaser will title or register the vehicle 
allows an Alabama resident to purchase a motor vehicle for first titling and 
registering in Alabama without the payment of tax to that state.  To be exempt from 
Alabama sales tax, the information relative to the exempt sale must be 
documented on forms approved by the Revenue Department.  (See Sales and Use 
Tax Rule 810-6-3-.42.03 entitled Sales of Certain Automotive Vehicles to 
Nonresidents for First Use and Registration or Titling Outside Alabama.) Sales of 
other vehicles such as mobile homes, motor bikes, all terrain vehicles, motor 
homes, travel trailers, and boats do not qualify for this export exemption provision 
and are subject to Alabama sales tax unless the seller can provide factual evidence 
that the vehicle was delivered outside Alabama or delivered to a common carrier 
for transportation outside Alabama.   (Section 40-23-2(4))                                          
   
 

(3) The purchase of a new truck with a gross weight not exceeding 8,000 
pounds or a new passenger vehicle by a nonresident of the United States is 
exempt from sales or use tax when (i) the truck or passenger vehicle is 
manufactured in Alabama, (ii) the truck or passenger vehicle is delivered to the 
purchaser in Alabama by the manufacturer or an affiliated corporation, (iii) at the 
time of purchase the purchaser intends to export the truck or passenger vehicle to 
and permanently license the truck or passenger vehicle in a foreign country within 
90 days after the date of delivery, and (iv) the purchaser obtains a temporary metal 
license plate and a temporary registration certificate from the probate judge or 
license commissioner of the county in which the manufacturer is located.   

 
(4) Effective January 1, 2016, sales of automobiles, motorcycles, trucks, 

truck trailers, or semitrailers that (i) will be registered or titled outside Alabama and 
(ii) are exported or removed from Alabama within 72 hours by the purchaser or the 
purchaser’s agent for first use outside Alabama are subject to the Alabama state 
sales tax rate of two percent (2%) unless the sales tax laws of the state in which 
the purchaser will title or register the vehicle allows an Alabama resident to 
purchase a motor vehicle for first titling and registering in Alabama without the 
payment of tax to that state. However, in no case shall the amount of Alabama 



state sales tax due on a motor vehicle that will be registered or titled for use in 
another state exceed the amount of sales tax that would otherwise have been due 
in the state where the vehicle will be registered or titled for first use. 

 
(a)  The tax collected on sales outlined in paragraph (4) above shall be 

Alabama sales tax and shall exclude county and municipal sales tax. 
 
(5)  A list of states that do not allow a reciprocal drive-out provision for 

Alabama residents purchasing automotive vehicles for first titling and registration 
in Alabama may be viewed on the Department’s website at: 
http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/salestax/. Such list will be published by 
December 1, 2015, and will be updated each December 1 thereafter.  Sellers that 
have relied on list information that is later determined to be incorrect shall not be 
held liable for the non-collection of the state automotive sales tax. 
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