
 

810-6-3-.42.03   Sales of Certain Automotive Vehicles to Nonresidents for First Use and 
Registration or Titling Outside Alabama. 
 

(1) Effective January 1, 2016, sales of automobiles, motorcycles, trucks, truck 
trailers, or semitrailers that will be registered or titled outside Alabama, that are exported 
or removed from Alabama within 72 hours by the purchaser or purchaser's agent for first 
use outside Alabama are not subject to Alabama sales tax provided (i) the state sales tax 
laws of the state in which the purchaser will title or register the vehicle allows an Alabama 
resident to purchase a motor vehicle for first titling and registering in Alabama without the 
payment of tax to that state and (ii) the exempt sale is documented on the following form:  
 
STATE OF ALABAMA 
 
AUTOMOTIVE VEHICLE DRIVE OUT CERTIFICATE FOR NONRESIDENTS 
 
THIS FORM MUST BE EXECUTED BY BOTH THE SELLER AND THE PURCHASER 
OR PURCHASER'S AGENT AT THE TIME OF THE SALE. FORMS EXECUTED 
SUBSEQUENT TO THE TIME OF THE SALE ARE INVALID.   

 
                            PURCHASER'S NAME, 
SELLER'S NAME AND ADDRESS:                   ADDRESS, AND PHONE NO.: 
 
Name ___________________________      Name _____________________________ 
Street ___________________________      Street _____________________________ 
City ____________________ State ____     City ____________________ State ______ 
Zip Code ________________________      Zip Code ___________________________ 

     PHONE NO.(    )                                            
 
Invoice                                          Automotive                                              Model 
No. _______________________ Vehicle Make ____________________ No. ________ 
 
 
Date of Sale: ____________________________ VIN ___________________________ 
 
 
Time of Sale: __________ A.M.   
 
  __________ P.M.                       
 
The facts set forth in this document are true and correct to the best knowledge and belief 
of the below-signed seller and purchaser or purchaser's agent. 
 
The automobile, motorcycle, truck, truck trailer, or semitrailer referenced above will be 
exported or removed by the purchaser or purchaser's agent from Alabama within 72 hours 
from the time of sale to the State of _________________ for first use and registration or 
titling in accordance with the laws of that state.  



 

 
Signature of the Signature of Purchaser or 
Seller: __________________________   Purchaser's Agent: ______________________ 
 
NOTICE:  This form does not apply to and may not be used in conjunction with the 
sale of mobile homes, all terrain vehicles, motor homes, travel trailers, or boats.  The 72 
hour drive out provision does not apply to sales of these automotive vehicles.  This form 
does not apply to and may not be used for sales to non-residents when the laws of the 
state in which the non-resident will title or register the vehicle does not allow an Alabama 
resident to purchase a motor vehicle without the payment of tax to that state.  The tax to 
be collected on such sales is the two percent (2%) Alabama sales tax. However, in no 
case shall the amount of Alabama state sales tax due on a motor vehicle that will be 
registered or titled for use in another state exceed the amount of sales tax that would 
otherwise have been due in the state where the vehicle will be registered or titled for first 
use. 
 
FAILURE TO PROPERLY COMPLETE AND MAINTAIN THIS CERTIFICATE IN THE 
SELLER'S FILES WILL RESULT IN THE SELLER BEING HELD LIABLE FOR THE 
ALABAMA SALES TAX. 
 

(2) The certificate outlined in (1) above must be executed by both the seller and 
the purchaser or the purchaser's agent at the time of the sale. A certificate executed 
subsequent to the time of the sale shall be invalid and the Alabama sales tax shall be due 
from the seller on the sale for which the invalidated certificate was prepared.  
 

(3) The certificate outlined in (1) above, properly completed, must be retained 
in the seller's records with a copy of the corresponding sales invoice.  Both the certificate 
and the invoice shall be available for inspection or examination by the Department of 
Revenue or any authorized agent during normal business hours.  The seller will be liable 
for the Alabama sales tax on any sale for which the export exemption has been claimed 
but for which a properly executed certificate and sales invoice are not maintained in the 
seller's records. 
 

(4) A Certificate of Exemption - Out of State Delivery is not required for sales 
which qualify for the export exemption contained in Section 40-23-2(4) and for which the 
certificate outlined in (1) above is properly executed and maintained. 
 

(5) Sales of other vehicles such as mobile homes, motor bikes, all terrain 
vehicles, motor homes, travel trailers, and boats do not qualify for the export exemption 
provision and are taxable unless the seller can provide factual evidence that the vehicle 
was delivered outside Alabama or to a common carrier for transportation outside 
Alabama.  

 
(6)  In the event the laws of the state in which the purchaser will title or register the 

vehicle do not allow an Alabama resident to purchase a motor vehicle for first titling and 
registering in Alabama without the payment of tax to that state, the sale of the automotive 



 

vehicle to the nonresident will be subject to the Alabama state automotive sales tax rate.  
The tax collected will be state tax and will exclude county and municipal sales tax. 

 
(7)  A list of states that do not allow a reciprocal drive-out provision for 

Alabama residents purchasing automotive vehicles for first titling and registration in 
Alabama may be viewed on the Department’s website at: 
http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/salestax/. Such list will be published by December 
1, 2015, and will be updated each December 1 thereafter.  Sellers that have relied on 
list information that is later determined to be incorrect shall not be held liable for the 
non-collection of the state automotive sales tax. 
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