
810-5-1-.470   Reciprocity IRP and IFTA Trip Permits.  

(1) In accordance with the International Registration Plan, (IRP) and §40-12-262, Code of 

Alabama 1975, a reciprocity trip permit registration may be secured for any vehicle or 

combination of vehicles in lieu of full fee registration or apportioned registration. The fee for 

this reciprocity trip permit shall be in accordance with §40-12-262. The permit shall be 

valid for a time period provided in §40-12-262, the beginning and ending dates to be shown 

on the permit. Every trip permit shall be carried in the cab of the vehicle for which such 

permit is issued. Such permit is not transferable. Such permit shall be presented upon 

request or demand of a law enforcement officer. The permit may be secured from the 

Department of Revenue or its designee.  

(2) This permit is required for a carrier whose vehicle is based in a jurisdiction that is a 

party to the International Registration Plan and who did not elect to secure full or 

apportioned registration in Alabama.  In accordance with the International Fuel Tax 

Agreement (IFTA) and §40-17-150, Code of Alabama 1975, in lieu of motor vehicle fuel tax 

licensing under IFTA, persons may elect to satisfy motor fuels use tax obligations on a trip 

by trip basis by securing a trip permit. 

(3) Vehicles subject to the provisions of the IRP and the IFTA, but not licensed as such, will 

be required to purchase an IRP trip permit, IFTA trip permit or a combination IRP/IFTA 

trip permit prior to entering the State of Alabama Any person operating a vehicle or truck-

tractor combination with a current and valid reciprocity trip permit is permitted both 

interstate and intrastate operations within Alabama, provided he/she has met regulatory 

requirements such as qualification with the Alabama Public Service Commission and the 

International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA).  

(4) The fee for the IRP trip permit shall be twenty ($20) dollars. The fee for the IFTA trip 

permit shall be twenty ($20) dollars.  The fee for the combination IRP/IFTA trip permit 

shall be forty ($40) dollars. 

(45) Trip Permits will be required in other member jurisdictions if an Alabama based 

carrier does not apportion with that jurisdiction. If not proportionally registered before 

entering any other IRP member jurisdiction, a trip permit must be secured and carried in 

the cab of the vehicle for which issued or the vehicle may be subject to full registration in 

that jurisdiction. The trip permit may be secured from the Department or its designee.  

Agents of the state (e.g., permitting agencies) may charge a processing fee in addition to the 

trip permit fee. Trip permits are available 24/7 through the Department’s website at: 

https://www.alabamainteractive.org/dor_tfp/welcome.action). 

(6)  The permit must be obtained prior to entering the state and shall be valid for a time 

period not exceeding seven (7) days.  The beginning and ending dates for which the permit 

is valid will be shown on the permit. 

https://www.alabamainteractive.org/dor_tfp/welcome.action


(7)  Every trip permit is vehicle specific and shall be carried in the vehicle for which such 

permit is issued.  Trip permits are not transferable. Permits shall be presented upon 

request or demand of a law enforcement officer.  

(8) Any person operating a vehicle or truck-tractor combination with a current and valid 

trip permit registration is permitted both interstate and intrastate operations within 

Alabama, provided he/she has met all applicable regulatory requirements.  

 

(9)   Operation on the public roads and highways of this state of a vehicle or combination of 

vehicles of a weight or type as defined in the IRP or IFTA that is not validly registered in 

Alabama shall be guilty of the following: 

 

  (a) IRP - Class C misdemeanor, in accordance with Section 40-12-262. 

 

  (b) IFTA - Class B misdemeanor, in accordance with Section 40-17-155. 
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