810-5-9-.05 Credentials in Lieu of IFTA Decals (REPEALED)

@) In lieu of qualified motor vehicles displaying the annual decals, carriers may
have in their possession a valid temporary permit or a valid trip permit as authorized by the
International Fuel Tax Agreement.

(2) In order for a carrier to obtain a temporary permit, an Application for License
(Form MV: IFTA-1) or a Request for Additional IFTA Decals (Form MV:IFTA-5) must be
submitted to the Alabama Department of Revenue with the decal fee. If the submitted forms are
complete, the account is current (i.e., no delinquent reports or outstanding liabilities), the
remittance is received, and the vehicle information is provided, a temporary permit will be issued
to the carrier.

(3) The applicant must submit the following vehicle information in order to receive
a temporary permit:

@ Vehicle Identification Number (VIN);

(b) Make of Vehicle;

(©) Year of Vehicle.

4 The carrier shall carry a legible copy of the IFTA license, issued to the carrier, in
the qualified motor vehicle in addition to the temporary permit. These credentials will render the
vehicle in compliance with the Agreement during the 30-day period until the carrier receives and
affixes the annual decals.

(5) The temporary permit will contain the following information:

@) Carrier’s Name;

(b) Account Number;

(©) Mailing Address;

(d)  City;

(e) State;

(fH Zip Code;

(9) Issue Number;

(h) Issue Date;

(i) Expiration Date;



()] Issue Clerk;

(k) Year of Vehicle;

() Make of Vehicle;

(m)  Vehicle Identification Number.

(6)  There is not a separate fee for the purchase of temporary decal permits because

the permit serves as a temporary decal until the annual decals can be affixed to the qualified
motor vehicle(s).

(7)  An Alabama trip permit (Form MV: IFTA-DP-7) will contain the following
information:

@ Issue Date;

(b) Expiration Date;

(©) Operator’s Name;

(d) Current License Number (vehicle tag number);

(e) Mailing Address;

) City

(9) State;

(h) Zip Code;

(1) State where the vehicle is registered;

()] Year of Vehicle;

(k) Make of Vehicle;

() Vehicle Identification Number;
(m)  Owner’s Name;

(n) Date Issued;

(0) Issued by;

(p)  Agent;



(8)  An Alabama trip permit is valid for a period of seven (7) days.

(9)  The fee for Alabama trip permits will be twenty ($20) dollars. Agents of the state
(e.g., permitting agencies) may charge a processing fee in addition to the fee imposed by the
Commissioner of Revenue.

(10)  Any qualified motor vehicle failing to display the current annual decals, a current
temporary permit, or valid trip permit will be found to be in violation of the Agreement, and the
vehicle operator will be subject to citations and fines in accordance with Section 40-17-

155, Code of Alabama 1975.
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