
810-6-3-.42.02   Nonresidents, Sales to.  

  

(1) Other than the exceptions noted in (2) and (3) below, sales to 
nonresidents are sales at retail subject to the tax even though such purchasers 
claim that the property purchased is for use outside of Alabama, except where the 
seller delivers the property outside Alabama or to the U.S. Postal Service or to a 
common carrier for transportation outside Alabama. (Sections 40-23-1(a)(5), 40-
23-4(a)(17) and 40-23-62(2))  
  

(2) Sales of automobiles, motorcycles, trucks, truck trailers, or 
semitrailers that (i) will be registered or titled outside Alabama and (ii) are exported 
or removed from Alabama within 72 hours by the purchaser or the purchaser’s 
agent for first use outside Alabama are not subject to Alabama sales tax when the 
sales tax laws of the state in which the purchaser will title or register the 
vehicle allows an Alabama resident to purchase a motor vehicle for first 
titling and registering in Alabama without the payment of tax to that state.  
To be exempt from Alabama sales tax, the information relative to the exempt sale 
must be documented on forms approved by the Revenue Department.  (See Sales 
and Use Tax Rule 810-6-3-.42.03 entitled Sales of Certain Automotive Vehicles to 
Nonresidents for First Use and Registration or Titling Outside Alabama.) Sales of 
other vehicles such as mobile homes, motor bikes, all terrain vehicles, motor 
homes, and boats do not qualify for this export exemption provision and are 
subject to Alabama sales tax unless the seller can provide factual evidence that 
the vehicle was delivered outside Alabama or delivered to a common carrier for 
transportation outside Alabama.   (Section 40-23-2(4))                                            
     

  

(3) Effective October 1, 1997, t The purchase of a new truck with a 
gross weight not exceeding 8,000 pounds or a new passenger vehicle by a 
nonresident of the United States is exempt from sales or use tax when (i) the truck 
or passenger vehicle is manufactured in Alabama, (ii) the truck or passenger 
vehicle is delivered to the purchaser in Alabama by the manufacturer or an 
affiliated corporation, (iii) at the time of purchase the purchaser intends to export 
the truck or passenger vehicle to and permanently license the truck or passenger 
vehicle in a foreign country within 90 days after the date of delivery, and (iv) the 
purchaser obtains a temporary metal license plate and a temporary registration 
certificate from the probate judge or license commissioner of the county in which 
the manufacturer is located.    

  

(4) Effective January 1, 2016, sales of automobiles, motorcycles, 
trucks, truck trailers, or semitrailers that (i) will be registered or titled outside 
Alabama and (ii) are exported or removed from Alabama within 72 hours by 
the purchaser or the purchaser’s agent for first use outside Alabama are 
subject to the Alabama state sales tax rate of two percent (2%) unless the 
sales tax laws of the state in which the purchaser will title or register the 



vehicle allows an Alabama resident to purchase a motor vehicle for first 
titling and registering in Alabama without the payment of tax to that state.  

  

(a)   The tax collected on sales outlined in paragraph (4) above 
shall be Alabama sales tax and shall exclude county and municipal sales 

tax.  

  

(5)   A list of states that do not allow a reciprocal drive-out 
provision for Alabama residents purchasing automotive vehicles for first 
titling and registration in Alabama may be viewed on the Department’s 
website at: http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/salestax/.  Such list will be 
published by December 1, 2015, and will be updated each December 1 
thereafter.  Sellers that have relied on list information that is later 
determined to be incorrect shall not be held liable for the non-collection of 

the state automotive sales tax.  
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