
810-6-5-.26.01   Mobile Communication Services Tax.  

(1)  Unless otherwise defined herein, the definitions of terms set forth in Sections 
40-21-120 and 40-21-125, Code of Alabama 1975, as per Act #2001-1090, are incorporated by 
reference herein.    

(a) Although Section 40-21-125, Code of Alabama 1975 was created as a result of 
Section 2 of Act #99-399, Section 2 of Act #2001-1090 erroneously refers to Section 40- 21-125 
as a "new section added to Code of Alabama 1975." Upon codification of this section by the 
Code Commissioner, this section may be corrected and codified as a different code section. Until 
such codification and corresponding rule amendments are made, this rule implies that Section 
40-21-125 contains the provisions of Section 2 of both Act #99-399 and Act #2001-1090.  

(2) Section 40-21-121, Code of Alabama 1975, levies a privilege or license tax against 
every home service provider doing business in the State of Alabama on account of the furnishing 
of mobile telecommunications service to customers with a place of primary use in the State of 
Alabama. Effective February 1, 2002, Section 40-21-125, Code of Alabama 1975, levies a tax on 
mobile radio communication services at the same rate as the tax levied in Section 40-21-121. 
(Act #2001-1090)  

(3) (a) For bills dated prior to February 1, 2002, the tax was to be determined by the 
application of rates against gross sales or gross receipts, as the case may have been, from the 
monthly charges from the furnishing of cellular telecommunication services in the State of 
Alabama and computed monthly in accordance with the following table:  
   
If monthly gross sales or gross 
receipts respecting a person are:  The tax is: 

*Not over $600,000 4% of such gross sales or gross receipts 

*Over $600,000 $4,020 plus 3.7% of excess over $60,000
 
 
Note: Act #92-623 amended Sections 40-21-121 and 40-21-82, Code of Alabama 1975, effective 
October 1, 1992. Section 40-21-121 clearly stated that the rate was 4%, or, if less, the rate
imposed under Section 40-21-82(b). Therefore, the tax on receipts up to $600,000 were
determined under Section 40-21-121, and the tax on receipts in excess of $600,000 were
determined under Section 40-21-82(b). 

 
(b) Act #2001-1090 amended Section 40-21-121 and provides that on bills dated on or 

after February 1, 2002, regardless of when the services being billed were provided, the tax shall 
be determined by the application of rates against gross sales or gross receipts, as the case may be, 
from the monthly charges from the furnishing of mobile telecommunications service to 
customers with a place of primary use in the State of Alabama and shall be computed monthly at 
the rate of 6%.  



(4) Every home service provider of mobile telecommunications service and mobile radio 
communication services subject to this tax shall add the tax to the price or charge for the taxable 
services and shall collect from every customer an amount equal to the prescribed percentage of 
the price or charge for the taxable services. 

(5) Act #2001-1090 further provides that the home service provider furnishing such 
mobile telecommunications service shall be entitled to deduct and retain from the gross amount 
of tax billed by the home service provider 9/10 of 1% of the amount of such tax billed on or after 
February 1, 2002, in consideration of the costs incurred by the home service provider in 
collecting and remitting the tax levied by Section 40-21-121. However, on and following 
October 1, 2002, the amount deducted and retained by such provider shall be 1/4 of 1% of the 
gross amount of such tax billed. 

(6) The terms "mobile telecommunications service" and "mobile radio communication 
services" are defined in Sections 40-21-120(1)(a) and 40-21-125, respectively, as defined in 
47CFR20.3 as in effect on June 1, 1999, as per Act #2001-1090. These terms may be referred to 
in this rule collectively as mobile communication services. Mobile communication services 
include, but are not limited to, the following services which the monthly charges for such 
services shall be included in the measure of the tax levied in Section 40-21-121 provided these 
services are mobile services that (i) are provided for profit, (ii) are an interconnected service, and 
(iii) are available to the public: 

(a) cellular telecommunications service,  
   
(b) personal communications service,  
   
(c) specialized mobile radio service,  
   
(d) mobile service that is the functional equivalent of a commercial mobile radio service,  
   
(e) one-way and two-way radio communications service,  
   
(f) paging/beeper services.  

(7) Section 40-21-122 specifically excludes the gross receipts or gross sales from the tax 
levied in Section 40-21-121 for the following: 

(a) the furnishing of mobile telecommunications service which is otherwise taxed under 
the provisions of Sections 40-23-1 through 40-23-36;  

   
(b) the furnishing of mobile telecommunications service through the use of a prepaid 

telephone calling card, a prepaid authorization number, or both;  
   
(c) the furnishing of mobile communication services to the Federal Government and its 

agencies. However, the tax levied in Section 40-21-121 shall apply to mobile communication 



services furnished for use by the State of Alabama, the counties within the State of Alabama, and 
the incorporated municipalities of the State of Alabama;  

   
(d) wholesale sales.  

(8) In order for a transaction to qualify for the wholesale exclusion contained in Section 
40-21-122, the purchaser of the mobile communication services must furnish the home service 
provider with either a valid mobile communication services tax account number issued by the 
Department and a written statement that the services purchased are for resale, or a valid mobile 
communication services tax certificate of exemption (From STE-3) issued pursuant to Rule 
810-6-5-.26.05. (Section 40-21-125) 

(9)(a) For the period prior to February 1, 2002, the term "monthly charges" as used in this 
rule shall mean monthly recurring access charges and local airtime charges only. 

1. Local airtime charges were those charges levied by the provider of cellular 
telecommunications services for usage of the cellular system and which charges were based on 
the period of time the customer used the cellular system during a billing period. Local airtime 
charges included out-collect roamer air charges but did not include in-collect roamer air charges.  

2. In-collect roamer air charges meant airtime charges levied by a foreign cellular 
provider with respect to the use of the foreign provider's system by a local provider's customer 
while roaming in the foreign provider's area. Usually the local provider, as agent for the foreign 
provider, billed in-collect roamer air charges to its customer.  

3. Out-collect roamer air charges meant airtime charges levied by a local cellular provider 
with respect to the use of the local provider's system by a customer of a foreign provider roaming 
in the local provider's area. Such charges may ultimately have been collected by the roaming 
customer's home provider based on billing information received from the provider whose system 
was utilized.  

4. In situations where both the foreign provider and the local provider served Alabama 
markets, the local cellular provider was responsible for collecting and remitting the cellular 
services tax due on out-collect roamer air charges. 

5. The term "monthly charges" did not include the following:  
 

activation date charge  
change phone number charge  
change serial number charge  
detailed billing charge  
emergency service charge  
feature activation charge  
feature deletion charge  
federal excise taxes  
in-collect roamer air charge  

long distance directory assistance charge  
local land charge (a flat, per call charge)  
monthly feature charge  
NSF check service charge  
rate plan charge  
resume service charge  
roamer land charge (a flat, per call charge) 
roamer surcharge (a per day and/or per call 
charge)  



international call charge  
interstate toll charge  
intrastate toll charge  
local directory assistance charge 

roamer taxes  
service programming charge  
start of service charge  
suspend service charge  
voice mail charge 

   
(b) For customer bills dated on or after February 1, 2002, Act #2001-1090 provides that 

the term "monthly charges" as used in this rule shall mean monthly recurring access charges and 
all airtime charges, regardless of when the services being billed were provided. However, as a 
result of the Mobile Telecommunications Sourcing Act of 2000 (Public Law 106-252), monthly 
charges on customer bills issued during the period of February 1, 2002 through August 1, 2002, 
shall not include charges which cannot be sourced to Alabama.  

 
1. The term "monthly charges" shall not include the following charges:  

 
activation date charge  
change phone number charge  
change serial number charge  
detailed billing charge  
emergency service charge  
feature activation charge  
feature deletion charge  
federal excise taxes  
international call charge  
interstate toll charge  
intrastate toll charge  

local directory assistance charge 
long distance directory assistance charge  
monthly feature charge  
NSF check service charge  
rate plan charge  
resume service charge  
service programming charge  
start of service charge  
suspend service charge  
voice mail charge 

   
(10) As a result of the Mobile Telecommunications Sourcing Act of 2000, Act # 

2001-1090 provides that effective for customer bills issued on or after August 2, 2002, monthly 
charges for mobile communication services provided to a customer and billed by or for the 
customer's home service provider are deemed to be provided at the customer's place of primary 
use. Such monthly charges are subject to the mobile communication services tax if the 
customer's place of primary use is located in this state.  

   
(11) The term "home service provider" as used in this rule shall mean the facilities-based 

carrier or reseller with which the customer contracts for the provision of mobile communication 
services.  

(12) The term "customer" as used in this rule shall mean the person or entity that 
contracts with the home service provider for mobile communication services. In the event the 
end user is not the contracting party, the end user of the mobile communication services will be 
used for purposes of determining the place of primary use. The term does not include a reseller 
of mobile communication services or a serving carrier under an arrangement to serve the 
customer outside the home service provider's licensed area. 



(13) The term "licensed service area" as used in this rule shall mean the geographic area 
in which the home service provider is authorized by law or contract to provide mobile 
communication services. 

(14) The term "place of primary use" as used in this rule shall mean the street address 
representative of where the customer's use of the mobile communication services primarily 
occurs, which must be the residential street address or the primary business street address and 
within the licensed service area of the home service provider. 

(15) The term "reseller" as used in this rule shall mean a provider who purchases 
telecommunications services from another telecommunications service provider and then resells, 
uses as a component part of, or integrates the purchased services into a mobile 
telecommunications service. The term does not include a service carrier with which a home 
service provider arranges for the services to its customers outside the home service provider's 
licensed service area. 

(16) The term "serving carrier" as used in this rule shall mean a facilities-based carrier 
providing mobile communication services to a customer outside a home service provider's or 
reseller's licensed service area. 

(17) Any person engaging or continuing in the business of providing mobile 
communication services subject to the tax levied in Section 40-21-121, shall apply for and obtain 
from the Department a license to engage in and conduct such business. The application for a 
mobile communication services license shall be made on forms furnished by the Department. 
(Section 40-21-124) 

(a) The application for a mobile communication services tax license shall require the 
following information:  

1. Applicant's Federal Employer Identification Number,  

2. Applicant's legal name, trade name, and complete mailing address,  

3. Number of businesses in Alabama and exact location of each (exact location shall 
include city, county, and street address; if location is on highway or rural route, exact location 
shall include details sufficient to allow Department personnel to find the place of business),  

4. Indication of the legal form of ownership (sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, 
multi-member limited liability company, single-member limited liability company, limited 
liability partnership, etc.),  

5. If the applicant is a corporation, a copy of the certified certificate of incorporation, 
amended certificate of incorporation, certificate of authority, or articles of incorporation; if the 
applicant is a limited liability company or limited liability partnership, a copy of the certified 
articles of organization, 



6. Name, title, home address, and social security number of the sole proprietor, each 
partner, each corporate officer, or each member (for a partner or member that is a corporation or 
limited liability entity, the federal employer identification number shall be requested in lieu of a 
social security number), 

7. Type of services provided, 

8. Name of former owner of business, if any, 

9. Beginning date of business, 

10. Business and home phone numbers, and 

11. Signature and title of the sole proprietor, each partner, an elected corporate officer, or 
a member and the date of the signature.  

(18) The mobile communication services tax shall be due and payable in monthly 
installments on or before the twentieth day of the month next succeeding the month in which the 
tax accrues. Every home service provider of mobile communication services shall prepare and 
forward to the Department, within the time prescribed by law, a mobile communication services 
tax return for each calendar month using forms furnished by the Department and shall compute 
the tax due and shall pay to the Department the amount of tax shown to be due. Every person 
engaged in the business of providing mobile communication services shall file only one return 
for all business units or locations within the state. Any home service provider of these services 
liable for the tax whose average monthly liability was $10,000 or greater during the preceding 
calendar year shall make estimated payments to the Department on or before the twentieth day of 
the month in which the liability occurred. These estimated payments must be at least equal to the 
taxpayer's actual tax liability for the same calendar month of the preceding year. (Section 
40-21-123) Beginning with the October 2011 return due November 20, 2011, the term 
“actual tax liability” as used herein shall not include the estimated amounts reported on 
the return from the previous year. 

(a) Mobile communication services tax returns shall require the following information:  

1. Taxpayer's tax account number, legal name, and complete address, 

2. Period covered by the return and due date of the return, 

3. Estimated tax due for the current month, if applicable, must be at least equal to line 4 
(Total Amount of Tax) of the return for the same calendar month of the preceding year, 

4. Total receipts, exempt receipts, and taxable receipts from furnishing commercial 
mobile radio services, paging/beeper services, and other mobile services,  

5. Tax due, 



6. Less collection allowance, 

7. Estimated tax paid on previous month's return, if applicable, 

8. Tax due after deducting credit for previous month's estimate and collection allowance, 

9. Total tax due (total tax due plus current month's estimate, if applicable), 

10. Penalties and interest due, if applicable, 

11. Credits claimed, if any, 

12. Total amount remitted, 

13. An indication if payment of tax is made through electronic funds transfer (EFT), and 

14. Taxpayer's signature, title, and date signed. 

(19) The mobile communication services tax shall be administered and the tax shall be 
collected in accordance with the uniform procedures set forth in Title 40, Code of Alabama 
1975, along with the procedures outlined in Sections 40-23-8 through 40-23-12, 40-23-25, and 
40-23-27 through 40-23-31, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, together with the applicable 
definitions contained in Section 40-23-1, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended. (Section 
40-21-123)  

(20) Act #2001-1090 provides that if nontaxable charges for mobile communication 
services are aggregated with and not separately stated from charges that are subject to taxation, 
the charges for nontaxable mobile communication services may be subject to taxation unless the 
home service provider can reasonably identify charges not subject to taxation from its books and 
records that are kept in the regular course of business. (Section 40-21-121(d).) 

(21) A home service provider is not required to collect mobile communication services 
tax from a customer who claims an exemption from the tax and, as documentation of the 
exemption claim, furnishes the home service provider a properly executed mobile 
communication services tax certificate of exemption (form STE-3) issued by the Department 
pursuant to Rule 810-6-5-.26.05. The home service provider who relies in good faith on the Form 
STE-3 and reasonably believes the tax exemption claim is legal shall not be held liable for the 
tax later determined by the Department to be due on the sale for which the certificate was 
received. Instead, the Department will collect or recover the tax due from the party or parties 
who made the illegal tax-free purchase with the Form STE-3 and the person or persons who 
benefitted from the illegal use of the Form STE-3. (Section 40-21-125) 

(22) As stipulated in paragraph (9)(b), the mobile sourcing definitions and provisions are 
effective after August 1, 2002. 
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