
810-8-5-.04  Investigation Procedures for Open Assignment of Title. (REPEALED) 
  

 (1)  An open title is defined in Section 40-12-396(b)(3), Code of Alabama 1975, 
as "...accepting open assignment of title and/or bill of sale for a motor vehicle which is not completed by 
identifying said licensee as the purchaser or assignee of the motor vehicle." The following procedures will be 
utilized when it is determined a licensed motor vehicle dealer is accepting open titles in violation of the code.  

  
 (2)  A Notice of Statutory Non-Compliance will be issued giving the taxpayer ten calendar days from 
the date of the notice to comply.   

 
 (a)  A list of all open title(s) will be made reflecting the issuing state, title number, vehicle identification 
number, make a model of the vehicle, and other information as deemed necessary.  

  
 (b)  A copy of the front and back of each open title will be obtained.  
 
 (3)  Revisit the licensed motor vehicle dealer after the expiration of the ten calendar day period. If the 
dealer is then in compliance, no further action will be pursued. However, if the dealer is found to still be in 
possession of open title(s), an investigation report will be delivered to the Manager of the License Section for 
evaluation. Based upon the findings, the dealer may be assessed a $1,000 penalty for willful failure to 
comply under Section 40-12-29, Code of Alabama 1975. An action to revoke the licensed motor vehicle 
dealer's license may be initiated.  

  
 (4)  Should a dealer previously given a Notice of Statutory Non-Compliance be in possession of open 
titles(s) in the future, a Notice of Statutory Non-Compliance will be issued to the licensed motor vehicle 
dealer to take effect upon date of the notice. This offense shall be considered willful failure to comply and a 
$1,000 penalty will be assessed under Section 40-12-29. An action to revoke the licensed motor vehicle 
dealer's license may also be initiated.  

  
 (5)  The motor vehicle dealer will be provided a copy of his appeal rights under Section 40-2A-8, 
Code of Alabama 1975, when action to revoke his license is taken.   
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