Alabama Department of Revenue

News Release July 28, 2003

Reminder: Changes in Motor Vehicle Dealer Tag Requirements and Fees Coming Oct. 1, 2003

Montgomery, July 28, 2003—Alabama motor vehicle dealers and manufacturers will notice some important changes this October when they purchase their dealer and manufacturer tags.

As a result of legislation passed last year during the 2002 Regular Session, key provisions of Alabama's dealer tag law were amended to provide new registration fee schedules, remove restrictions regarding the number of tags a dealer may obtain, change the tag renewal period from two years to one year, and eliminate certain registration requirements.

Effective Oct. 1, 2003, the new registration and issuance fees for the motor vehicle dealer, motorcycle dealer, and manufacturer license plates will change from the current \$10 per plate fee to the following: motor vehicle dealer, \$26; motorcycle dealer, \$18; and manufacturer, \$24.25. The license plates will expire on September 30 each year and will be renewed during October and November each year.

Another important change for dealers and manufacturers involves the license plate issuance procedures. Beginning with the new registration year, Oct. 1, 2003, dealers and manufacturers will purchase their license plates in the county where their business operation is located. License plates will no longer be available at Alabama Department of Revenue Taxpayer Service Centers. Dealers, reconditioners, rebuilders, and manufacturers will no longer be required to complete an application to purchase dealer or manufacturer license plates. However, in order to purchase a dealer or manufacturer license plate, the appropriate state regulatory license and/or county licenses must be presented to the county tag-issuing official before the license plate can be issued. Also beginning Oct. 1, 2003, dealers are no longer limited in the number of dealer license plates they may obtain.

Changes in Alabama's Abandoned Vehicle Law... Add One July 28, 2003

Dealer license plates, however, cannot be used on vehicles utilized by the dealership or wholesaler as rental or lease vehicles, tow trucks, service trucks, or other service vehicles.

For more information concerning Alabama's dealer tag law and recent changes in the law, contact the Motor Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000 or visit the department's Web site at www.ador.state.al.us.

-30-

Media contact for more information: ADOR Media Affairs Office: Carla A. Snellgrove or Carolyn Blackstock: (334) 242-1390; FAX: (334) 242-0550

www.ador.state.al.us.