## **Alabama Department of Revenue**

News Release Sept. 19, 2003

## ADOR's Mandatory Liability Insurance Verification Program Reinstated First monthly surveys mailed mid-September

*Montgomery, Sept. 19, 2003*—State Revenue Commissioner Dwight Carlisle announced today that the Alabama Department of Revenue (ADOR) has reinstated its mandatory liability insurance verification program.

What can one expect if randomly selected as one of the 7,000 vehicle owners that will be surveyed monthly for insurance coverage? Owners will be mailed a short one-page survey/questionnaire, identifying the particular vehicle selected for insurance verification, and will be asked to fill in the following information on the survey form:

- name of the insurance company (NOT AGENT'S NAME) which has insured that particular vehicle
- NAIC number printed on the insurance card which identifies the insurance company
- address and telephone number of the insurance company
- vehicle's insurance policy number
- effective date and expiration date of the vehicle policy.

Once the surveys are completed, owners will sign and mail them to the address shown on the provided pre-addressed, postage-paid envelope within 30 calendar days from the date shown on the survey form. Individuals may also return the information by fax or by Internet. Instructions are provided on the survey form for doing so. Failure to respond to the survey can result in suspension of the motor vehicle's registration.

"Once the Department of Revenue receives the returned surveys, personnel will begin the verification process," said Carlisle. "If an owner is found not to have insurance, the owner will be notified and the vehicle's tag registration will be suspended.

To reinstate the registration, the owner must provide proof of insurance to the Revenue

Department at the time of reinstatement and pay a \$100 registration reinstatement fee for

first-time suspensions."

"The department reminds owners that they are only required to verify insurance

coverage for the vehicle identified on the survey form," added Carlisle.

"After one year, the department will again survey vehicle owners who were found

without insurance. Subsequent offenses carry a mandatory four-month tag suspension, a

\$200 reinstatement fee, proof of insurance at the time of reinstatement, and require a

vehicle owner to maintain liability insurance for three years," said Carlisle.

Certain vehicle categories are specifically exempted from Alabama's mandatory

liability insurance law and will not be subject to insurance verification. Exempt vehicles

include: semitrailers, travel trailers, utility trailers, government-owned vehicles, for-hire

trucking companies regulated by the Public Service Commission, and off-road vehicles

such as road-graders, etc.

For more information concerning Alabama's Mandatory Liability Insurance Law

and the Department of Revenue's related responsibilities, contact the department's

Mandatory Liability Insurance Section of the Motor Vehicle Division at (334) 353-2000,

or visit the department's Web site at www.ador.state.al.us.

-30-

**Contact for more information:** 

ADOR Media Affairs Office: Carla A. Snellgrove or Carolyn Blackstock

Telephone: (334) 242-1390; FAX: (334) 242-0550