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Montgomery—As	
  W-­‐2s,	
  1099s,	
  and	
  other	
  financial	
  statements	
  are	
  being	
  
distributed	
  to	
  taxpayers	
  this	
  month,	
  the	
  Alabama	
  Department	
  of	
  Revenue	
  offers	
  the	
  
following	
  tax-­‐filing	
  tips	
  and	
  reminders	
  for	
  the	
  2014	
  tax	
  filing	
  season.	
  	
  	
  

	
  
E-­‐file	
  Officially	
  Opens	
  Jan.	
  31	
  
Alabama’s	
  e-­‐file	
  season	
  will	
  officially	
  open	
  Jan.	
  31,	
  following	
  the	
  Internal	
  Revenue	
  
Service’s	
  official	
  opening	
  date.	
  	
  The	
  Internal	
  Revenue	
  Service	
  (IRS)	
  announced	
  plans	
  in	
  
December	
  to	
  move	
  forward	
  the	
  opening	
  date	
  for	
  acceptance	
  of	
  electronically-­‐filed	
  
returns	
  to	
  allow	
  adequate	
  time	
  for	
  programing	
  and	
  testing	
  of	
  its	
  tax	
  processing	
  systems.	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Alabama	
  tax	
  forms	
  and	
  instructions	
  are	
  available	
  on	
  ADOR’s	
  Web	
  site	
  at	
  
http://revenue.alabama.gov/incometax/2013itforms.cfm.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
What’s	
  New	
  for	
  2014?	
  
	
   New	
  tax	
  credits,	
  new	
  refund	
  donation	
  check-­‐offs,	
  and	
  additional	
  tax	
  return	
  
security	
  features	
  headline	
  the	
  list	
  as	
  to	
  what	
  is	
  new	
  this	
  filing	
  season	
  for	
  Alabama	
  
taxpayers.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
New	
  Tax	
  Credit	
  for	
  2013	
  
	
  
Alabama	
  Accountability	
  Act	
  Tax	
  Credits	
  
The	
  2013	
  Alabama	
  Accountability	
  Act	
  provides	
  a	
  parent-­‐taxpayer	
  refundable	
  tax	
  credit	
  
available	
  to	
  eligible	
  individual	
  income	
  taxpayers,	
  limited	
  to	
  $3,563	
  for	
  the	
  2013	
  tax	
  year.	
  	
  
In	
  addition,	
  a	
  scholarship	
  granting	
  organization	
  (SGO)	
  contribution	
  tax	
  credit	
  is	
  available	
  
to	
  both	
  individual	
  taxpayers	
  and	
  corporate	
  taxpayers.	
  	
  The	
  maximum	
  eligible	
  amount	
  for	
  
individuals	
  is	
  $7,500,	
  but	
  is	
  limited	
  to	
  one	
  half	
  of	
  the	
  taxpayer’s	
  tax	
  liability	
  amount	
  for	
  
the	
  year.	
  	
  Corporate	
  taxpayers	
  are	
  limited	
  to	
  one	
  half	
  of	
  the	
  corporation’s	
  tax	
  liability	
  
amount,	
  beginning	
  with	
  the	
  corporation’s	
  2013	
  tax	
  year.	
  	
  The	
  Alabama	
  Schedule	
  AATC-­‐
Alabama	
  Accountability	
  Tax	
  Credit	
  will	
  be	
  used	
  to	
  claim	
  the	
  credits.	
  	
  Full	
  details	
  of	
  these	
  
tax	
  credits	
  are	
  available	
  at	
  http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/accountability/.	
  
	
  
New	
  Check-­‐offs	
  
Alabama	
  taxpayers	
  have	
  four	
  new	
  refund	
  donation	
  check-­‐offs	
  from	
  which	
  to	
  choose	
  this	
  
year,	
  bringing	
  the	
  total	
  number	
  of	
  available	
  refund	
  donation	
  check-­‐offs	
  on	
  the	
  2013	
  
return	
  to	
  sixteen.	
  	
  The	
  new	
  offerings	
  include:	
  	
  the	
  Alabama	
  State	
  Historic	
  Preservation	
  
Fund,	
  Archives	
  Services	
  Fund,	
  Alabama	
  Firefighters	
  Annuity	
  and	
  Benefit	
  Fund,	
  and	
  the	
  
Victims	
  of	
  Violence	
  Assistance	
  (Reference:	
  	
  Acts	
  2011-­‐620;	
  2011-­‐552,	
  and	
  2012-­‐259,	
  
respectively).	
  	
  



 
Driver’s	
   License/Non-­‐driver’s	
   Number,	
   Date	
   of	
   Birth	
   Requirements	
   Added	
   to	
   Return	
  
Filings	
  
Taxpayers	
  who	
  electronically	
  file	
  2013	
  Alabama	
  Forms	
  40,	
  40-­‐A	
  or	
  40	
  NR	
  should	
  include	
  
their	
  driver’s	
  license	
  or	
  non-­‐driver’s	
  license	
  number,	
  as	
  well	
  as	
  their	
  date	
  of	
  birth,	
  on	
  
their	
  Alabama	
  returns.	
  	
  This	
  is	
  the	
  department’s	
  latest	
  effort	
  to	
  combat	
  the	
  growing	
  
threat	
  of	
  identity	
  theft	
  and	
  fraudulent	
  tax	
  return	
  filings.	
  	
  The	
  department	
  will	
  use	
  this	
  
information	
  to	
  validate	
  filers’	
  names	
  and	
  dates	
  of	
  birth	
  information	
  shown	
  on	
  the	
  
Alabama	
  returns	
  against	
  names	
  and	
  dates	
  of	
  birth	
  information	
  shown	
  on	
  individuals’	
  
driver’s	
  licenses	
  or	
  non-­‐driver’s	
  licenses.	
  	
  If	
  a	
  match	
  does	
  not	
  occur,	
  then	
  the	
  return	
  will	
  
be	
  flagged	
  and	
  will	
  be	
  reviewed	
  by	
  an	
  examiner.	
  	
  No	
  other	
  personal	
  information	
  shown	
  
on	
  an	
  individual’s	
  driver’s	
  license	
  or	
  non-­‐driver’s	
  license	
  record	
  will	
  be	
  available	
  to	
  the	
  
ADOR	
  for	
  use,	
  such	
  as	
  photo	
  identification,	
  physical	
  description,	
  driving	
  restrictions	
  or	
  
gender.	
  	
  	
  

 
Getting	
  Ready	
  to	
  File:	
  	
  Consider	
  E-­‐file	
  
The	
  ADOR	
  encourages	
  taxpayers	
  to	
  review	
  their	
  filing	
  options	
  and	
  consider	
  
electronically	
  filing	
  their	
  tax	
  returns.	
  	
  Last	
  year,	
  over	
  1.5	
  million	
  tax	
  returns	
  were	
  
electronically	
  filed,	
  totaling	
  78	
  percent	
  of	
  the	
  total	
  1.9	
  million	
  returns	
  filed	
  through	
  the	
  
end	
  of	
  2013.	
  	
  E-­‐file	
  is	
  a	
  safe,	
  secure	
  method	
  of	
  filing	
  one’s	
  tax	
  return	
  and	
  guarantees	
  a	
  
quicker	
  turnaround	
  time	
  on	
  refund	
  processing	
  than	
  traditional	
  paper	
  returns.	
  	
  

	
  
The	
  Alabama	
  Department	
  of	
  Revenue	
  (ADOR)	
  offers	
  a	
  free	
  electronic	
  filing	
  option	
  to	
  all	
  
Alabama	
  taxpayers	
  filing	
  a	
  state	
  income	
  tax	
  return.	
  	
  No	
  income	
  limitations	
  or	
  other	
  
qualifications	
  must	
  be	
  met	
  to	
  take	
  advantage	
  of	
  the	
  department’s	
  free	
  online	
  filing	
  
system.	
  	
  See	
  e-­‐Services	
  for	
  more	
  information	
  regarding	
  Alabama	
  electronic	
  filing	
  
options.	
  	
  	
  
 
Alabama	
  Tax	
  Refund	
  Card	
  
Last	
  year,	
  the	
  ADOR	
  introduced	
  taxpayers	
  to	
  a	
  new	
  refund	
  payment	
  choice.	
  	
  Taxpayers,	
  
filing	
  a	
  refund	
  return,	
  can	
  receive	
  their	
  2013	
  individual	
  income	
  tax	
  refund	
  in	
  the	
  form	
  of	
  
a	
  refund	
  debit	
  card,	
  the	
  Alabama	
  Tax	
  Refund	
  Card.	
  	
  The	
  Alabama	
  Tax	
  Refund	
  Card	
  is	
  a	
  
prepaid	
  VISA	
  debit	
  card	
  and	
  can	
  be	
  used	
  just	
  like	
  cash	
  at	
  retail	
  locations.	
  	
  Free	
  teller-­‐
assisted	
  cash	
  withdrawals	
  can	
  be	
  made	
  at	
  banks	
  and	
  credit	
  unions	
  that	
  accept	
  VISA.	
  	
  	
  To	
  
receive	
  the	
  card,	
  taxpayers	
  must	
  check	
  the	
  box	
  on	
  their	
  2013	
  Alabama	
  tax	
  return,	
  
indicating	
  they	
  wish	
  to	
  receive	
  their	
  refund	
  in	
  the	
  form	
  of	
  a	
  refund	
  debit	
  card.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Direct	
  Deposit	
  
In	
  addition	
  to	
  the	
  Alabama	
  Tax	
  Refund	
  Card	
  as	
  a	
  refund	
  option,	
  taxpayers	
  can	
  choose	
  to	
  
receive	
  their	
  refunds	
  by	
  traditional	
  paper	
  check	
  or	
  by	
  direct	
  deposit.	
  	
  Last	
  year,	
  
approximately	
  two-­‐thirds	
  of	
  Alabama	
  taxpayers	
  opted	
  to	
  have	
  their	
  state	
  income	
  tax	
  
refunds	
  direct-­‐deposited	
  into	
  their	
  bank	
  accounts.	
  Direct	
  deposit	
  is	
  safe,	
  secure,	
  and	
  
provides	
  taxpayers	
  with	
  quick	
  access	
  to	
  their	
  refunds.	
  	
  Be	
  sure	
  to	
  check	
  out	
  the	
  benefits	
  
of	
  direct	
  deposit.	
  	
  
	
  
	
  
	
  



Choose	
  Your	
  Preparer	
  Carefully	
  
The	
  ADOR	
  cautions	
  taxpayers	
  to	
  be	
  wary	
  of	
  claims	
  by	
  preparers	
  offering	
  larger	
  refunds	
  
than	
  other	
  preparers.	
  	
  Take	
  time	
  to	
  check	
  out	
  the	
  preparer’s	
  credentials.	
  	
  
While	
  most	
  preparers	
  provide	
  excellent	
  service	
  to	
  their	
  clients,	
  it	
  is	
  important	
  to	
  be	
  
aware	
  that	
  even	
  if	
  someone	
  else	
  prepares	
  the	
  return,	
  the	
  taxpayer	
  is	
  ultimately	
  
responsible	
  for	
  all	
  of	
  the	
  information	
  reported	
  on	
  his	
  or	
  her	
  return.	
  	
  The	
  department	
  
urges	
  taxpayers	
  never	
  to	
  sign	
  a	
  blank	
  return	
  and	
  always	
  review	
  the	
  return	
  before	
  
signing/filing	
  it.	
  	
  Question	
  any	
  item	
  shown	
  on	
  the	
  return	
  that	
  you	
  do	
  not	
  understand.	
  	
  
	
  
Protect	
  Your	
  Personal	
  Information	
  
Be	
  on	
  the	
  alert	
  for	
  tax	
  scams.	
  	
  During	
  the	
  tax-­‐filing	
  season,	
  various	
  tax	
  scams	
  are	
  
reported.	
  	
  If	
  you	
  receive	
  an	
  e-­‐mail	
  from	
  someone	
  claiming	
  to	
  represent	
  the	
  ADOR	
  and	
  
seeking	
  personal	
  or	
  financial	
  information,	
  do	
  not	
  reply.	
  The	
  Alabama	
  Department	
  of	
  
Revenue	
  does	
  not	
  initiate	
  taxpayer	
  communications	
  through	
  e-­‐mail.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Other	
  Important	
  Reminders	
  
 
Alabama	
  Gross	
  Income	
  Calculation	
  
Resident	
  individual	
  taxpayers	
  who	
  are	
  partners	
  or	
  members	
  of	
  a	
  partnership,	
  limited	
  
liability	
  company	
  or	
  S-­‐Corporation	
  must	
  include	
  in	
  calculations	
  of	
  their	
  Alabama	
  gross	
  
income	
  their	
  proportionate	
  share	
  of	
  income	
  from	
  such	
  entities,	
  regardless	
  of	
  whether	
  
the	
  income	
  is	
  earned	
  within	
  or	
  outside	
  of	
  Alabama.	
  	
  Resident	
  individuals	
  are	
  also	
  
allowed	
  an	
  income	
  tax	
  credit	
  for	
  a	
  portion	
  of	
  the	
  tax	
  paid	
  by	
  the	
  entity	
  to	
  another	
  state	
  
(Reference:	
  	
  Act	
  2012-­‐427).	
  	
  	
  
	
  	
  
Irrigation	
  Equipment/Reservoir	
  Tax	
  Credit	
  
Alabama	
  allows	
  an	
  income	
  tax	
  credit	
  for	
  the	
  purchase	
  and	
  installation	
  of	
  irrigation	
  
equipment	
  or	
  for	
  the	
  purchase	
  and	
  installation	
  of	
  a	
  qualified	
  reservoir.	
  	
  The	
  credit	
  is	
  
equal	
  to	
  20	
  percent	
  of	
  the	
  cost	
  of	
  purchase	
  and	
  installation	
  of	
  the	
  irrigation	
  equipment	
  
or	
  the	
  qualified	
  reservoir,	
  but	
  cannot	
  exceed	
  $10,000.	
  	
  Taxpayers	
  are	
  allowed	
  to	
  claim	
  a	
  
credit	
  for	
  either	
  the	
  irrigation	
  equipment	
  or	
  reservoir,	
  but	
  not	
  both.	
  	
  The	
  credit	
  is	
  
available	
  for	
  all	
  tax	
  years	
  beginning	
  after	
  Dec.	
  31,	
  2011,	
  and	
  may	
  be	
  carried	
  forward	
  for	
  
five	
  years.	
  	
  (Reference:	
  	
  Act	
  2012-­‐391).	
  
	
  
Windstorm	
  Catastrophe	
  Savings	
  Account	
  Deduction	
  
Residential	
  property	
  owners	
  may	
  establish	
  and	
  designate	
  a	
  catastrophe	
  savings	
  account	
  
to	
  provide	
  for	
  reimbursements	
  for	
  insurance	
  deductible	
  amounts	
  and	
  other	
  uninsured	
  
losses.	
  	
  Taxpayers	
  are	
  allowed	
  a	
  limited	
  deduction	
  against	
  the	
  income	
  earned	
  on	
  
deposits	
  into	
  a	
  catastrophe	
  savings	
  account.	
  	
  The	
  deduction	
  is	
  limited,	
  based	
  on	
  the	
  
taxpayer’s	
  insurance	
  deductible.	
  	
  The	
  deduction	
  is	
  available	
  beginning	
  with	
  the	
  2012	
  tax	
  
year	
  (Reference	
  Act	
  2012-­‐413).	
  
	
  
	
  
Heroes	
  for	
  Hire	
  Credit	
  
First	
  available	
  for	
  tax	
  year	
  2012,	
  the	
  “Heroes	
  for	
  Hire	
  Credit”	
  provides	
  an	
  additional	
  
$1,000	
  tax	
  credit	
  for	
  job	
  creation	
  to	
  employers	
  who	
  hire	
  recently	
  deployed,	
  and	
  now	
  
discharged,	
  unemployed	
  veterans.	
  	
  	
  Additionally,	
  any	
  recently	
  deployed,	
  and	
  now	
  



discharged,	
  unemployed	
  veteran	
  who	
  holds	
  at	
  least	
  50	
  percent	
  interest	
  in	
  a	
  start-­‐up	
  
business	
  is	
  eligible	
  for	
  a	
  one-­‐time	
  $2,000	
  income	
  tax	
  credit	
  for	
  expenses	
  associated	
  with	
  
the	
  start-­‐up	
  business	
  (Reference	
  Act	
  2012-­‐168).	
  	
  
	
  
Jason	
  Barfield	
  Act	
  
The	
  2012	
  Jason	
  Barfield	
  Act	
  allows	
  an	
  Alabama	
  income	
  tax	
  exemption	
  for	
  any	
  payment	
  
made	
  by	
  the	
  U.S.	
  Department	
  of	
  Defense	
  for	
  any	
  taxpayer	
  killed	
  in	
  action	
  in	
  a	
  combat	
  
zone,	
  in	
  the	
  year	
  he/she	
  is	
  declared	
  deceased.	
  	
  The	
  exemption	
  also	
  applies	
  to	
  any	
  
income	
  earned	
  by	
  the	
  spouse	
  of	
  the	
  deceased,	
  in	
  the	
  same	
  year.	
  	
  The	
  exemption	
  is	
  
retroactive	
  to	
  Jan.	
  1,	
  2011.	
  	
  No	
  statute	
  of	
  limitations	
  regarding	
  a	
  refund	
  petition	
  applies	
  
to	
  this	
  exemption	
  (Reference	
  Act	
  2012-­‐486).	
  	
  	
  
	
  	
  	
  
Alabama	
  Injured	
  Spouse	
  Provisions	
  	
  
Alabama’s	
  tax	
  laws	
  follow	
  federal	
  law	
  provisions	
  in	
  Title	
  26	
  U.S.C.	
  §6015	
  which	
  address	
  
“injured	
  spouse.”	
  	
  A	
  taxpayer	
  requesting	
  this	
  relief	
  must	
  complete	
  and	
  attach	
  Alabama	
  
Form	
  AL	
  8379,	
  Injured	
  Spouse	
  Allocation	
  to	
  his	
  or	
  her	
  tax	
  return	
  (Reference:	
  	
  Act	
  2012-­‐
474).	
  	
  
	
  
Roth	
  IRA	
  Treated	
  as	
  Qualified	
  Trust	
  
Alabama’s	
  code	
  section	
  relating	
  to	
  qualified	
  trusts	
  was	
  amended	
  in	
  2012	
  to	
  include	
  
ROTH	
  IRAs	
  as	
  a	
  qualified	
  trust	
  (Reference:	
  	
  Act	
  2012-­‐381).	
  	
  
	
  
Homeowners	
  Insurance	
  Retrofitting	
  Deduction	
  
Homeowners	
  who	
  retrofit	
  or	
  upgrade	
  their	
  homes	
  to	
  make	
  their	
  residences	
  more	
  
resistant	
  to	
  losses	
  due	
  to	
  hurricane,	
  tornado,	
  or	
  other	
  natural	
  disasters	
  may	
  claim	
  an	
  
income	
  tax	
  deduction	
  on	
  their	
  annual	
  income	
  tax	
  returns.	
  The	
  deduction	
  is	
  limited	
  to	
  
the	
  lesser	
  amount	
  of	
  either	
  50	
  percent	
  of	
  the	
  retrofit	
  cost	
  or	
  $3,000.	
  	
  This	
  deduction	
  is	
  
available	
  to	
  taxpayers	
  who	
  itemize	
  their	
  deductions,	
  as	
  well	
  as	
  to	
  those	
  who	
  claim	
  the	
  
standard	
  deduction.	
  
	
  
Disaster	
  Relief	
  Payments	
  
Alabama’s	
  tax	
  treatment	
  of	
  disaster	
  relief	
  payments	
  follows	
  that	
  of	
  the	
  Internal	
  Revenue	
  
Service	
  (IRS)	
  treatment	
  of	
  qualified	
  disaster	
  relief	
  payments	
  under	
  the	
  Internal	
  Revenue	
  
Code	
  §139.	
  	
  Generally,	
  such	
  payments	
  are	
  not	
  taxable	
  as	
  long	
  as	
  they	
  are	
  not	
  payments	
  
received	
  in	
  lieu	
  of	
  income.	
  	
  Note:	
  	
  Unemployment	
  compensation	
  is	
  not	
  taxable	
  for	
  
Alabama	
  purposes.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Tax	
  Relief,	
  Unemployment	
  Insurance	
  Reauthorization	
  &	
  Jobs	
  Creation	
  Act	
  of	
  2010	
  
Alabama	
  will	
  follow	
  the	
  increased	
  deduction	
  allowed	
  under	
  the	
  federal	
  Tax	
  Relief,	
  
Unemployment	
  Insurance	
  Reauthorization	
  and	
  Jobs	
  Creation	
  Act	
  of	
  2010,	
  pertaining	
  to	
  
Section	
  168(k)	
  of	
  the	
  Internal	
  Revenue	
  Code.	
  	
  Section	
  168(k)	
  provides	
  that	
  qualifying	
  
assets	
  acquired	
  after	
  Sept.	
  8,	
  2010,	
  through	
  Dec.	
  31,	
  2011,	
  will	
  have	
  a	
  100	
  percent	
  
bonus	
  depreciation.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Small	
  Business	
  Jobs	
  Act	
  of	
  2010	
  
Alabama	
  follows	
  the	
  increased	
  deductions	
  allowed	
  by	
  the	
  federal	
  Small	
  Business	
  Jobs	
  
Act	
  of	
  2010,	
  which	
  amended	
  Section	
  179	
  and	
  Section	
  168	
  of	
  the	
  Internal	
  Revenue	
  Code.	
  	
  	
  
	
  



Small	
  Business	
  Health	
  Insurance	
  Premiums	
  
Qualifying	
  employers	
  can	
  deduct	
  an	
  additional	
  100	
  percent	
  of	
  the	
  amount	
  paid	
  as	
  health	
  
insurance	
  premiums	
  on	
  qualifying	
  employees	
  in	
  connection	
  with	
  an	
  employer-­‐provided	
  
health	
  insurance	
  plan.	
  	
  Qualifying	
  employers	
  have	
  less	
  than	
  25	
  employees.	
  	
  Qualified	
  
employees	
  are	
  Alabama	
  residents	
  who	
  earn	
  no	
  more	
  than	
  $50,000	
  of	
  wages	
  and	
  report	
  
no	
  more	
  than	
  $75,000	
  in	
  adjusted	
  gross	
  income.	
  	
  Income	
  threshold	
  is	
  limited	
  to	
  
$150,000,	
  if	
  married	
  filing	
  jointly.	
  	
  Sole	
  proprietors	
  claim	
  this	
  deduction	
  on	
  the	
  Form	
  
Schedule	
  C	
  under	
  “other	
  expenses.”	
  	
  Pass-­‐through-­‐entities	
  claim	
  this	
  deduction	
  on	
  the	
  
Alabama	
  partnership	
  return	
  Schedule	
  K.	
  	
  The	
  amount	
  is	
  then	
  distributed	
  to	
  the	
  partners	
  
or	
  shareholders	
  on	
  the	
  Schedule	
  K-­‐1.	
  	
  More	
  information	
  on	
  the	
  Small	
  Business	
  Health	
  
Insurance	
  Premiums	
  deduction	
  is	
  available	
  at	
  www.revenue.alabama.gov.	
  	
  See	
  Current	
  
Issues	
  under	
  the	
  Practitioner’s	
  Corner.	
  The	
  Small	
  Business	
  Health	
  Care	
  deduction	
  is	
  
available	
  for	
  all	
  tax	
  years	
  after	
  Dec.	
  31,	
  2010.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Full	
  Employment	
  Act	
  of	
  2011	
  	
  
The	
  Full	
  Employment	
  Act	
  of	
  2011	
  provides	
  small	
  business	
  employers,	
  having	
  50	
  or	
  fewer	
  
employees,	
  with	
  a	
  $1,000	
  tax	
  credit	
  for	
  each	
  newly-­‐created	
  job,	
  with	
  a	
  set	
  hourly	
  wage	
  
of	
  $10	
  or	
  more.	
  	
  The	
  credit	
  is	
  available	
  to	
  the	
  employer	
  after	
  the	
  employee	
  has	
  
completed	
  12	
  months	
  of	
  consecutive	
  employment	
  in	
  the	
  new	
  job.	
  	
  It	
  is	
  effective	
  for	
  tax	
  
years	
  beginning	
  after	
  Jan.	
  1,	
  2011.	
  	
  
	
  
Don’t	
  Forget	
  the	
  Consumer	
  Use	
  Tax	
  
Taxpayers	
  who	
  purchased	
  items	
  online	
  or	
  through	
  catalog	
  or	
  telephone	
  mail-­‐order	
  sales	
  
during	
  2013	
  and	
  did	
  not	
  pay	
  any	
  sales	
  or	
  use	
  tax	
  to	
  the	
  out-­‐of-­‐state	
  retailer	
  should	
  
report	
  and	
  pay	
  the	
  Alabama	
  consumer	
  use	
  tax	
  due	
  when	
  filing	
  their	
  2013	
  Alabama	
  
returns.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Review	
  your	
  return	
  
Before	
  mailing	
  or	
  electronically	
  filing,	
  be	
  sure	
  to	
  review	
  all	
  the	
  information	
  on	
  your	
  
return	
  one	
  more	
  time.	
  	
  Errors	
  will	
  delay	
  the	
  processing	
  of	
  your	
  return.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Owe	
  Additional	
  Taxes?	
  	
  	
  
The	
  ADOR	
  offers	
  taxpayers	
  a	
  variety	
  of	
  electronic	
  payment	
  options—from	
  E-­‐check	
  to	
  
credit	
  card	
  payment	
  options.	
  	
  See	
  “e-­‐Services”	
  at	
  www.revenue.alabama.gov	
  for	
  more	
  
information.	
  
	
  
Where’s	
  My	
  Refund?	
  
If	
  you	
  file	
  an	
  accurate	
  2013	
  refund	
  return,	
  the	
  ADOR	
  advises	
  that	
  you	
  can	
  expect	
  to	
  have	
  
your	
  refund	
  approved	
  by	
  the	
  ADOR	
  and	
  issued	
  by	
  the	
  state	
  within	
  15	
  weeks	
  from	
  the	
  
date	
  the	
  return	
  is	
  received.	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  
	
  
To	
  check	
  on	
  the	
  processing	
  status	
  of	
  your	
  refund	
  return,	
  go	
  to	
  “Where’s	
  My	
  Refund”	
  at	
  
www.revenue.alabama.gov	
  or	
  download	
  ADOR’s	
  free	
  iPhone	
  app.	
  	
  
Please	
  allow	
  at	
  least	
  four	
  weeks	
  after	
  you	
  electronically	
  file	
  or	
  mail	
  your	
  Alabama	
  refund	
  
return	
  before	
  checking	
  on	
  the	
  status	
  of	
  your	
  refund.	
  	
  	
  
	
  



Last	
  year	
  the	
  ADOR	
  processed	
  over	
  1.9	
  million	
  individual	
  income	
  tax	
  returns	
  and	
  
approved	
  over	
  1.2	
  million	
  individual	
  income	
  tax	
  refunds	
  for	
  issuance	
  to	
  taxpayers,	
  
totaling	
  over	
  $550	
  million.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Estimated	
  Tax	
  Reminder	
  
April	
  15,	
  2014,	
  also	
  marks	
  another	
  important	
  date	
  on	
  the	
  tax	
  calendar	
  for	
  individuals—
the	
  start	
  of	
  the	
  2014	
  tax-­‐filing	
  period	
  for	
  individuals	
  who	
  are	
  required	
  to	
  file	
  quarterly	
  
estimated	
  income	
  tax	
  reports	
  and	
  payments.	
  	
  Self-­‐employed	
  individuals	
  are	
  required	
  to	
  
report	
  and	
  pay	
  estimated	
  income	
  tax	
  on	
  a	
  quarterly	
  basis,	
  based	
  on	
  the	
  current	
  
maximum	
  individual	
  rate	
  of	
  five	
  percent.	
  	
  In	
  addition,	
  individuals	
  who	
  receive	
  taxable	
  
income	
  from	
  income	
  sources	
  other	
  than	
  wages	
  or	
  salaries	
  on	
  which	
  no	
  tax	
  has	
  been	
  
withheld	
  are	
  also	
  required	
  to	
  report	
  and	
  pay	
  estimated	
  tax	
  on	
  a	
  quarterly	
  basis,	
  if	
  the	
  
taxable	
  income	
  received	
  exceeds	
  certain	
  amounts.	
  	
  The	
  estimated	
  tax	
  filing	
  and	
  
payment	
  threshold	
  for	
  individuals	
  is	
  set	
  at	
  $500	
  in	
  tax	
  liability	
  annually.	
  	
  Examples	
  of	
  
such	
  taxable	
  income	
  would	
  include	
  interest	
  income	
  or	
  capital	
  gains	
  distributions.	
  	
  The	
  
reporting	
  and	
  payment	
  dates	
  for	
  individuals	
  are	
  April	
  15,	
  June	
  15,	
  Sept.	
  15,	
  and	
  Jan.	
  15	
  
of	
  the	
  following	
  year.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Alabama	
  Tax	
  Assistance	
  
The	
  ADOR	
  is	
  committed	
  to	
  providing	
  quality	
  customer	
  service	
  to	
  taxpayers.	
  	
  Assistance	
  
is	
  available	
  at	
  taxpayers’	
  convenience	
  through	
  the	
  department’s	
  Web	
  site	
  at	
  
www.revenue.alabama.gov	
  or	
  by	
  calling	
  334.242.1000.	
  	
  The	
  ADOR	
  also	
  operates	
  nine	
  
Taxpayer	
  Service	
  Centers	
  located	
  across	
  the	
  state	
  for	
  walk-­‐in	
  assistance.	
  	
  For	
  a	
  listing	
  of	
  
ADOR	
  Taxpayer	
  Service	
  Center	
  locations,	
  visit	
  www.revenue.alabama.gov.	
  	
  See	
  About	
  
Us.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Alabama	
  tax	
  returns	
  are	
  available	
  at	
  selected	
  Alabama	
  public	
  libraries	
  and	
  all	
  ADOR	
  
taxpayer	
  service	
  centers.	
  	
  Returns	
  are	
  also	
  available	
  from	
  the	
  department’s	
  Web	
  site	
  at	
  
http://revenue.alabama.gov/incometax/2013itforms.cfm.	
  
	
  
	
  

-30- 

________________________________________________________
________ 
Media contact for more information:   ADOR Media Affairs Office:   
Carla A. Snellgrove or Carolyn G. Blackstock:  (334) 242-1390; FAX:  (334) 242-0550 
WEB site address:  www.revenue.alabama.gov 
 

	
  

 
 


