

## State of Alabama Department of Revenue

(www.revenue.alabama.gov) 50 North Ripley Street Montgomery, Alabama 36132 August 18, 2015 MICHAEL E. MASON

JOE W. GARRETT, JR.

Deputy Commissioner

CURTIS E. STEWART
Deputy Commissioner

## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: License Plate Issuing Officials

2015 - 16

FROM:

Don Clemons, Supervisor Don Clemons, Supervisor Title Section/Motor Vehicle Division

SUBJECT: Name Correct

Name Corrections and Dealer/Designated Agent Surety Bond

During the 2015 legislative session, Act 2015 - 362 was signed into law by Governor Bentley and becomes effective October 1, 2015. This memorandum outlines the provisions of the act.

## **Provisions**

- This act amends Sections 32-8-30, 32-8-35, and 32-8-39 concerning the requirement(s), that if the owner's legal name, as recorded on the certificate of title has changed, the owner shall make application for a corrected certificate of title to record the current legal name of the owner prior to the renewal of the registration for the motor vehicle. Each application for first certificate of title of a vehicle in this state shall contain the current legal name of the owner and each certificate of title issued by the department shall contain the current legal name of the owner.
  - The Department will accept applications with the following documentation for name corrections:
    - a. Current Alabama certificate of title
    - b. Copy of evidence of identity. (Please use the link below for administrative rule 810-5-8-09 that lists examples of acceptable forms of identity, but note this is not an all-inclusive listing.)
       http://revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/mvrules/810-5-8-.09.pdf.
  - The Department will continue to accept applications with the following documentation for name corrections where name changes are due to marriage, divorce, etc.
    - a. Copy of marriage certificate
    - b. Copy of divorce decree granting name change
    - c. Other legal documentation granting name change(s) for other reasons.
- ➤ This act amends Section 32-8-34 to require every dealer to enter into a bond with a corporate surety authorized to do business in this state as surety thereon, payable to the State of Alabama in a sum as provided in Section 40-12-398, conditioned on the faithful performance of their duties under this chapter.
  - Section 40-12-398, <u>Code of Alabama 1975</u>, states in part: "Before any license shall be issued to a new motor vehicle dealer, used motor vehicle dealer, motor vehicle rebuilder, or motor vehicle wholesaler, the applicant shall deliver to the commissioner a good and sufficient surety bond, executed by the applicant as principal and by a corporate surety company qualified to do business in the state as surety, in the sum of <u>twenty-five</u>

License Plate Issuing Officials August 18, 2015 Page 2

thousand dollars (\$25,000)...The bond shall serve in lieu of the bond provided for in subsection (b) of Section 32-8-34 and, in addition to all other conditions, shall also be conditioned upon their performance of their duties as a designated agent under Chapter 8 of Title 32." [Emphasis added] Therefore, a single bond in the amount of \$25,000, as described above, satisfies the bond requirements for both the dealer license and designated agent.