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M E M O R A N D U M         2016-011 

 

 

TO:  License Plate Issuing Officials 

 

FROM: Sherry Helms, Registration Unit 

Motor Vehicle Division 

 

SUBJECT: 2016 Legislation 

 

 

During the 2016 legislative session, Act 2016-408 was signed into law by Governor Bentley.  

This memorandum outlines the provisions of the Act that become effective August 1, 2016. 

 

 Distinctive License Plate Issuance Fee - Section 32-6-64.1 is amended to remove the 

additional fee of $5 due in the year the license plate is issued for all military category, 

all veteran category, the Alabama Gold Star Family (32-6-630), and replacement (40-

12-265) license plates. 

 Amends Section 32-6-68  

o To specify the $50 distribution applies to all distinctive plate categories with 

the exception that the $5 distribution to the Department of Senior Services 

“John L. Buskey Senior Meals Program”, detailed in subsection (4), is not to 

be withheld from the following license plate categories:  Children’s Trust Fund 

(32-6-450), Ducks Unlimited (32-6-460), Support the Arts (32-6-470), 

Alabama Cattlemen’s Fund (32-6-500), Alabama Association of Realtors (32-

6-520), Alabama Wildlife Federation (32-6-560), Gold Bless America 

Personalized (32-6-611), and State Law Enforcement Memorial (32-6-680).  

o To provide that when the law does not specify the distribution of the net 

proceeds of the additional fee for a plate category, the net proceeds will be 

distributed to the State General Fund after distribution in accordance with 

(b)(1)-(3).   

o To specify that the distribution outlined in the section does not apply to the 

standard personalized license plate category (32-6-150). 

 Moves Section 32-6-150.1 to 32-6-69 and updates section 

o (b)(1) To specify that the $50 additional fee for distinctive plates is to be 

distributed in accordance with Section 32-6-68 except for: 

 Public two-year and four-year colleges and universities 

 Private four-year colleges and universities 

 Athens State University 
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 Environmental distinctive plate (32-6-150) 

 Plate categories listed below that are not subject to the additional $50 

fee 

o (b)(2)Details the distinctive plates categories where the additional $50 

personalization fee does not apply 

 Bicentennial (32-6-155.3) – no additional fee unless personalized  

 God Bless America (32-6-610) – no additional fee unless personalized  

 Helping Schools (32-6-300) - $20 

 Educator and Retired Educator (32-6-302) - $50/$25 

 Gold Star Family (32-6-630) – no additional fee unless personalized 

 Plates exempt from personalization as detailed in subsection (a) 

 Specifies the section does not apply to the $5 fee due in accordance 

with Section 32-6-64.1 when a metal plate is issued.  This means 

registrants obtaining these plates will still pay the $5 additional fee in 

the year the metal plate is issued. 

o Amends Section 32-6-630 to require that the Alabama Gold Star Family 

license plate is to be designed by the Department of Veteran Affairs in 

consultation with the Alabama Gold Star Family Organization. 

o Creates new Silver Star distinctive license plate 

 Issued to a recipient of the Silver Star as evidenced on form DD214.   

 The first plate is a permanent license plate with validation decals.   

 Regular registration fee applies to all plates in this category. 

 An annual additional fee of $25 and ad valorem tax must be paid for all 

plates.  

 Additional plates can be purchased by paying fees as outlined above.   

 Net proceeds distributed to the Alabama Veterans’ Assistance Fund. 

 

A registration fee schedule entitled Registration Fee Schedule Effective 8/1/16 will be 

available from the MVD webpage under the License Plate Information header to include the 

changes reflected above.     

 

The tag number scheme for the Silver Star plate will be available soon on the Motor Vehicle 

Division website at http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/index.html under ‘Reference’ 

then ‘Registration File Information’. 

 

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact the Motor Vehicle Division at 

tags@revenue.alabama.gov or (334) 242-9006. 
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