## **Alabama Department of Revenue**

News Release Dec. 7, 2004

## New Weight Class for Truck Tags Effective Jan. 1, 2005

*Montgomery*—Starting Jan. 1, 2005, some truck owners may see a decrease in their annual registration fees, according to the Alabama Department of Revenue.

Act 2004-520, passed during the 2004 Regular Session, establishes a new midrange vehicle weight category that will qualify some truck owners for a less expensive tag—the new P1 tag, at a cost of \$35 annually, beginning Jan. 1, 2005.

In Alabama, vehicles are classified and annual registration fees are based upon a vehicle's gross weight. Under current law, owners of trucks with gross vehicle weights of 8,000 lbs. or less pay an annual registration fee of \$23 and are issued a standard passenger car/truck license plate. Vehicles exceeding 8,000 lbs., but falling under 12,001 lbs. require an XA or XM tag; the XA or XM tag carries a \$105 annual registration fee.

Act 2004-520 restructures the XA and XM tag categories and creates a new midrange vehicle weight category, setting the gross vehicle weight ranges for the new class between 8,001 lbs. and 10,000 lbs. Owners whose vehicles qualify for the new weight class or weight bracket will be issued a P1 tag and will pay a \$35 annual registration fee in place of the current \$105 annual fee.

The new law also authorizes the issuance of distinctive and personalized license plates to vehicles falling within the new weight classification (8,001-10,000 lbs.), with the exception of distinctive military license plates and Alabama license plates displaying the International Symbol of Access. Generally, Alabama distinctive and personalized license plates carry a \$50 annual registration fee in addition to any standard registration fee.

Effective Jan. 1, 2005, the XA and XM tags' weight range will change to include only gross vehicle weights between 10,001 lbs. and 12,000 lbs. The annual registration fee for the XA and XM tag will remain at \$105.

For more information concerning Alabama's new motor vehicle weight class for truck tags, contact ADOR's Motor Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000 or visit ADOR's Web site at <a href="https://www.ador.state.al.us">www.ador.state.al.us</a>.

## **Contact for more information:**

ADOR Media Affairs Office: Carla A. Snellgrove or Carolyn Blackstock: (334) 242-

1390; FAX: (334) 242-0550

www.ador.state.al.us.