
 

 

 

 
October 9, 2012 

 

NOTICE 
 

 
TO:  Municipal License Officers  
  Alabama League of Municipalities  
 
RE:  Five Year Adjustment to Municipal Business License Issuance Fees 
 
     
Act 2006‐586 was passed in the 2006 Regular Session of the Alabama Legislature and signed into law 
on April 26, 2006.  This Act was codified in Title 11, Section 51, Article 2 and reads in part: 
 

The issuance fee shall be increased every five license years by the Department of 
Revenue by an amount equal to the percentage increase, if any, in the U.S. 
Department of Labor's Producer Price Index during that five‐year period, rounded to 
the nearest dollar, with the base year being 2006. The Department of Revenue shall 
notify all municipalities and the Alabama League of Municipalities of any such fee 
increase no later than the November 30 preceding the license year for which the 
increase shall take effect. (Emphasis added.) 

 
Per Departmental Rule 810‐8‐5‐.15, an analysis of the Producer Price Indexes was performed for 
calendar years 2006 and 2011.  As a result, the initial municipal business license issuance fee is to 
be adjusted from $10.00 to $12.00 beginning January 1, 2013. 
 
Questions regarding this matter may be directed to: 
 
 

Severance & License Tax Section 
Business & License Tax Division 

P. O. Box 327550 
Montgomery, AL  36132‐7550 

(334) 353‐7827 


