

## State of Alabama Department of Revenue

(www.revenue.alabama.gov) 50 North Ripley Street Montgomery, Alabama 36132 CYNTHIA UNDERWOOD Assistant Commissioner

MICHAEL E. MASON Deputy Commissioner

LEWIS A. EASTERLY Secretary

June 8, 2010

## NOTICE

## To All License Inspectors, County Probate Judges, County License Commissioners, and Other Licensing Officials

On April 30, 2010, Governor Bob Riley signed into law Act 2010-732 which will become effective July 1, 2010.

- This Act requires that all dealers purchasing precious items for the purpose of reselling such items purchase an annual state and county business license with a copy being forwarded to the local law enforcement agency within 5 days.
- Precious items include items made in whole or in part of gold, silver, or platinum, and precious or semiprecious stones or pearls.
- The amount of the license is \$100.00 for the state license and \$50.00 for the county license.
  Licenses are to be purchased from the county where the permanent place of business is located.
- Pursuant to the Act, a dealer is defined as, "any person, corporation, or partnership that engages in the business of purchasing precious items for the purpose of reselling such items in any form." A dealer does not include a manufacturer, retail merchant, pawnbroker licensed by the Alabama State Banking Department or person in the wholesale business.
- Dealers may only operate from a permanent place of business listed on the business license and a copy of the law must be displayed at the business location.
- Records concerning the sale of precious items must be maintained for a period of six months and must be available for inspection by local law enforcement.
- Each dealer, at least once each week in which a purchase is made, must forward a list of the items purchased to the local law enforcement to include the following items:
  - o Brand name and serial number of the item(s) purchased
  - o Accurate description of item
  - Date and time item was received
  - Amount paid for each item
  - Name, address, date of birth, and signature of person from whom the dealer purchased the item
  - o Description of person, including height, weight, race, complexion and hair color
  - Valid identification card (drivers license, non-drivers license, Armed Services, or other valid photo identification) to include a traceable serial number
  - List describing the items purchased
- Items purchased shall be held in the same shape and form as received for 15 business days after delivering the list to the local law enforcement agency.
- Persons who violate the provisions of this Act are guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.

If you have questions regarding the Act, please contact us at the below address or telephone number.

Alabama Department of Revenue Sales, Use & Business Tax Division Severance & License Section P. O. Box 327550 Montgomery, AL 36132-7550 334-353-7827 "An Affirmative Action / Equal Opportunity Employer"