

## State of Alabama Department of Revenue

(www.revenue.alabama.gov) 50 North Ripley Street Montgomery, Alabama 36132

December 13, 2019

## CURTIS E. STEWART Deputy Commissioner

MICHAEL D. GAMBLE Deputy Commissioner

DONALD J. GRAHAM Deputy Contrainsioner

DERRICK COLEMAN Deputy Commissioner

## <u>MEMORANDUM</u>

2019-008

- **TO:** License Plate Issuing Officials
- **FROM:** David Baxley, Registration Manager Motor Vehicle Division

**SUBJECT:** Mandatory Liability Insurance Legislative Updates

The following changes resulting from Legislative Act 2019-446, are effective January 1, 2020:

- Elimination of the four (4) month suspension period on 2<sup>nd</sup> or subsequent MLI violations
- Reduce lookback period for  $2^{nd}$  and subsequent violations (S2) to three (3) years
- Reinstatement fees can only be collected by the licensing official
- Increase licensing official's retained fees from 10% to 15%
- Distribute reinstatement fees to Comptroller on 20<sup>th</sup> of each month
- FY end amount carried over in Special Licensing Officials' Fund increased from \$10K to \$25K
- MLI Verification Notice (letter format) replaces the postcard insurance questionnaire
- Tag must be surrendered to licensing office within 30 days of MLI Verification Notice to claim stored/inoperable exemption accompanied by Registration Revocation Request Form (MV 32-7A-5)
- Registrant may voluntarily surrender tag at any time prior to a lapse in insurance coverage
- Exempt (stored/inoperable) responses can only be claimed once per registration year/vehicle
- Exempt responses are not acceptable if vehicle was involved in a crash or registrant received a citation on or after the insurance verification date
- Registration record should be updated to "revoked" and uploaded to state registration system
- An extension of time to claim the stored/inoperable exemption may be requested for "good cause" using MLI affidavit (form MV 32-7A-11) and only with acceptable documentation
- Notice of Suspension advises registrant that vehicle registration is suspended as of date of notice
- Contact the department regarding disposal of unused and surrendered license plates
- An updated MLI Manual will be available on MVTRIP and from within the MLI system soon

An updated version of the PowerPoint presentation from the meeting on December 11<sup>th</sup> is now available on the Motor Vehicle Division's website at: <u>https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/Legistlative-Changes-12-11-19.pdf</u>

If you have any questions regarding these changes, please contact the Motor Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000, Option 5.