
810-5-1-.245  Non-Residents Operating Non-Commercial Vehicles into Alabama and 
Non-Residents Relocating to Alabama.   
 
 (1) The provisions of this rule are applicable to non-commercial vehicles 
owned and operated by non-residents of Alabama when operated into Alabama. Non- 
commercial vehicles shall include privately owned and operated passenger 
automobiles, pickup trucks (not being used in a commercial endeavor), trailers, 
including travel, utility, and motor homes used strictly for recreational purposes. 
 
 (2) Section 40-12-262 (a), Code of Alabama 1975, is interpreted as 
authorizing someone relocating to Alabama to operate their vehicle(s) in Alabama for 30 
consecutive calendar days displaying a current and valid license plate and registration 
to their vehicle(s) from their previous home residence. 
 
 (3) The vehicle owner(s) relocating to Alabama may operate their vehicle(s) in 
interstate and intrastate movements during the 30 day period, said period beginning on 
the day that the vehicle enters Alabama to be based in Alabama. 
 
 (4) The vehicle owner(s) may register the vehicle anytime during the 30 day 
period; provided, that on the 31st day, liability for Alabama motor vehicle registration 
fees attach, and, if not paid by the 31st day, motor vehicle registration penalties attach 
and must be paid when registering the vehicle(s). Provided, if the 31st day falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, state holiday, or other day that the license plate issuing official’s 
office is closed, the penalty will not attach if registration fees are paid on the next 
business day. 
 
 (5) If the non-resident enters the State of Alabama without vehicle registration 
issued to the vehicle owner from the vehicle owner’s previous home jurisdiction, or if the 
out-of-state motor vehicle registration has expired, the provisions of Section 40- 12-262 
(a) allowing a 30 day period to register the vehicle are not applicable, and the liability for 
Alabama registration fees attaches on the day the vehicle(s) enters the state, and if not 
paid on that date, delinquency penalties attach on the following day. Also, provisions 
requiring display of license plates are applicable on the day the vehicle enters the state,  
and law enforcement may cite the vehicle operator for operating the vehicle without 
registration when the vehicle enters the state. Furthermore, if the non-resident’s out-of-
state vehicle registration expires after entering Alabama, but before the 30 day period 
ends, penalty and law enforcement sanctions become applicable on the day after the 
out-of-state registration expires. 
 
 (6) If a non-resident enters the State of Alabama without a license plate 
issued to the vehicle owner, but has been issued a temporary registration (which is 
properly displayed), the vehicle owner may legally operate the vehicle in Alabama as 
long as the temporary registration remains valid. 
 
 (7) In the event that a non-resident enters Alabama with a vehicle based in 
another jurisdiction, and that jurisdiction exempts from its registration requirements the 



type vehicle being operated into Alabama, it shall be the responsibility of the non-
resident owner to prove to the satisfaction of law enforcement that the previous 
jurisdiction exempted such vehicles from registration. Provided, the vehicle must be 
registered in Alabama within the time frame specified in this rule. 
 
 (8) In the event the Alabama Department of Revenue enters into a motor 
vehicle registration reciprocity agreement with another jurisdiction(s) pursuant to 
Section 40-12-262, and the provisions of the reciprocity agreement conflict with the 
provisions of this rule, the provisions of the agreement shall prevail. 
 
 (9) In the event a vehicle owner in the U.S. military, or his/her spouse is 
assigned by virtue of military orders to an Alabama location, and when entering 
Alabama is displaying a current and valid out-of-state plate issued in the jurisdiction 
where the serviceman, or his/her spouse was previously based, said vehicle owner may 
operate the vehicle displaying the out-of-state registration for the 30 day period 
authorized by Section 40-12-262. Note that this provision is applicable in situations 
where the serviceman, or his/her spouse is operating with a license plate issued in the 
jurisdiction where he or she was previously based by virtue of military orders — if 
registered in the serviceman’s home of record jurisdiction, Alabama will honor the 
registration, in accordance with the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, as long as the 
registration is current and valid. Furthermore, Alabama will honor a current and valid 
license plate issued by the U.S. military to servicemen’s vehicles when stationed 
outside the United States during this 30 day period. 
 
 (10) In accordance with policy positions of the American Association of Motor 
Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA), Alabama will honor current and valid out-of-state 
license plates on vehicles being operated by non-resident students attending colleges 
and universities within Alabama. This includes students involved in intern programs. 
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