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Instructions For Form B&L: MFT-EXPR
Motor Fuel Exporter Monthly Fuel Tax Return

General Information

The Exporter Monthly Return must be filed by those li-
censees exporting motor fuels from Alabama to another
state. This return is due on or before the 20th day of the
month following the period covered. A failure to timely file
penalty will be charged if the return is late which is 10% of
the total tax due or $50, whichever is greater. If the due
date for the return or payment falls on a weekend or state
holiday, then the return or payment is due on the next busi-
ness day.

A licensed exporter shall remit destination state tax due on
motor fuels removed at a terminal rack to the supplier of the
motor fuel unless the destination state’s law prohibits the
collection of the destination state tax. If the destination state
tax cannot be charged then the Alabama fuel excise tax will
be charged to the exporter.

If a refund is due, then the return will serve as a petition for
refund. If a tax liability is due, then the payment is due on
or before the 20th day of the month following the period cov-
ered. A failure to timely pay penalty will be charged if the
payment is late which is 10% of the tax due. The tax liability
must be paid and cannot be netted against the refund. The
refund will not be processed until the licensed exporter sub-
mits to the department the documentation proving to the de-
partment that the other state(s) taxes were paid.

Instructions

Report the motor fuels in the appropriate columns based on
product type. Please enter whole gallon amounts.

Section 1 — Refund Calculation

Line 1 — In the appropriate column, report the net gallons
exported with Alabama tax paid which is from Schedule 7B.

Line 2 — In the appropriate column, report the net gallons of
diversions from Alabama to another state which is from
Schedule 11A.

Line 3 - Add line 1 and line 2 to calculate net gallons to be
refunded.

Line 4 — Tax rates by fuel type.

Line 5 — Multiply line 3 by line 4 to calculate the amount to
be refunded.

Section 2 — Tax Due Calculation

Line 6 — In the appropriate column, report the net gallons
diverted into Alabama which is from Schedule 11B.

Line 7 — Tax rates by fuel type.
Line 8 — Multiply line 6 by line 7 to calculate total tax due.

Line 9 — If the return is not filed on or before the 20th of the
month following the period covered, then calculate the late
file penalty at the rate of 10% of the tax due (Line 8) or $50,
whichever is greater. If the total tax due for all taxes is over
$500, then use the 10% penalty rate for the tax due in each
column. If the total tax due is under $500, then add the $50
penalty in Column A only.

Line 10 — If the payment is not submitted on or before the
20th of the month following the period covered, then calcu-
late the late payment penalty at the rate of 10% of the tax
due for each column.

Line 11 — Enter the applicable interest based on the tax due.

Line 12 - Add lines 8, 9, 10, and 11 to calculate the tax due
for each column.

Line 13 — Add the totals for each column from line 12 to cal-
culate the total tax due for all the tax types. Pay this
amount. Payments over $750 must be paid electronically.



