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Housekeeping Reminders

Everyone’s lines were muted when entering the meeting.  This is to prevent 
background noises from interrupting the presentations. Only the host is able to 
unmute someone. 

Click on the Layout button to set your preferred viewing option.

If you would like to ask a question about the presentation, please use the Q&A box 
to send a question to all panelists (not to a particular presenter). We will respond 
to your question during the Q&A Session near the end of the presentation.  

At the conclusion of the webinar, a short evaluation survey will open on your 
screen.  Your feedback is important to us, so thank you in advance for responding 
to the survey. 

Q&A
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Disclaimer

The information in this presentation is intended to be an 
overview.  It is not a comprehensive explanation of all aspects of 
the subject matter, does not represent legal advice, and is not 
legally binding on the department.  Information regarding taxes 
and tax administration changes frequently and should always be 
confirmed through a tax professional.  

Please refer to the Alabama Department of Revenue website at 
revenue.alabama.gov for additional information.

Purpose of this Webinar

To inform Alabama taxpayers of the requirements and guidelines 
for filing Business Privilege Tax (BPT) in Alabama. This 
presentation will cover:

• Defining Business Privilege Tax

• Business Privilege Tax – Useful Facts and Tips

• Business Privilege Tax Filing Information by Entity Type

• Penalties and Interest Due for Not Filing Properly
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Defining Business 
Privilege Tax

What is Business Privilege Tax?

A tax levied for the privilege of being organized under the laws of 
Alabama or doing business in Alabama.
Every: 

• Corporation
• Limited Liability Entity (LLE)
• Disregarded Entity 
• Business Trust  
• Real Estate Investment Trust

doing business in Alabama, or is qualified, or registered under 
the laws of Alabama.
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Who is Not Required to File Business 
Privilege Tax?

• Sole Proprietors

• General Partnerships

• Companies that have not qualified to do business in Alabama 
with only an investment interest in companies doing business 
in Alabama

• Qualified Nonprofit Organizations

Business Privilege Tax -
Useful Facts and Tips
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Business Privilege Tax -
Useful Facts and Tips

• Business Privilege Tax (BPT) is filed annually, plus the initial return (BPT-
IN) which is due 2½ months after being organized, incorporated, qualified, 
or registered with the Alabama Secretary of State. 

• The tax is based on the net worth of the company, not the income.

• The minimum tax due is $100. (Plus, a $10 Secretary of State fee for 
corporations.)

• BPT can be filed through My Alabama Taxes 
(myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/) or e-filed through an approved software 
vendor.

Business Privilege Tax -
Useful Facts and Tips

• Copies of the federal tax return must be attached for 
partnerships and corporations or use the department’s form 
BPT-NW (Balance Sheet - Net Worth Computation for Form 
CPT and PPT).

• A copy of the balance sheet used to compute the taxpayer’s net 
worth must be attached for single member LLCs. If not provided 
with the copy of the federal tax return, use the department’s 
form BPT-NWI (Balance Sheet - Net Worth Computation for 
Disregarded Entities with Individual Single Member Only).
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Business Privilege Tax -
Useful Facts and Tips 

• When filing, use the form with the year that you are filing in. For 
example, if filing a return in April 2022 use the 2022 BPT form even 
though you are using information from the previous year end.

• BPT does not have a “final” return. Taxpayers must 
dissolve/withdraw the business with the Secretary of State for the 
account to be “closed.”

• If the taxpayer never “uses” or “opens” the business, the BPT is still 
owed until the taxpayer dissolves or withdraws the business.

Business Privilege Tax
Filing Information by 
Entity Type
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Who Must File by Entity Alabama Document(s) to File When to File

All entities listed below Form BPT-IN Within 2 ½ months after being 
organized, incorporated, 
qualified or registered

• C Corporation 
• LLE taxed as a C 

Corporation

Form CPT, copy of federal income 
tax return, & Worksheet BPT-NW

C Corporations must also file 
Schedule AL-CAR

No later than the 
corresponding federal income 
tax return as required to be 
filed, as provided under 
federal law. 

• S Corporation
• LLE taxed as a Sole 

Proprietor, Partnership, or      
S Corporation

Form PPT, copy of federal income 
tax return, & Worksheet BPT-NW 
or Worksheet BPT-NWI

S Corporations must also file 
Schedule AL-CAR

No later than the 
corresponding federal income 
tax return as required to be 
filed, as provided under 
federal law. 
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Schedule AL-CAR

• This form must be completed by C corporations and S corporations.

• Limited Liability Entities taxed as corporations are not subject to the 
Secretary of State fee and are not required to complete Schedule AL-
CAR.

• This form is a required attachment to Form CPT and PPT.

• Taxpayers filing an initial return are not required to complete Schedule 
AL-CAR or pay the $10 Secretary of State fee.
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Penalties and 
Interest Due for 
Not Filing Properly

Penalties

• Failure to Timely File Penalty

10% of tax due or $50; whichever is greater

• Failure to Timely Pay Penalty

 1% of tax due per month; maximum 25% (e.g., income tax returns)

 Flat rate of 10% of tax due for monthly and quarterly returns (e.g., 
sales, lodgings, or rental tax returns)

• Negligence Penalty (intentional disregard for rules and/or regulations)

5% of tax due

• Fraud Penalty (to purposely deceive)

50% of tax due
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Interest Due

• If the tax is not timely paid, interest is also due and by law 
cannot be waived.

• The rate of interest changes because it is the same rate as 
established by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury under the 
authority of 26 U.S. Code § 6621.

• Current interest rates can be viewed at: 
https://revenue.alabama.gov/assessments/quarterly-interest-

rates/

Helpful Links on 
ALDOR’s Website
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revenue.alabama.gov

Under “Services”, click on “Income Tax”
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Under “Taxes Administered”, click on “Business Privilege Tax”

From the homepage (revenue.alabama.gov), click on “Forms”
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www.revenue.alabama.gov/forms
*To find a particular form, add as much 

information as possible in the filters

Alabama Department of Revenue 
Contact Numbers

• 334-242-1170 Option #1 – Individual Income Tax

• 334-242-1170 Option #7 – Withholding Tax 

• 334-242-1170 Option #6 – Corporate Tax

• 334-242-1170 Option #8 –  Business Privilege Tax

• 334-242-1170 Option #6 – Pass-Through Entity

• 334-242-1189 – Certificate of Compliance

• 334-242-1584 – Business Registration

• 334-242-1490 – Sales and Use Tax
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Alabama Department of Revenue 
Taxpayer Service Centers

The Alabama Department of Revenue has nine Taxpayer Service 
Centers located throughout the state to assist you. Contact 
information for the service centers can be found at: 

https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/help-center/

Thank you for being
ALDOR’s B.E.S.T.!

B.E.S.T. Webinar presentations can be found at 
https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/b-e-s-t

/webinar-series-schedule/

Also available are B.E.S.T. Learning Modules at 
https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/b-e-s-t

/watch-learning-modules-online/
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Questions?

Please use the Q&A feature in Webex to ask 
the presenter questions or 

email Carol.Murphy@revenue.alabama.gov after the webinar.
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