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Special Points of  Interest 

• 2020 Census — Population 
Information   

• Deadline to renew state/
county business privilege li-
censes is November 1, 2021. 

• Business & License Tax Division 
contact information is listed on 
page 4.   

• Privilege License Paper for FY 
2021-2022 is Purple—Pantone 
Basic. 

 

 

 

 2021-2022 LICENSE RENEWAL MONTH 

 
Since October 31, 2021 falls on the weekend this year, 
the deadline to renew state/county business privilege 
licenses is extended to No-
vember 1, 2021. Consequent-
ly, delinquent penalties may 
not be imposed until Novem-
ber 2nd.  All renewals post-
marked by November 1st are 
considered timely regardless 
of the date of receipt.  

Fall 2021  

2020 CENSUS INFORMATION  

When the 2020 State of Alabama Census in-

formation becomes available, we will post 

this information for the counties and munic-

ipalities on our webpage at https://

revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/

business-licensing/state-of-alabama-2020-

census/.  The 2020 census data will apply 

effective October 1, 2021. If the 2020 data is 

not available as of  October 1, 2021, you should continue to use 

the 2010 information until the 2020 information is available.  



 

Reminders 

Before issuing a license, 
please check your records 
to prevent the issuance of 
duplicate licenses. 
 
Please be sure to check 
monthly reports submitted 
and remove all duplicates 
for licenses issued.  Verify 
that the  license section and 
amount collected for each 
license are correct on the 
monthly report. The report 
should not have any license 
sections referenced for 
code sections less than  
Section 40-12-41 or greater 
than Section 40-12-179, 
with the exception of the 
Section 310/315 store   
license. 

All business privilege license reports are required to be uploaded 
by the 20th of the month except for October, November and De-
cember reports, which are required to be uploaded by the 30th of 
the month.  
 
Store/chain store reports must be balanced. The number of li-
censes sold should correspond with the monies remitted. All pag-
es must be included, or our office will be unable to process your 
report(s).  
 
Do not include extra zeros or a dash, ‘-’, at the end of the zip code 
field when submitting your license information. The zeros and 
dash cause the information to shift into another field when the 
data is uploaded. Please contact your vendor for assistance in 
correcting this issue. 

CITATIONS 

All unpaid business license cita-

tions along with the transmittal 

and any supporting documenta-

tion should be forwarded to the Severance & License Section 

after 30 days for assessment.  The state citation fee is $1.50 

per citation. 

BUSINESS LICENSE REPORTS DUE DATES 
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DATA EXCHANGE PORTAL (DEP) - UPDATE 

 
Last year, the Department of Revenue offered the local county governments and their vendors the 
capability of securely submitting the monthly business license reports to the Alabama Department of 
Revenue (ALDOR) Data Exchange Portal (DEP) using an SFTP connection along with an SSH Private/
Public key pair.  In the last year, we had 34 localities convert to the DEP method.   
 
This filing method  opened the way for automation through a custom script or program written by 
local county governments or their vendors.  The DEP  is configured to allow SFTP connections pro-
grammatically which allows the locality to submit their business license reports without having to 
manually login to the DEP web application or reset your password every 60 days.   
 
The county/vendor is  responsible for generating and maintaining a SSH Private/Public key pair.  To 
use this mechanism, please contact ALDOR at 334-353-7827, Option 5, or via our general email ac-
count at license.account@revenue.alabama.gov to obtain the registration form that must be complet-
ed by the county probate office.  Note:  For any changes to the private/public key or if the county 
changes vendors, you must notify ALDOR by submitting an updated registration form. The county/
vendor is responsible for updating any expired SSH certificates. 

mailto:license.account@revenue.alabama.gov


 

Other Licenses Not To 
Be Sold/Issued by the 

County 

Section 40-12-49 attorney 
license is collected by the 
State Bar Association (1-
800-354-6154). 
 
 
Section 40-12-52 automo-
bile salesman license was 
ruled unconstitutional and 
is no longer issued. 

REPEALED LICENSES 

CBD Oil  -  A Section 315 license is required if the product is being sold at the loca-

tion. 

 

AIR BNBS  -  A Section 115 license is required if there are five or more bedrooms. 

 

MANICURIST  -  A Section 61 license is required if the manicurist is employed by the 

salon. A  Section 124 is required if they are self-employed. 

 

REVERSE VENDING MACHINES  -  A Section 116 license is required. 

 

 VAPE SHOP  -  A Section 315 license is required. Contact the ALDOR Tobacco Tax 

Section at (334-242-9627) and the ABC Board (334-271-3840) for additional requirements. 

 

INTERNET SALES  -  A Section 315 license is required plus any additional sections, as appropriate. 

 

INTERSTATE TRUCKING COMPANIES  - A Section 171 license is not required; however, will need to contact Motor 

Carrier Services (Motor Vehicle Division) and ALDOT to obtain IFTA and IRP permits to operate within Alabama.  

 

POOL HALL OWNERS  -  A Section 146 license is required. The owner must obtain the bond application from the 

Judge of Probate in the penal sum of $1,000 in the county where the business is located. 

 

LICENSE TRANSFER FEES  -  Per Section 40-12-15, when a business is sold to a new owner, the license may be 

transferred for a fee of $1.  The $1 fee applies to each license code section shown on the license. For example, if a 

store is sold and the previous owner purchased Sections 315, 44, 69, 72, then the transfer fee would be $4.  

 

RENTAL TAX  -  Rental tax is a privilege tax levied on the lessor for the leasing or renting of tangible personal prop-

erty such as equipment and cars.  Please advise the taxpayer to contact the Alabama Department of Revenue, Sales & 

Use Tax Division at (334)242-1490 for questions relating to rental tax.  

 

RESALE/WHOLESALE CERTIFICATE  - The taxpayer will need to contact the Alabama Department of Revenue 

Sales  & Use Tax Division for issuance of a  resale/wholesale certificate. 

Per Act 2015-70, the following 

code sections were repealed and 

should no longer be sold.  How-

ever, some counties have contin-

ued to issue these licenses, re-

sulting in refunds due to the tax-

payers. 

FREQUENT LICENSING REQUIREMENT QUESTIONS   

40-12-76 Coal and coke dealers maintaining yard 

40-12-77 Coal and coke dealers not maintaining 
yard 
40-12-85 Cotton buyers 

40-12-86 Cotton compresses 

40-12-95 Devices for testing skill/strength 

40-12-109 Hat cleaning establishments 

40-12-119 Legerdemain and sleight of hand 

40-12-120 Lightning rods 

40-12-132 Moving picture shows; Transient 

40-12-142 Pig iron storage operators 

40-12-164 Supply cars 

40-12-170 Trading stamps 

40-12-173 Theatrical and vaudeville shows 

40-12-175 Turpentine and resin 
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2021-22 LICENSE YEAR PAPER  
 

The color of the privilege license paper for 2021-2022 is Purple-Pantone Basic.  If your county is currently 
printing its licenses on paper that you purchased rather than the paper supplied by the State Comptroller’s 
office, please use this color for the new license year.  If you decide not to use this paper, please notify the 
Comptroller’s Office at 334-242-7070. The following names should be displayed on all business privilege 
licenses:  KATHLEEN D. BAXTER as State Comptroller and VERNON BARNETT as Commissioner of Revenue. 

 

Please refer to the Privilege License Handbook for clarification on licenses prior to contacting the Severance & 
License Section regarding what type licenses should be sold to a taxpayer (staff members have the same infor-
mation that is available in the book). For your convenience, the Privilege License Handbook along with the quick 
reference guide are available on ALDOR’s website for your use at https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/
business-licensing/. If a link to the handbook is shown on your county’s webpage, please update the link to 
reflect the correct version. 

 
Atlas Alabama is a resource for entrepreneurs and small business owners in Alabama. For your convenience, the 
following link is on ALDOR’s website: https://atlasalabama.gov/. 

 

Please make sure the contact number and address shown on ALDOR’s website at https://revenue.alabama.gov/
business-license/business-licensing/county-probate-office-directory/ are correct for your county. If any changes 
are required, contact our office at 334-353-7827 or email us at license.account@revenue.alabama.gov. 

 

Business Essentials for State Taxpayers (B.E.S.T.) webinars provide a brief but comprehensive overview of 
Alabama’s business taxes, tax obligations, the forms required, as well as information on electronic filing and other 
requirements.  For more information visit the website at https://revenue.alabama.gov/taxpayer-advocacy/b-e-s-
t-seminars/. 
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RESOURCES 
 

FREQUENTLY CALLED NUMBERS 

 

CONTACT US 

 

Please make sure that you are using 
our correct mailing address when 
sending information to our office: 
 

Business & License Tax Division 
Severance & License Section 

Attn: Kimberly Simmons 
P. O. Box 327550 

Montgomery, AL 36132-7550 
 

334-353-7827, OPTION 5 

334-353-1809 (FAX #) 

  AGENCY TELEPHONE # 

Alabama Income Tax  
Refunds 

ALDOR/Income 
Tax Division 

855-894-7391 

Business Privilege Tax ALDOR/Income 
Tax Division 

334-353-7923 

Car dealers, tent sales, 
trucking companies 

ALDOR/Motor 
Vehicle Division 

334-353-0477 

Cosmetology Cosmetology & 
Barbering Board 

334-242-1918 

Contractors General Contrac-
tor's Board 

334-272-5030 

Driver's licenses Alabama Law 
Enforcement 

Agency 

334-242-4400 

Home builders Home Builder's 
Board 

334-242-2230 

FEINs/taxpayer  
identification 

Internal Revenue 
Service 

800-829-1040 

Pardons / paroles Pardons & Parole 
Board 

334-242-8700 

Registering LLC or Corp Alabama Secre-
tary of State 

334-242-7200 

Sales Tax Questions ALDOR/Sales & 
Use Tax Division 

334-242-1490 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/
https://atlasalabama.gov/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/county-probate-office-directory/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/county-probate-office-directory/
mailto:License.account@revenue.alabama.gov
https://revenue.alabama.gov/taxpayer-advocacy/b-e-s-t-seminars/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/taxpayer-advocacy/b-e-s-t-seminars/

