810-5-1-.245 Operation of Private Passenger Vehicles by Non-Residents

- (1) The provisions of this rule are applicable to operation of private passenger vehicles in Alabama when owned and operated by non-residents. Private passenger vehicles shall include privately owned and operated passenger automobiles, motorcycles, pickup trucks, trailers, including travel, utility, and motor homes used strictly for recreational purposes.
- (2) <u>Grace Period for Non-Residents.</u> Pursuant to §40-12-262(a), <u>Code of Ala. 1975</u>, a non-resident may operate their vehicle(s) in Alabama for 30 consecutive calendar days with a current and valid license plate and registration from their previous jurisdiction of residence.
- (a) The 30-day grace period begins on the day the vehicle first enters Alabama. The vehicle owner must register the vehicle within the 30-day grace period. Motor vehicle registration penalties and interest are due on the 31st day. Provided however, if the 31st day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, state holiday, or other day that the licensing office is closed, penalty and interest will not be due until the next business day.
- (b) If the non-resident operates a vehicle in Alabama without a current and valid vehicle registration issued by the vehicle owner's previous jurisdiction of residence, Alabama registration fees attach on the day the vehicle(s) enters the state, and if not paid on that date, delinquency penalties attach the following day. Law enforcement may issue a citation for operating the vehicle without current and valid registration when the vehicle enters the state, or when the vehicle registration expires anytime during the 30-day grace period.
- (3) <u>Temporary Registrations.</u> A non-resident owner may operate a vehicle in Alabama without a license plate issued to the vehicle owner with a properly displayed current and valid temporary registration.
- (4) Reciprocity Agreements. Vehicles exempt from registration in the non-resident owner's jurisdiction of residence may be operated in Alabama if permitted under the conditions of a registration reciprocity agreement with Alabama. It shall be the responsibility of the non-resident owner to prove to the satisfaction of law enforcement that the non-resident owner jurisdiction of residence exempted such vehicles from registration. Provided, the vehicle must be properly registered in Alabama within the time frame specified in this rule.

In the event the department enters into a motor vehicle registration reciprocity agreement with a jurisdiction pursuant to §40-12-262, <u>Code of Ala. 1975</u>, and the

provisions of the reciprocity agreement conflict with the provisions of this rule, the provisions of the agreement shall prevail.

- (5) <u>Military Service Members.</u> A U.S. military service member, or their spouse or dependent assigned by virtue of military orders to an Alabama location, may operate a vehicle with a current and valid license plate and registration issued in the jurisdiction of residence in accordance with the Service Members Civil Relief Act, provided compliance with mandatory liability insurance laws.
- (6) <u>Non-Resident Students.</u> In accordance with policy positions of the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA), Alabama will honor current and valid out-of-state license plates and registrations on vehicles operated by non-resident students attending colleges and universities within Alabama, provided compliance with mandatory liability insurance laws. This includes students involved in intern programs.

Author: James Starling

Authority: §§ 40-2A-7(a)(5) and 40-12-262, <u>Code of Ala.1975</u>. Service

Members Civil Relief Act

History: Repealed and New: June 16, 2022; effective August 14, 2022.