Montgomery AL 30130 Alabama
Department
revenue.alabama.gov Of Reven ue

MEMORANDUM
TO: License Plate Issuing Officials
FROM: Troy Thigpen,

Registration Unit Supervisor, Motor Vehicle Division

SUBJECT: Registration Fee Increase: Battery Electric and Plug-In Hybrid Vehicles (MVD Memo
2023-002)

DATE: June 6, 2023

Act 2019-2, known as the Rebuild Alabama Act, levied an additional registration fee of $200 for each battery
electric vehicle and $100 for each plug-in hybrid electric vehicle operated on the public highways of this state.
The additional fees were effective beginning on January 1, 2020, with a $3 increase beginning July 1, 2023, and
every fourth year thereafter.

Therefore, beginning July 1, 2023, the additional registration fee for those vehicles shall be:
e $203 for each battery electric vehicle.
e $103 for each plug-in hybrid electric vehicle.

Contact the Motor Vehicle Division at 334-242-9000 if you have any questions.



