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Alabama Manufactured Home 
Certificate of Title Act 
• Established by Act 746 of the 2009 Regular Session of the 

Legislature. The Alabama Manufactured Home Certificate of 
Title Act mandates the following:

• All manufactured homes with a 2000-year model and newer are 
required to be titled in Alabama.

• A separate certificate of title is required for each side of a manufactured home 
(i.e., A & B)

• Removes manufactured homes from the Alabama Uniform Certificate 
of Title and Anti-theft Act (Title 32 Chapter 8) and establishes a new 
chapter for titling manufactured homes (Title 32 Chapter 20).



Alabama Manufactured Home 
Certificate of Title

• Requires manufactured home dealers be licensed by the Alabama 
Manufactured Housing Commission before they qualify as designated 
agents to process title applications.

• $50,000 surety bond required to become a designated agent

• Permits out of state lending institutions to become designated agents. 
This would allow these institutions to utilize ALVIN to record ownership 
and security interests on certificates of title.

• Adds an additional $5 fee for title transfers and cancellations.
• Funds go to the Alabama Housing Foundation 



Alabama Manufactured Home 
Certificate of Title

• Removes manufactured homes from salvage title law provisions.

• Streamlines cancellation procedures for manufactured homes
permanently affixed to real property.

• MVT 5-39E – Notice of Cancellation (Valid 90 days)
• Signed by Judge of Probate
• Three primary documents:

• MSO
• AL Title
• Surety Bond (MVT 10-1)



Alabama Manufactured Home 
Certificate of Title
• Streamlines procedures for obtaining a certificate of title or 

certificate of cancellation to manufactured homes under surety 
bond when there is an issue regarding ownership rights.

• MVT 10-1 – Surety Bond (Valid 90 days)
• Allows up to 4 VINs

• Two bond amounts
• $50,000 for manufactured homes less than 10 years old
• $25,000 for manufactured homes 10 years and older



Manufactured Home 
Cancellation 
Procedures



MH Cancellation Procedures
• Streamlines cancellation procedures for manufactured homes 

permanently affixed to real property.
• Three primary documents:

• MSO
• AL Title
• Surety Bond (MVT 10-1)



After logging in to your designated account, on the Summary page in the 
“Designated Agent” panel – select “Manage Title Applications”.



Select “Request Manufactured Home Notice of Cancellation”.



Complete the “Notice of Cancellation”. You may add up to 4 sides.



After completing the Notice of Cancellation, you will receive a confirmation 
message.

Selecting “ok” will take you back to the Manage Title Applications screen.



In the Action Center, you will see the Cancellation Application listed under 
“Waiting on Notice”.  Select the “Details” hyperlink associated to the Vehicle Id 
you are working with. 



This will pull up the Title Application for the MH Cancellation. 



Select the “Letters” tab to print the Notice of cancellation for Manufactured 
Home.

Once the Notice of Cancellation for a Manufactured Home is created, 
it is valid for 90 days and must be provided with the Application for 

Certificate of Cancellation. 



To apply for Manufactured Home Cancellation, select the “Apply for Certificate of 
Cancellation” hyperlink on the title application page.



Complete the Application.



After completing the Application for Certificate of Cancellation, you will receive a 
confirmation message.

Selecting “ok” will take you back to the Title Application for the MH Cancellation.



To upload your title application packet, select the “Upload Documents” hyperlink 
on the Title Application page.



Select the “Title Documentation” hyperlink to select a file from your computer to 
upload your title application packet.



Once you have added your title documentation uploads you can then finalize and 
submit your application to the department for processing. 
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