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Mandatory Liability Insurance

Please visit https: //www.revenue.alabama.gov/motor-vehicle /vehicle-licensing-offices/ for your local
licensing official office’s contact information.

INSTRUCTIONS

If the vehicle was insured on the insurance verification date, please visit your local licensing office or
visit www.besuretoinsureal.com to provide proof of insurance for the verification date. If proof of
insurance was provided and could not be confirmed, please have your insurer provide a statement on
company letterhead indicating that the vehicle was insured on the verification date. The statement can be
provided to your local licensing office or uploaded to www.besuretoinsureal.com

If the vehicle was not insured on the insurance verification date, please visit your local licensing
office to pay the required reinstatement fee ($200 for the first violation; $400 for the second and any
subsequent violations) and provide proof of current Alabama insurance.

If the vehicle was not insured on the insurance verification date due to the vehicle being sold,
stored, or otherwise unused (i.e. exempt), the following conditions must be met:

1. Acceptable evidence of the vehicle’s non use must be provided to the licensing official.
2. The exemption has not been claimed previously during the current registration period for
the vehicle.
3. The vehicle was not involved in an accident during the lapse in coverage.
4. The registrant or driver of the vehicle was not issued a citation during the lapse in
coverage.
APPEAL RIGHTS

If you are dissatisfied by the action of the Department of Revenue, Section 40-2A-8(a), Code of Alabama
1975, provides in part, “Any taxpayer aggrieved by any act or proposed act or refusal to act concerning
the denial or revocation of a license, permit, or certificate of title by the department shall be entitled to
file a notice of appeal from such act or proposed act or refusal to act with the Alabama Tax Tribunal. Such
notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date notice of such act or refusal to act is mailed to the
taxpayer.” A notice of appeal form is available from Tax Tribunal website at: www.taxtribunal.alabama.gov
and should be directed to the address on the form.

WARNING

The vehicle may not be operated while the registration is suspended or revoked. The maximum fine is
$500 for the 1st violation and $1000 for each subsequent violation and/or suspension of the person’s
driver’s license.
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