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100 N. Union St

Montgomery, AL 36130 Department
October 1, 2024
MEMORANDUM
TO: Al]l County Assessing Officials
FROM: Lee Ann Rouse, Assistant Direclo%@\
Property Tax Division

SUBJECT: Homestead Exemptions- Verification of Income
2024-2025 Tax Year (Act 2013-295)

§40-9-19(d), Code of Ala. 1975, specifies requirements for claiming homestead exemptions on real
property. This statute states that the $5,000 (not to exceed $5,000 of assessed value) county exemption be
allowed to residents of this state, over 65 years of age, who have adjusted gross income of less than $12,000

as reflected on the most recent State Income Tax Return, orsome other appropriate evidence, orwho are
retired due to permanent and total disability (regardless of age), or who are blind (regardless of age or
whether such person is retired).

There are two 202 4 Alabama Individual Income Tax Forms (Form 40 and Form 40A) and one
Alabama Non Resident Individual Income Tax Form (Form 40NR). The $12,000 limitation should be

verified from the return as follows:
Form 40 - Adjusted Gross Income from Line 10

Form40A - Total income from Line 7
Form 40NR - Adjusted Gross Income from Line 12 (Column C)

c: District Supervisors



