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Act 2025-408 effective October 1, 2025 

•    Provides that any business license tax and business privilege tax levied by a locality may be appealed to  

 the Tax Tribunal. 

• Requires an annual report to provide classifications and schedules for business license tax and notice to 
ALDOR if any changes have occurred during the year or will change during the current year. 

• Requires ALDOR to post each report on its website. 

• Counties that fail to file the report shall escrow subsequent business license taxes and business privilege taxes 

until compliant. 

• All counties and municipalities are required to complete the private entity questionnaire by September 30, 

2025.  

• The private entity questionnaire may be found at Alabama Department of Revenue. 

 

Act 2025-343 effective October 1, 2025 

Extends the time to appeal a final assessment (including business licenses) or license/permit revocation to the Tax 

Tribunal from 30 days to 60 days. 

IS A LICENSE REQUIRED? 
 
CBD OIL SHOPS: Requires a Section 315 store license. 
 

VAPE SHOPS: A Section 315 store license is required. Contact the ABC Board for additional requirements.  
 

MEDICAL CANNABIS: Contact the Alabama Medical Cannabis Commission for information related to  
licenses for a cultivator processor, secure transporter, state testing laboratory, or dispensary,  
 
FARMERS SELLING PRODUCTS: A Section 105 fruit dealer license is required for all persons selling fruit from 
a stand, store, or other permanent location. Section 105 does not provide an exemption for home grown fruits. If 
a fruit dealer is selling home grown fruit with no established place of business, the dealer would not be required 
to obtain the Section 105 nor the Section 174 transient vendor license. Note: See Section 174(f) - transient ven-
dors selling homegrown fruits are exempt from this license. 
 

TRANSIENT VENDORS AND PEDDLERS: Section 174 transient vendor license requirements are determined 
by the mode of transportation and if the vendor will be displaying, selling, or offering to sell the products. Refer to 
the Business Privilege License Handbook for guidance. 
 

INTERSTATE TRUCKING COMPANIES: No state business privilege license is required. However, contact the 
Motor Vehicle Division, Motor Carrier Services, and ALDOT to obtain IFTA and IRP permits.     
  
DAYCARES/GROUP HOMES: No state business privilege license is required. However, contact the Alabama 
Department of Human Resources and Alabama Department of Public Health to inquire about possible licenses 
and permits. 
 

RENTAL TAX: Rental tax is a privilege tax levied on the lessor for the leasing or renting of tangible  
personal property such as equipment and cars. Contact ALDOR, Sales and Use Tax Division, at 334-242-1490 
for questions relating to rental tax. 

Business and License Tax Division, Severance and License Section,  

P.O. Box  327550, Montgomery, AL 36132-7550 

2025 LEGISLATIVE UPDATES 

https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/ultraviewer/viewer/basic_viewer/index.html?form=2025/06/County-Municipality-Notice-Act-2025-408.FINAL_-1.pdf


 

REMINDERS 
 

• Business license reports/checks are required to be mailed to ALDOR by the 20
th
 of the month (by the 30

th
 in 

the months of October, November, and December). 
 

• Verify that all the required pages of the business license reports are printed and are included before mailing. 
This includes the store, chain, and transfer reports, as well as the recapitulation. 

 

• Confirm mailing labels are properly addressed to ALDOR. (See address on front page.) 

 

2025-26 LICENSE YEAR PAPER COLOR  
 
The privilege license paper color for 2025-26 is Green #339. If your county is printing its licenses on paper that 
you purchased rather than the paper supplied by the State Comptroller’s Office, then please use this color for the 
new license year. If you no longer use the Comptroller’s paper, notify their office at 334-242-7830 or send 
an email to Jenny.Neese@comptroller.alabama.gov.  
  
The State Comptroller KATHLEEN D. BAXTER and Commissioner of Revenue VERNON BARNETT names must 
be displayed on all business privilege licenses. Note: If using an electronic signature for the commissioner, 
permission must be granted prior to applying it to the license.   

RESOURCES 
 

Privilege License Handbook – General provisions, list of licenses and fees required per Title 40, Chapter 12, interpretations 

Quick Reference Guide – List of licenses required by type of business, possible licenses, and helpful notes 

Probate Office Directory – List of contact information for each county 

Business Essentials for State Taxpayers (B.E.S.T.) webinars – Helpful information for current and new business owners 

Note:  If a link to the handbook is shown on your county’s webpage, please update the link to reflect the correct version. 

 

Follow ALDOR on social media! 

ALDOR YouTube Channel   Helpful videos concerning various tax matters 

ALDOR Facebook                 Follow ALDOR for updates 

IMPORTANT DATA EXCHANGE PORTAL (DEP) UPDATE 
 

There are 55 counties submitting the monthly business license reports to the ALDOR Data Exchange Portal (DEP) 

using an SFTP connection along with an SSH Private/Public key pair. The goal is to have all counties using this 

system. Therefore, all counties and vendors who have not converted to the DEP method when filing the 

monthly business license reports are encouraged to do so immediately by contacting ALDOR at 

license.account@revenue.alabama.gov or 334-353-7827, Option 5, to obtain the registration form. Some of 

the benefits to registering are: Programmatic SFTP connections, no manual login to the DEP web application, and 

no resetting passwords every 60 days. 

ALDOR TO HOST A COUNTY WEBINAR  
 

Stay tuned… In January 2026, the Severance and License Section will host its first webinar to interact, provide 
helpful information, and allow an opportunity for questions. More details to follow. 
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