Flag_of_Alabama.svg
An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Services

Services

Business and License

Business and License

Collections

Collections

Entity Registration

Entity Registration

Human Resources

Human Resources

Income Tax

Income Tax

Legal

Legal

Motor Vehicle

Motor Vehicle

Property Tax

Property Tax

Sales and Use

Sales and Use

Tax Incentives

Tax Incentives

Tax Policy

Tax Policy

  • Homepage
  • >
  • If I purchase a used car from a dealer or individual owner, am I responsible for the unpaid taxes of the previous owner?

If I purchase a used car from a dealer or individual owner, am I responsible for the unpaid taxes of the previous owner?

Yes. As stated above, Ad valorem tax is a property tax and not a use tax and follows the property from owner to owner. Therefore, unlike registration fees, taxes accumulate even when a vehicle is not used on the highway. When an Alabama resident buys a vehicle with an outstanding ad valorem tax lien, the buyer must: Pay all ad valorem tax that has accrued on the purchased vehicle since it was last registered and any applicable interest and penalties on taxes that are delinquent, except for the ad valorem taxes that would have been due in arrears for the 1999 tax year. Also, transfer the buyer’s current plate to the vehicle or purchase a new plate for the vehicle within 20 days of acquisition to avoid a late penalty.

Yes. As stated above, Ad valorem tax is a property tax and not a use tax and follows the property from owner to owner. Therefore, unlike registration fees, taxes accumulate even when a vehicle is not used on the highway. When an Alabama resident buys a vehicle with an outstanding ad valorem tax lien, the buyer must: Pay all ad valorem tax that has accrued on the purchased vehicle since it was last registered and any applicable interest and penalties on taxes that are delinquent, except for the ad valorem taxes that would have been due in arrears for the 1999 tax year. Also, transfer the buyer’s current plate to the vehicle or purchase a new plate for the vehicle within 20 days of acquisition to avoid a late penalty.
Related FAQs in Vehicle Valuation

The ONE SPOT system will allow returns to be filed with ACH Debit and ACH Credit method payments only. The system will not allow an ACH Debit taxpayer to complete their return filing without completing the necessary information to authorize the ACH Debit payment. The ACH Credit payment is separate from the ONE SPOT system and must be initiated by the taxpayer through their banking institution. Returns successfully submitted for ACH Debit and ACH Credit taxpayers will be exported to the local government.

Upon the completion of the Third Party Designation Form, ALDOR can provide the returns, payments and payment data files to the authorized third party administrator.

When an electronic payment is received by ALDOR in error, the payment will post to the taxpayer’s ALDOR local tax account. ALDOR will not be able to automatically transfer these payments to the non-administered local government due to the possibility the taxpayer’s payment will reject after ALDOR has transferred the payment, causing complicated collection issues. ALDOR will need the taxpayer to advise the Department with what to do with that payment.

The only non-administered local government taxes to be processed through ALDOR will be payments received as the result of legal action, such as final assessment, garnishments, and liens, entered into when the local government was state administered. Payment data for these payments will be available during the first week (5-10 working days) of the month following the tax collection period through the ALDOR website.