Flag_of_Alabama.svg
An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

  • Homepage
  • >
  • Who is an Automotive Dismantler & Part Recycler?

Who is an Automotive Dismantler & Part Recycler?

A person, firm or corporation shall be presumed to be engaging in the business of an automotive dismantler and parts recycler if such person, firm or corporation shall possess 10 or more inoperable motor vehicles for more than 30 days. This does not include licensed repair businesses holding vehicles awaiting repairs, or licensed junk dealers holding vehicles for the purpose of recycling scrap metal. Further, it does not include any entity which repairs reconstructs or reconditions its own vehicles for its own use or which disposes of a vehicle acquired for its own use. (Section 40-12-410, Code of Alabama 1975)

A person, firm or corporation shall be presumed to be engaging in the business of an automotive dismantler and parts recycler if such person, firm or corporation shall possess 10 or more inoperable motor vehicles for more than 30 days. This does not include licensed repair businesses holding vehicles awaiting repairs, or licensed junk dealers holding vehicles for the purpose of recycling scrap metal. Further, it does not include any entity which repairs reconstructs or reconditions its own vehicles for its own use or which disposes of a vehicle acquired for its own use. (Section 40-12-410, Code of Alabama 1975)
Related FAQs in Auto Dismantler, Auto Dismantler and BID cards
Applicants must submit an electronic application via https://mvlicense.mvtrip.alabama.gov. If you already have a Dealer Regulatory License, you should use your dealer license log on to apply for a dismantler license. If you don’t have a Dealer license, you must register to setup your account in the mv license system by selecting “In-state registration.” After the registration is completed, click log in to apply for the dismantler license. Each of the fields must be completed in order to move to the next screen. Payment must be made via credit card. Print the required documents and submit to the Department. All required documents can be uploaded in the mv license system. Your application should be reviewed within 2 to 4 business days. If approved, you will receive an email inviting you to login to the system and print your license. If there are errors, you will receive an email requesting corrections.
$50,000 SURETY BOND-The signed bond and Power of Attorney must be submitted with the dismantler license transmittal document. The bond form will be available when the electronic application has been completed. LICENSE COST-$225.00. Must be paid online with a credit card. Dismantler licenses renewed after September 30th will be subject to a 15% penalty. NMVTIS ID Number-Anyone applying for a dismantler & parts recycler license must already have a National Motor Vehicle Title Information System registration number. If you need to apply for an NMVTIS number, you may do so at: http://www.aamva.org/nmvtis-Reporting-Service/ or for more info: http://www.vehiclehistory.gov/nmvtis_auto.html. THE NMVTIS NUMBER IS MANDATORY.
A person, firm or corporation shall be presumed to be engaging in the business of an automotive dismantler and parts recycler if such person, firm or corporation shall possess 10 or more inoperable motor vehicles for more than 30 days. This does not include licensed repair businesses holding vehicles awaiting repairs, or licensed junk dealers holding vehicles for the purpose of recycling scrap metal. Further, it does not include any entity which repairs reconstructs or reconditions its own vehicles for its own use or which disposes of a vehicle acquired for its own use. (Section 40-12-410, Code of Alabama 1975)
Every person, firm, or corporation desiring to engage in the business of an automotive dismantler and parts recycler shall apply by submitting an application electronically at the required application and fee at https://mvlicense.mvtrip.alabama.gov The license year runs from October 1 through September 30 and it must be renewed by October 31st each year. After October 31st, a 15% penalty and applicable interest will be charged. (Section 40-12-415, Code of Alabama 1975)