Flag_of_Alabama.svg
An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Frequently Asked Questions

Filter FAQs

Categories
Service

All refunds are not automatically approved. Some returns must be reviewed by an examiner. This review generally requires additional information to be submitted. If you have not received your refund within 8-10 weeks of filing, then your refund may have been stopped for review. You will receive a letter requesting additional information or verification of your return or identification. Please check your return to make sure your name, address and social security number on your return are correct.

Allow at least six weeks after filing your return, then check the status of your refund using one of the following sources: 1) go to our website at www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov, 2) call our 24-hour toll-free refund hotline at 1-855-894-7391, or 3) call our daytime refund status line at 334-309-2612. Once your refund has been issued, the message will include a specific issue date.

Yes. Report your income on a Form 40NR. You can get a copy of this form on this website.

Exception: Under the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA), the spouse of an armed forces member is exempt from Alabama income tax when:

The employee’s spouse is a military service member.
The employee is NOT a military service member.
The military service member spouse has a current military order assigning him or her to a military location in Alabama.
The employee and military servicemember reside at the same address.
The employee’s domicile state is a state other than Alabama.
The employee’s and military service member’s domicile is the same.
The employee is present in Alabama solely to be with the military service member spouse.
In addition, the qualifying spouse should complete a Form A4-MS (https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/FA4MS9_19-1.pdf) with their employer claiming withholding tax exempt status.

Military personnel who list Alabama as their home of record are required to pay Alabama income tax regardless of where they are assigned, or the length of time spent in Alabama. Alabama income tax law does not exempt active duty military.

The Alabama standard deduction is based on the filing status used by the taxpayer. For tax years ending 12/31/2007 and forward, the Standard Deduction Chart is used to determine the Standard Deduction allowable on your return.

Yes. Alabama residents will be allowed to deduct contributions made on or after January 1, 2018, by or on behalf of such individual to a health savings account of such individual to coincide with annual amount allotted by federal law or regulation.

Yes. Beginning with the tax year 2020, qualifying firefighters may exempt the following benefit payments from income to the extent the payments are included in their federal adjusted gross income:

Lump sum benefit payments to a firefighter as a result of a cancer diagnosis up to a lifetime benefit of $50,000.
Monthly benefit payments as a result of a specific injury or illness of $3,000 per month for 36 consecutive months to a career firefighter or certified volunteer firefighter or $1,500 per month to a non-certified volunteer firefighter otherwise not eligible for employment benefits.
In addition, firefighters may take a deduction for 100% of the insurance premiums they paid with after tax dollars to the extent the premiums have not been deducted from the federal adjusted gross income.

No. Alabama does not allow childcare tax credit.

If your refund has been offset by another state agency, you will need to contact that agency directly for information, even if the refund was taken in error or the debt has been paid. The other agency does not send state refunds back to ALDOR, but your refund or any overpayment of debt will come from the agency.

Agency contact numbers:

Food Stamps – DHR – 334-242-1900
Child Support- DHR-334-242-9300
Medicaid – AMA – 1-800-362-1504
Unemployment – Labor Dept. – 334-956-4000
Court Systems – 335-954-5005
County – 334-323-1520
Municipality – 334-386-8153

Yes, with a few exceptions. In Alabama, a foster child does not qualify a taxpayer to claim “Head of Family.” Also, you must be unmarried in order to qualify for “Head of Family” filing status with the state.

Mail your incorrect, torn or damaged refund check back with a note requesting a replacement check to Alabama Department of Revenue, Individual & Corporate Tax, P. O. Box 327410, Montgomery, Al 36132-7410.

You should secure a corrected withholding statement (Form W-2C) from your employer.

In our efforts to combat fraudulent returns, the Department of Revenue matches W-2 information received from your employer before we release any refunds. This message means we can’t complete the processing of your return at this time because there is information that does not match.

As soon as we can reconcile the information, your return will continue to be processed.

Submit a copy of the complete federal Form 4852 (Substitute W-2) and attach it to your Alabama return with copies of your pay stubs and/or leave and earnings slips.

In order to obtain a copy of your W2s, you may either contact your employer’s payroll office and ask for a duplicate copy of your W2, or you may mail in an Alabama Form 4506-W Request for Copy of Withholding Tax Forms. There is a $15.00 fee for each W2 requested and we also ask that you allow 8 to 10 weeks for processing. You may print a copy of this form by clicking this link: http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/wp-contents/uploads/2017/05/4506w.pdf

Electronic payments: Please allow three to five business days for your payment to post to your account. If you made a recent payment and received a billing letter after your payment was made, then please send a copy of your payment to the address shown on the billing letter.

Mailed Payments: Please allow seven to ten business days for your payment to clear your account. If you made a recent payment and received a billing letter after your payment was made, then please send a copy of your cancelled check to the address shown on the billing letter. (If it was mailed on or around the due date, it may take longer to process.)

If you made two payments to the same tax year and there is an overpayment of your tax liability, then a refund will automatically be approved for the overpayment. Overpayment of tax liabilities are usually sent by paper check to the current address in our system. If you need to make a change to a payment, you may contact our office for assistance at 334-353-0602 or 334-353-9770.

Please see the instructions for making a payment via MAT below. When making estimate payments, be sure to use the second option indicated on step 3 to ensure that your payment is posted to the correct period.

Where Do I Start?
Depending on which window you are currently viewing, you may need to do the following:
Click the Home hyperlink in the menu bar on the left side of the window

What Do I Do?
On the Accounts tab, view the My Accounts sub-tab.
Click the account ID hyperlink for the account you would like to make a payment on.
Depending on whether the period requires attention or not, you can either:
View the Requires Attention sub-tab on the Periods tab, and locate the period on which you want to make a payment.
or
Click the All sub-tab on the Periods tab, and locate the period on which you want to make a payment.
Click the Pay hyperlink for the period on which you want to make a payment.
Note: In some cases, after clicking the Pay hyperlink you will be directed to a Select Payment Type window. Select the hyperlink of the type of payment you wish to make.
The payment window opens.
If you already have bank account information on file for the account, the bank information for the account is displayed.
To manually enter new bank account information, select the New payment source option in the Choose Payment Source section. If you would like to make the new bank information you enter the default for the account, click the Save as default hyperlink.
To choose another bank account already on file, click the bank account name in the Choose Payment Source section.
If you do not have bank account information on file, enter in your bank account information in the appropriate fields. Click here to see a description of the fields in the payment window.
If you choose to pay by check, click the Pay By Check button. Enter the amount you would like to pay and click the Print Voucher button.
Note: You may only pay by check if the amount is less than $750.00 USD.
Be sure to verify the payment amount.
Click the Submit button.
An authorization window opens requiring you to authorize the payment transaction. Enter your password in the Password field, then click Yes.
A confirmation window shows you the details of your payment and your confirmation number. Click the Print Confirmation button if you would like to print a copy of the confirmation; click OK to close the confirmation window.
You can view your payment requests by clicking the Requests tab and then clicking the Waiting to be Processed sub-tab.

Certain taxpayers are eligible to contribute funds to a special savings account to save funds for a down payment and closing costs on the purchase of a first home in Alabama. Contributions up to $5,000 for a single taxpayer or $10,000 for married couples filing a joint return to this account may be deductible and earnings are tax free if all the requirements are met. The deduction is available for the 5 years in which deposits were made into a first time and second chance home buyer savings account.

Information about the Alabama First-Time and Second Chance Home Buyer Savings Account

Complete IRS Form 8379, Injured Spouse Allocation, and send it to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to get your share of the refund. You can download the form at http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8379.pdf . You can also call the IRS at 800-829-3676, or visit a local IRS office.

The Alabama Department of Revenue cannot stop an offset once you are notified by the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Bureau of the Fiscal Service –Debt Management. We will refund any overpayment to you once it has been posted to your account.

Yes. The Alabama Department of Revenue will continue to offset federal income tax refunds and state refunds even though you are meeting your payment arrangements. Alabama statute allows for the offset of an Income Tax refund until the account is paid in full even if you are on an approved Payment Plan. Your regular monthly payment must still be made to avoid defaulting on your Payment Plan which could lead to enforcement action.

The U.S. Department of the Bureau of the Fiscal Service-Debt Management will notify you in writing that an offset has occurred. TOP will provide information regarding the amount and date of the offset, the state to which the offset was paid, and a phone number to call where individuals may address your concerns and questions regarding the debt associated with the offset. The telephone number (334-353-0775) on the letter is to the Alabama Department of Revenue’s Examiner line.

It may take several weeks for the funds offset from your Federal tax refund to be applied to your State of Alabama debt.

Prior to submitting debts to the U.S. Department of the Bureau of the Fiscal Service-Debt Management for inclusion in TOP, the Alabama Department of Revenue is required to notify each debtor that it intends to refer the debt for federal offset. If you received the LOI (Letter of Intent) notice, you have 60 days to do one of the following:

Pay your debt in full. A payment coupon is attached to the bottom of each notice for your convenience, or you can go to https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/, click on the “Pay a bill I received” link, to make a payment.
Provide proof of payment. If you believe that all or part of this debt has already been paid, fax your documentation to 334-353-2282.

For information on who qualifies as your dependent for Alabama Income Tax purposes, go to: Information about dependents

Taxpayers using the Single and Married Filing Separately filing statuses are entitled to a $1,500 personal exemption. Taxpayers using the Married Filing Jointly and Head of Family filing statuses are entitled to a $3,000 personal exemption.

Part year residents are entitled to the full exemption amount. A dependent or student may claim a personal exemption even if claimed by someone else.

You may pay online via ACH draft via the MAT system. There is no charge for this service. Go to https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov.

You may also choose to use your Discover/Novus, Visa, Master Card, or American Express card. Call Official Payments Corporation at 1-800-272-9829 or visit www.officialpayments.com. Enter jurisdiction code 1100. There is a convenience fee for this service which is paid directly to the company. The amount of the convenience fee is based on the amount of your payment.

If you prefer to mail in your payment, you may do so by using Form 40V and the instructions located at http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/f40v.pdf

For single persons, heads of families, and married persons filing separate returns:

2% First $500 of taxable income

4% Next $2,500 of taxable income

5% All taxable income over $3,000

For married persons filing a joint return:

2% First $1,000 of taxable income

4% Next $5,000 of taxable income

5% All taxable income over $6,000

Interest on obligations of the State of Alabama or any county, city, or municipality of Alabama, and interest on obligations of the United States, or any of its possessions.

All income is subject to Alabama income tax unless specifically exempted by state law. For examples of taxable income go to: Listing of taxable income

For a list of income exempt from Alabama Income Tax, go to: Listing of exempt income items

There are four different filing statuses available under Alabama law:

Single
Married Filing a Joint Return
Married Filing a Separate Return
Head of Family
Explanation of the filing statuses

According to Alabama tax laws, “reasonable medical and legal expenses paid or incurred by the taxpayers in connection with the adoption of a minor may be deducted as an adjustment to income.  Medical expenses include any medical and hospital expenses of the adoptee and the adoptee’s biological mothers which are incident of the adoptee’s birth and subsequent medical care and in the case of the adoptee, are paid or incurred before the petition is granted. Adoption agency fees are not deductible.”

Contributions: Contributions to an individual retirement arrangement (IRA) may be taken as an adjustment to income, the same as for federal tax purposes. These deductible contributions represent a deferral of tax on a portion of your income.
Distributions: At the time funds are distributed from these IRA accounts, the amount on which tax has been deferred cannot be claimed as part of the cost basis in the fund.
Since Alabama income tax law prior to 1982 did not conform to federal tax law in this area, you may have a cost basis in the fund for amounts contributed prior to 1982.
Roth IRA: Alabama recognizes Roth IRA’s.

You may use either method. Compute your deduction using both methods and compare the results. Base your deduction on the method resulting in the greatest advantage to you.

If you know you cannot file your return by the due date, you do not need to file for an extension. You will automatically be granted an automatic six-month extension until October 15th to file. NO EXTENSION FORM (PAPER OR ELECTRONIC) IS REQUIRED TO BE FILED. There is no extension for payments.

If you anticipate that you will owe additional tax on your return you should submit your payment with a payment voucher (Form 40V) by April 15th. Except in cases where taxpayers are abroad, no extension will be granted for more than 6 months. An extension means only that you will not be assessed a penalty for filing your return after the due date. Interest on the additional tax due from the due date of the return and any penalties will be assessed if applicable to your return.

You can obtain the 40V from our forms page https://revenue.alabama.gov/forms/ enter “40V” in the search and select the 40V for the tax year you are paying.

You may also make an extension payment online via https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/ or https://www.alabamainteractive.org/taxextension/.

Please allow 24 to 48 business hours after electronically filing your return before checking on your return or your refund status. If our office shows no record of receiving your tax return after that time, please check your submission for a rejection before you resubmit your return electronically or mailing a copy to the appropriate address indicated on your return.

Yes. According to Reg. 810-3-15-.21 – Nonresident individuals receiving taxable income from property owned or business transacted (including wages for personal services) within Alabama are taxable on such income from within Alabama. They should file a Nonresident Individual Income Tax Return, Form 40NR, each year.

Yes. According to Reg. 810-3-2-.01- Individuals domiciled within Alabama (residents) are taxable on their income, whether earned within or without Alabama, subject to certain exclusions and exemptions as provided under Alabama income tax law, regardless of their physical presence within Alabama at any time during the taxable year. Alabama residents should file a Resident Individual Income Tax Return, Form 40 or 40A, each year.

To protect your privacy, our office cannot send copies of individual tax returns to you electronically. You may obtain a copy of your Alabama tax return by mailing to us an Alabama Form 4506-A Request for Copy of Tax Form or Individual Income Tax Account Information. There is a $5 fee for this information, and we ask that you allow 8 to 10 weeks for processing. Print a copy of the Alabama Form 4506-A.

Complete a new Individual Tax Return, making any necessary changes.
Check the “Amended” box at the top of the first page of the return.
Attached a detailed explanation page of all the changes made to the return.
If you are making changes to any of the following Schedules (A, B, C, CR & DC, E, or F), please be sure to attach a copy of the corrected schedule to your amended return.

Mail completed return and supporting documentation to:

Alabama Department of Revenue
Individual & Corporate Tax
P O Box 327464
Montgomery, AL. 36132-7464

When completing the amended return, please be sure to include any previous refund you were due/previous payment(s) made.  Failure to do so will result in a miscalculation of the amended refund or amount due.

All forms are available for download on this website. For the most used current year forms go to Individual Income Tax – Alabama Department of Revenue. For additional forms, including prior year forms, go to https://revenue.alabama.gov/forms/?d=income. You can filter by year and category or search for the form you need.

Current forms and booklets are also available at the nearest Alabama Taxpayer Service Center. Go to https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/help-center/ for location and contact information.

You may also place an order online for forms to be mailed to you by going to https://revenuealabama.myprintdesk.net/DSF/Smartstore.aspx#!/DefaultLogin/.

The Simplified Short Form or 40EZ is available online to taxpayers who meet all of the following requirements:
• Is an Alabama resident.
• Has filed an Alabama Income Tax Return in a prior year or has a valid Alabama Driver’s License.
• Has a filing status of either Single or Married Filing Jointly.
• Has not made any estimated tax payments for the tax year.
• Has a total combined wage income of less than $100,000.
• Has no reportable income other than wages (no interest, dividends, retirement, pension, rents, gains, losses, etc.).
• Will claim no dependents.
• Will claim no itemized deductions.
• Will claim no federal income tax deduction.
• Will claim no income tax credits or adjustments to income.

Go to https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/ under “Quick Links” for Individuals, select the “File a Simplified Short Form 40EZ”. Note: The link may not be available before the IRS opens for e-file opens or after the due date of the return.

Since the only deductions allowed filing the simplified short form are the optional increased standard deduction and personal exemption, a taxpayer may benefit from filing a Form 40 rather than a Form 40EZ. The Form 40EZ is beneficial to those who have only wages and meet the requirements shown above. If you need to amend your Form 40EZ for any reason you will need to submit a paper Form 40 or Form 40A.

Additionally, by filing a Form 40EZ you agree to the following statement before submitting your return.

“Pursuant to Act 2017-405, Ala. Acts 2017, by claiming the optional, increased standard deduction, I acknowledge that I am knowingly and voluntarily foregoing any right to claim the federal income tax deduction otherwise allowed by section 40-18-15, Ala. Code 1975. I also acknowledge that I am knowingly and voluntarily foregoing the right to claim any and all other deductions, credits, and exemptions that would otherwise be available to me.”

Check with your Authorized IRS E-file Provider to determine if this option is available to you! Almost any return that can be filed electronically for the IRS can also be filed electronically for Alabama. More on the Alabama Electronic Filing Program.

Yes, almost any return that can be filed electronically for the IRS can also be filed electronically for Alabama. For more information go to PC Online Filing, scroll down to “Online & CD/Download Products”.

You can also electronically file for free through My Alabama Taxes (MAT). For more information on MAT filing go to https://revenue.alabama.gov/services/my-alabama-taxes-sign-up/.

Please allow 6-8 weeks from the time you mailed your return to begin checking the status of your return or refund status. If our office shows no record of receiving your tax return after that time, you may submit it electronically or mailing another copy to the appropriate address indicated on your return.

For assistance with your garnishment, please contact our Collections Services Division at 334-242-1220.

For assistance with your bankruptcy, please contact our Legal Division at 334-242-9690.

You have several available resources for assistance:

Specific instructions for all three of Alabama’s income tax returns are available on this website or in print.
Submit your questions via the Help Center.
Contact the Alabama Taxpayer Service Center nearest you. Go to https://revenue.alabama.gov/taxpayer-service-centers/ for contact information or to schedule an appointment.

If you know or even suspect someone has stolen your identity, complete and submit an Identity Theft Affidavit. You should also visit https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/faqs/how-do-i-know-if-i-might-be-a-victim-of-identity-theft/ and https://www.irs.gov/identity-theft-central.

To protect your privacy, our office cannot send copies of individual tax returns to you electronically. To obtain a copy of your Alabama tax return, you may mail in an Alabama Form 4506-A Request for Copy of Tax Form or Individual Income Tax Account Information. There is a $5 fee for this information, and we ask that you allow 8 to 10 weeks for processing.

You can change your address on-line if you have a My Alabama Taxes Account (MAT).

To change your address using your MAT account:

Log into your MAT Account.
Click on the “Names and Addresses” tab.
Then click on your address.
Click “Edit”.
Make the necessary changes.
Then click “Verify Address”.
Click the select hyperlink next to your verified address.
Then click save.

If you do not have a MAT account and need your address changed/update, go to our website and complete the Change of Address form at https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/fchangeofaddress.pdf

The IRS can be reached by calling 1-800-829-1040, visiting their website at www.irs.gov, or you can contact to your local IRS office. Go to https://www.irs.gov/help/contact-your-local-irs-office to find your local IRS office.

Yes. The TTY number is (334) 242-3061.

For assistance with your garnishment, please contact our Collections Services Division at 334-242-1220.

You must have a My Alabama Taxes (MAT) account to view your estimate payments. You may view your 2020 estimate payments by following the steps below:

Log on to My Alabama Taxes.
Click on the Individual Income Tax link.
Click the 31-Dec-2020 link.
A list of your payments will show as pending under “Period Activity”.

You may request a formal payment plan agreement from the department on an individual income return liability if you have received a Notice of Final Assessment or Notice of Intent to Offset Federal Income Tax Refund.

Please visit My Alabama Taxes (MAT) at https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov to submit a payment plan request. Select the “Individual Income Tax Payment Plan” hyperlink to enter the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number in addition to the letter ID of any letter received from the Alabama Department of Revenue (ADOR).

This is the payment plan option for Individual Income Tax Divisions only. If you receive a notice from the Collection Services Division, you should pay the amount shown on the notice or visit My Alabama Taxes (MAT) at https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov to submit Collections payment plan request. Select the “Collections Payment Plan” hyperlink under the “Quick Payments” section.

HINTS:

Individual Income Tax payment plan is located under quick links for individuals. Select this plan if you have received a “Notice of Final Assessment” or “Notice of Intent to Offset Federal Income Tax Refund”.
Collection Services Division payment plan is under Payment Quick Links. Select this plan if you have received a “Final Notice Before Seizure” or “Certificate of Lien for Taxes”.
ACH withdrawal from a valid checking or savings account is a requirement for IIT payment plans.
Minimum payment is $25.00 per month not to exceed 24 months.
State and Federal Refunds will continue to be captured and applied to an amount due during the life of a payment plan.

You may request a formal payment plan agreement from the department on an individual income return liability if you have received a Notice of Final Assessment or Notice of Intent to Offset Federal Income Tax Refund. Please visit My Alabama Taxes (MAT) at https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov to submit a payment plan request. You will need to provide the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number in addition to the letter ID of any letter received from the Alabama Department of Revenue (ADOR).

if you have received a “Notice of Final Assessment” or “Notice of Intent to Offset Federal Income Tax Refund”, select the Individual Income Tax payment plan is located under quick links for individuals.

If you have received a “Final Notice Before Seizure” or “Certificate of Lien for Taxes” from the Collection Services Division, select the Collections Payment Plan under Payment Quick Links.

ACH withdrawal from a valid checking or savings account is a requirement for IIT payment plans. Minimum payment is $25.00 per month not to exceed 24 months

State and Federal Refunds will continue to be captured and applied to an amount due during the life of a payment plan.

If you do not qualify for an Individual Income Tax payment plan, the department will continue to accept voluntary payments. Voluntary payments outside of a payment plan will not stop the collection process and the amount due may eventually be transferred to the Collections Services Division where a lien may be filed. Voluntary payments, if not sent with a return or billing letter, should include name, address, social security number and tax year you are paying. You may mail any payments to Alabama Department of Revenue, Income Tax Administration, P O Box 327460, Montgomery, Al 36132-7460.

You may pay online through the My Alabama Taxes portal. https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/. You will need to have your bank routing number and checking account number to use this service. No fee is charged for this service. If you are paying with funds on a foreign bank, you must include an additional $25 exchange fee. For instruction on how to make a MAT payment go to: https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/webfiles/help/index.html#payments+makepayment

Do not use Form 40V when paying online.

If you file and have a balance due, the amount owed can be charged to your American Express, Visa, Discover/Novus, or MasterCard by using ACI Payments, Inc. or Value Payment Systems.

Value Payment Systems does not accept American Express but has a program called BillMeLater. You can pay by calling 1-800-2PAY-TAX (ACI Payments, Inc.), Alabama´s Jurisdiction Code is 1100).

You can also pay over the Internet by visiting ACI Payments, Inc. or Value Payment Systems. There is a convenience fee for this service. The fee is based on the amount of your tax payment and is paid directly to ACI Payments, Inc. or Value Payment Systems.

You may also make a credit card payment by calling the Alabama Department of Revenue at (334) 353-8096.

Do not include Form 40V with your return when you pay your taxes by credit card.

The MAT system only recognizes that a return is missing. It does not take into account whether or not you met the filing requirement for that particular tax period. If you were not required to file a tax return for that tax year, please disregard the notification.

You can access the link to verify your return by going to the MAT home page. You are not required to log in to MAT to complete this task.

Please allow 6-8 weeks from the time you mailed your return to begin checking the status of your return or refund status. If our office shows no record of receiving your tax return after that time, you may try resubmitting it electronically or mailing another copy to the appropriate address indicated on your return.

Please allow 24 to 48 business hours after electronically filing your return before checking on your return or your refund status. If our office shows no record of receiving your tax return after that time, please check your submission for a rejection before you try resubmitting your return electronically or mailing a copy to the appropriate address indicated on your return.

Something in the body

For assistance with your bankruptcy, please contact our Legal Division at 334-242-9690.

To order income tax forms, go to our income tax forms order page.

Go to our website http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/ enter in search General for General tax forms.

Part year residents whose filing status is “Single” must file if gross income for the year is at least $4,000 while an Alabama resident. Part year residents whose filing status is “Married Filing Separate Return” must file if gross income for the year is at least $5,250 while an Alabama resident. Part year residents whose filing status is “Head of Family” must file if gross income for the year is at least $7,700 while an Alabama resident. Those whose filing status is “Married Filing Joint Return” and whose gross income for the year is at least $10,500 must file an Alabama Individual Income Tax Return while an Alabama resident.

Nonresidents must file a return if their Alabama income exceeds the allowable prorated personal exemption.

Generally, your Alabama Individual Income Tax Return is due on April 15th, unless the 15th is a weekend or holiday, then the return is due the next business day.

Form 40 No Payment:

Alabama Department of Revenue, P O Box 154, Montgomery, AL 36135-0001.

Form 40 with Payment:

Alabama Department of Revenue, P O Box 2401, Montgomery, AL 36140-0001

Form 40A No Payment:

Alabama Department of Revenue, P O Box 327465, Montgomery, AL 36132-7465

Form 40A with Payment:

Alabama Department of Revenue, P O Box 327477, Montgomery, AL 36132-7477

Form 40NR –

Alabama Department of Revenue, P O Box 327469, Montgomery, AL 36132-7469

The MAT system only recognizes that a return is missing.  It does not take into account whether or not you met the filing requirement for that particular tax period.  If you were not required to file a tax return for that tax year, please disregard the notification.