An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Hazardous Waste Disposal Fee

  • Hazardous Waste Disposal Fee


Sections 22-30B-1 through 22-30B-20, Code of Alabama 1975.

Fee on operators of commercial sites for the disposal of hazardous waste or hazardous substance for each ton of waste or substance received for disposal at such sites.

Rates at the commercial facility located at Emelle, Alabama:

$5.50 per ton: waste listed under Section 3001 of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 (RCRA) as amended and “PCB” waste.

$5.50 per ton: all other waste.

$1 per ton: additional fee on all wastes or substances.

In addition to the above fees, Sumter County also levies $2 per drum or $5 per ton on waste disposed of at the Emelle disposal facility

$5.50 per ton RCRA/PCB base fee and $5.50 per ton all other waste: Both $5.50 rates will be used to meet the annual guarantee amount of $4.2 million to the county. After the $4.2 million is met, any remaining amounts are to be split 50/50 between the General Fund and the county.

$1 per ton: All to Alabama Hazardous Substance Cleanup Fund.