An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Local Solid Minerals Taxes

  • Local Solid Minerals Taxes


Coosa County: Section 45-19-244.01, Code of Alabama 1975.

Jackson County: Section 45-36-246, Code of Alabama 1975.

Marshall County, Section 45-48-246, Code of Alabama 1975.

Coosa County levies a tax on sand, clay, silt, loam, dirt, gravel, rock, sand-gravel, and sand-clay and per Act 2019-231, effective May 23, 2019, a $5 per ton tax on graphite.

Jackson and Marshall Counties levy a tax on coal severed within their counties.

Coosa County: $.25 per ton.

Coosa County: $5 per ton.

Jackson and Marshall Counties: $.20 per ton.

Counties where severance occurs for the maintenance, restoration, and replacement of county bridges and roads and for other general county purposes.