An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

ADOR Commissioner Magee Elected 1st VP of FTA Board of Trustees Magee Embraces National Leadership Roles to Help Alabama Taxpayers

Related Division
Posted: June 29, 2016

The national Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) has elected Alabama Department of Revenue Commissioner Julie P. Magee to serve as 1st Vice President of its Board of Trustees. Magee was elected by the FTA membership at their recent annual business meeting in Annapolis, Md.
“I am honored to be selected by the FTA to serve in this capacity and thank the membership for their faith in my abilities,” Magee said. “I believe serving in leadership roles such as this one helps facilitate the sharing of information among states that can improve processes and better protect taxpayers.”
Appointed by Governor Robert Bentley, Magee has served as Alabama’s Commissioner of Revenue since 2011. As Commissioner, she oversees the collection of $9.8 billion in revenue annually.
During her tenure, she has not shied away from assuming various leadership roles at the national level in the FTA, the Multistate Tax Commission, and the Southeastern Association of Tax Administrators. She is also an active participant on the Authentication and the Financial Services workgroups that were formed at the IRS Security Summit, working with the IRS and industry partners to prevent ID theft and tax fraud. In June 2015, Magee provided expert testimony to the U.S. House Judiciary Committee’s Subcommittee on Regulatory Reform, Commercial and Antitrust Law.
First organized in 1937, the Federation of Tax Administrators serves as a resource of information sharing on the workings of state tax agencies and systems as well as issues generally affecting state and federal tax policy and administration. The FTA membership includes representatives of the tax collection agencies of all 50 states, the District of Columbia, New York City and Philadelphia.

View News