Flag_of_Alabama.svg
An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

  • Homepage
  • >
  • What qualifies as an unclaimed/abandoned motor vehicle?

What qualifies as an unclaimed/abandoned motor vehicle?

Unclaimed Motor Vehicles include the following:

A motor vehicle left unattended on a public road or highway for more than 48 hours.
A motor vehicle not left on private property for repairs that has remained on private or other public property for a period of more than 48 hours without the consent of the owner or lessee of the property.
A motor vehicle, left on private property for repairs, that has not been reclaimed within 48 hours from the latter of either the date the repairs were completed or the agreed upon redemption date.
A motor vehicle left unattended on a public street, road, or highway or other property for a period of at least 48 hours.
A motor vehicle left unattended because the driver has been arrested or is impaired by an accident or for any other reason which causes the need for the vehicle to be immediately removed as determined necessary by law enforcement.
A list of all unclaimed/abandoned motor vehicles is available to the public through the department’s Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicle Portal, by selecting the View Unclaimed Vehicle Reports button.

Unclaimed Motor Vehicles include the following: A motor vehicle left unattended on a public road or highway for more than 48 hours. A motor vehicle not left on private property for repairs that has remained on private or other public property for a period of more than 48 hours without the consent of the owner or lessee of the property. A motor vehicle, left on private property for repairs, that has not been reclaimed within 48 hours from the latter of either the date the repairs were completed or the agreed upon redemption date. A motor vehicle left unattended on a public street, road, or highway or other property for a period of at least 48 hours. A motor vehicle left unattended because the driver has been arrested or is impaired by an accident or for any other reason which causes the need for the vehicle to be immediately removed as determined necessary by law enforcement. A list of all unclaimed/abandoned motor vehicles is available to the public through the department’s Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicle Portal, by selecting the View Unclaimed Vehicle Reports button.
Related FAQs in Titles, Unclaimed/Abandoned Motor Vehicles
To obtain records, please visit the department’s Records Request Portal to electronically submit requests for certified copies of title and/or registration records.
The person or entity in possession of an “unclaimed” or “abandoned” motor vehicle must report the vehicle to the department before a motor vehicle can be sold as an “abandoned” vehicle. To report a vehicle as abandoned or unclaimed, please visit the department’s Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicle Portal. The reporter is required to follow the instructions that are provided in the Help Section of the Unclaimed/Abandoned Portal.
Unclaimed Motor Vehicles include the following: A motor vehicle left unattended on a public road or highway for more than 48 hours. A motor vehicle not left on private property for repairs that has remained on private or other public property for a period of more than 48 hours without the consent of the owner or lessee of the property. A motor vehicle, left on private property for repairs, that has not been reclaimed within 48 hours from the latter of either the date the repairs were completed or the agreed upon redemption date. A motor vehicle left unattended on a public street, road, or highway or other property for a period of at least 48 hours. A motor vehicle left unattended because the driver has been arrested or is impaired by an accident or for any other reason which causes the need for the vehicle to be immediately removed as determined necessary by law enforcement. A list of all unclaimed/abandoned motor vehicles is available to the public through the department’s Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicle Portal, by selecting the View Unclaimed Vehicle Reports button.
A manufactured home is a structure defined by and constructed in accordance with the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974 and as amended by the Manufactured Housing Improvement Act of 2000, Title VI 42 U.S. Code, Section 603(6). Manufactured home means a structure, transportable in one or more sections, in the traveling mode, is eight body feet or more in width and 40 body feet or more in length, or, when erected on site, is 320 or more square feet, and which is built on a permanent chassis and designed to be used as a dwelling, with or without a permanent foundation, when connected to the required utilities, including the plumbing, heating, air conditioning, and electrical systems. It may be used as a place of residence, business, profession, trade, or for any other purpose, by the owner, lessee, or assigns and may consist of one or more units that can be attached or joined together. A manufactured home bears a HUD Seal affixed to the rear of the home. (Section 32-20-2) For more details please visit the Alabama Manufactured Housing Commission website.
The name of the owner(s) to be shown on the application for certificate of title must be the current legal name of the owner(s) of the motor vehicle or manufactured home for which a certificate of title is requested. Owner name(s) on the title application must agree with the name on supporting documents. The seller information listed on the title application must agree with supporting documents. In lieu of handprinted names and signatures, an electronic signature is acceptable when authorized by the department. See Administrative Rule: 810-5-75-.40 Requirements for Names and Signatures on Title Applications, Title Assignments, and Motor Vehicle Registrations, for more details.
If the Department is not satisfied as to the ownership of the vehicle or that there are no undisclosed security interests in it, the Department may, as a condition of issuing a certificate of title, require the applicant to file with the Department a cash or surety bond.