阿拉巴马州的旗帜.svg
阿拉巴马州政府的一个官方网站。

.gov意味着它是官方的。

政府网站通常以.gov或.mil结尾。在分享敏感信息之前,请确保你是在一个官方的政府网站上。

该网站是安全的

https://,确保你正在连接到官方网站,并且你提供的任何信息都经过加密和安全传输。

.gov意味着它是官方的。

政府网站通常以.gov或.mil结尾。在分享敏感信息之前,请确保你是在一个官方的政府网站上。

该网站是安全的

https://,确保你正在连接到官方网站,并且你提供的任何信息都经过加密和安全传输。

胡佛居民对不缴纳销售税表示认罪

  • 新闻发布
  • >
  • 胡佛居民对不缴纳销售税表示认罪
发布。2022年8月30日

蒙哥马利 - 35岁的胡佛(Hoover)的李-恩乔罗格(Lee Njoroge)管理着贝塞默(Bessemer)的L & N Food Mart, Inc.Njoroge周二在蒙哥马利县巡回法院承认,他经常少报其便利店的销售总额,以减少该店的税单。

根据州法律,企业必须按月向阿拉巴马州税务局(ALDOR)报告并缴纳销售税。ALDOR的调查显示,Njoroge在2017年11月至2019年5月的18个月内,每个月都少报了L & N Food Mart的销售额,并减少了其税单。调查显示,Njoroge少交了该企业的销售税44,569.56美元。

法院判处了反向分割的刑罚,命令被告先服三年缓刑,然后再服两年监禁,在完成缓刑后,法院可酌情暂停。被告还被命令支付全部赔偿金以及利息和罚金28,867.45美元,共计73,437.01美元。

"专员Vernon Barnett说:"不适当地汇出销售税不仅是对那些辛勤工作的人的严重犯罪,也是对我们州的儿童的犯罪,他们失去了学校所需的资金。"阿拉巴马州不会容忍腐败和不诚实的企业主,他们希望用纳税人的钱来充实自己的口袋。

总检察长特别起诉司的助理总检察长内森-梅斯(Nathan Mays)根据ALDOR调查司所做的调查起诉了此案。

下载本新闻稿的PDF文件。

Flag_of_Alabama.svg
An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Hoover Resident Pleads Guilty to Not Paying Sales Tax

  • Press Release
  • >
  • Hoover Resident Pleads Guilty to Not Paying Sales Tax
Posted: August 30, 2022

MONTGOMERY – Lee Njoroge, 35, of Hoover, managed L & N Food Mart, Inc. in Bessemer. Njoroge pleaded guilty Tuesday in Montgomery County Circuit Court to routinely underreporting his convenience store’s gross sales in order to reduce the store’s tax bill.

Under state law, businesses must report and pay sales taxes to the Alabama Department of Revenue (ALDOR) on a monthly basis. An investigation by ALDOR revealed that Njoroge underreported L & N Food Mart’s sales—and reduced its tax bill—each month for a period of 18 months between November 2017 and May 2019. The investigation revealed that Njoroge underpaid the business’s sales tax by $44,569.56.

The Court imposed a reverse split sentence, with the defendant ordered to first serve a term of three years’ probation followed by two years’ imprisonment, which the Court has the discretion to suspend upon completion of probation. The defendant was also ordered to pay full restitution as well as interest and penalties in the amount of $28,867.45, for a total of $73,437.01.

“Failure to properly remit sales tax is not only a serious crime against the hard-working people it is collected from, but also one against the children of our state who lose funds vitally needed for their schools,” said Commissioner Vernon Barnett. “Alabama will not tolerate corrupt and dishonest business owners who look to line their pockets with taxpayer money.”

Assistant Attorney General Nathan Mays of the Attorney General’s Special Prosecutions Division prosecuted this case based on an investigation done by the ALDOR’s Investigations Division.

Download a pdf of this release.