TO: License Plate Issuing Officials
SUBJECT: Legislative Acts Effective January 1, 2022
Legislative Act 2021-407 allows persons with long-term disabilities to obtain a license plate issued under Chapter 6 of Title 32 or Chapter 12 of Title 40, Code of Ala. 1975, which displays the International Symbol of Access. Instead of manufacturing distinctive disability access license plates for every license plate category, a print on demand disability access decal (pictured above) will be issued. The decal will be affixed in the upper left corner of any license plate issued to private passenger automobiles, motorcycles, pickup trucks and self-propelled campers with a gross vehicle weight of 12,000 pounds or less. The license plate number should be printed on the decal and the receipt will be printed in the same format as other print on demand decals and receipts. Print on demand disability access decals and receipts, as well as new long-term disability access placards will be delivered to licensing offices before January 1. Disability access decals and placards should be issued in accordance with administrative rule 810-5-1-.225. Note: physician recertification is not required for persons with long-term disabilities, instead these individuals may self-certify. A disability access decal check box will be added to the registration record; similar to the metal plate issuance checkbox. The previously used “01” secondary tag type for disability access license plates will be discontinued. Please see updated registration file format on Motor Vehicle Division webpage under “reference and statistics.”
Legislative Act 2021-429, amends §32-11-2, Code of Ala. 1975 to exempt utility trailers owned by volunteer rescue squads from registration fees and ad valorem taxes. These trailers should be issued a “trailer” plate.
Legislative Act 2021-410 exempts disabled veterans from the $1.25 issuance fee. This exemption applies to all license plates for which the disabled veteran qualifies; not just disabled veteran plate category.
Legislative Act 2021-432 increases the additional fee from $.25 to $1.00 for firefighter license plates. The Alabama Joint Fire Council will use $.50 of the proceeds for the purpose of expanding and maintaining the Alabama Firefighter Memorial and will use the other $.50 for training expenses associated with the Firefighter Peer Support Program.
Legislative Act 2021-146 decreases the additional annual fee for an electric low speed vehicle to $50. The additional fee shall be distributed in accordance with §40-12-242.1, Code of Ala. 1975. Low speed vehicles may be registered in accordance with administrative rule 810-5-1-.238.
If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact the MVD at 334-242-9000.