Code of Alabama: Salvage Title Law 32-8-87
A salvage, also known as total loss, vehicle is when a total loss occurs and an insurance company (or any other payee) makes a monetary settlement for a vehicle that is damaged greater than or equal to 75 percent of the fair retail value.
Every vehicle in Alabama which has been restored (in Alabama) to its operating condition prior to a total loss.
Rebuilt Application and Inspection
If you owned the vehicle prior to salvage a Rebuilt Inspection is required to consider a previous Salvage Vehicle now a Rebuilt Vehicle. You must submit the following via mail to apply for a Rebuilt Inspection. Mailing address included on the application. Inspections are scheduled by the Motor Vehicle Inspector once your application is processed. The inspector will contact you for inspection once the request for inspection has been received (1 to 2 weeks).
- Complete an application for rebuilt inspection (INV 26-15)
- Salvage certificate of title
- All bills of sale for component parts replaces
- Registration receipt evidencing ownership prior to salvage
- $90 inspection fee in certified funds (cashier’s check or money order)
To track the status of your application visit: Application Status Prequalifier – ALTS .
If you did not own the vehicle prior to salvage you must have a master dealer regulatory license to apply for a rebuilt inspection.