Flag_of_Alabama.svg
An official website of the Alabama State government.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The .gov means it's official

Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on an official government site.

The site is secure

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

NOTICE All Persons Severing Coal within the State of Alabama

Posted: June 20, 2019

Expiration of the Additional Coal Severance Tax Levies

Act Number 2017-369, which became effective August 1, 2017, levied an additional excise and privilege tax in the amount of two and one-half cents ($0.025) per ton on every person severing coal or lignite by underground
mining and five cents ($0.05) per ton for coal or lignite severed by surface mining. Per the provisions of this Act, the additional taxes levied shall expire on AUGUST 1, 2019. Therefore, effective with the August 2019 return which is due no later than September 20, 2019, the total tax levied on coal severed in Alabama will be $0.335 per ton. Please log into your MyAlabamaTaxes (MAT) account to file the return and remit the appropriate tax by the due date. If you have questions regarding the coal severance tax, please visit the Department’s website at https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/coal-severance-tax/, or you may contact our office at the below address or telephone number.

Business and License Tax Division
Severance and License Section
P. O. Box 327560
Montgomery, AL 36132-7560
334-353-7827, option 5

Click here to download a .pdf version of this notice.