Bandera_de_Alabama.svg
Sitio web oficial del gobierno del Estado de Alabama.

El .gov significa que es oficial

Los sitios web gubernamentales suelen terminar en .gov o .mil. Antes de compartir información sensible, asegúrate de que estás en un sitio oficial del gobierno.

El sitio es seguro

El sitio https:// garantiza que se está conectando al sitio web oficial y que cualquier información que proporcione está encriptada y se transmite de forma segura.

Categorías de Preguntas Frecuentes / Impuesto: Seguro de responsabilidad civil

Se envía un aviso de verificación del MLI a la dirección que figura en la matrícula del vehículo y/o se envía por correo electrónico (si se dispone de la dirección de correo electrónico) a los titulares de la matrícula solicitando una prueba de la cobertura del seguro del vehículo en la fecha de verificación. Si no se recibe respuesta después de 30 días del aviso de verificación MLI, la placa no ha sido entregada dentro de los 30 días o el seguro no puede ser verificado por el DOR, se envía una NOS al registrante notificando que su registro ha sido suspendido.

Ask the insurer to visit the Be Sure to Insure Alabama website to provide to ALDOR confirmation of coverage on the vehicle for the requested verification date as shown on the verification notice. The insurer must provide the confirmation on the insurer's letterhead and submit it from the insurer’s email address so we know the response is being provided directly from the insurer.

Los registrantes deben proporcionar a los funcionarios de licencias la información del seguro (número de póliza, número de NAIC, tipo de póliza), incluyendo las actualizaciones, cuando se registra el vehículo. Esta información es utilizada por el DOR para verificar el seguro del vehículo utilizando el Sistema de Verificación de Seguros en Línea (OIVS).

Visit your local licensing official to pay the required reinstatement fee ($200 for first suspension; $400 for second and subsequent suspensions) and provide evidence of current Alabama liability insurance coverage.

ALDOR uses the Online Insurance Verification System (OIVS) to determine if owners are maintaining liability insurance in accordance with the mandatory liability insurance (MLI) law by the following methods:

  • ALDOR reviews motor vehicle registrations using a real time verification process directly with the insurance companies on every vehicle registered in the state that is subject to the MLI law.
  • ALDOR receives notice that the Alabama driver’s license associated with the vehicle registration has been suspended or revoked by the Department of Public Safety.
  • ALDOR receives notice that there was a ticket issued for failure or refusal to comply with a request by a law enforcement officer for display of evidence of insurance coverage on the vehicle.
  • ALDOR will follow-up on any unconfirmed responses received from the insurer by sending a questionnaire to the registrant in an attempt to obtain updated policy information (ALDOR also has asked insurers to provide a monthly file of active policies to ensure registration records are updated for confirmation of coverage).

Yes. If the vehicle was in exempt (stored, inoperable, or other unused) status, you should visit your local licensing official to surrender the license plate within 30 calendar days of the MLI verification notice.

Failure to do so will result in suspension of your vehicle registration.

Failure to surrender the license plate or completion of the “Request for Registration Revocation” form (MV32-7A-5) within 30 days of the MLI verification notice will result in a registration suspension.

However, if you were unable to surrender the plate within 30 days due to any of the reasons listed on MV Form 32-7A-11, you may qualify for a “good cause” extension. The form should be completed (along with necessary documentation) and submitted to your local licensing official within 30 calendar days from the date that the “good cause” event ended.

If the plate and/or a completed form MV32-7A-5 were not submitted to the local licensing official within 30 days of the MLI verification notice, and if you do not qualify for any of the good cause reasons listed on MV32-7A-11, reinstatement fees ($200 for first suspension; $400 for second and subsequent suspension) and evidence of current Alabama liability insurance coverage must be provided to their local licensing official to remove the registration suspension.

The online insurance verification system (OIVS) uses web services for real-time verification of policy information with insurers. The OIVS is accessible to ALDOR, licensing officials, and law enforcement. If OIVS does not return a “confirmed” response, the registrant will be required to present the evidence of insurance document. ALDOR will continue to attempt to verify the policy information submitted and will follow up on any unconfirmed responses received from the insurer by sending a verification notice to the registrant.

Differences between the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), insurance policy number, or National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) number provided to local licensing officials could result in the insurer being unable to verify insurance coverage for the vehicle. To determine a possible VIN discrepancy, you should check the VIN listed on your insurance card and registration receipt to find any discrepancies. If the VIN on your insurance card is incorrect, you should contact your insurer to get the information corrected. If you believe the VIN reflected on your registration receipt is incorrect, you should check with your local licensing official.

Not necessarily. On a periodic basis, ALDOR attempts to verify insurance for all registered vehicles. If insurance coverage cannot be verified for a vehicle, ALDOR will mail an MLI verification notice to the address on the vehicle registration and/or email the registrant (if email address is available) asking for evidence of insurance on the vehicle.

Las tasas de restablecimiento sólo se deben pagar cuando el vehículo no estaba asegurado en la fecha de verificación del seguro, o el vehículo no cumplía los requisitos para una exención (vendido, almacenado, inoperable, etc.).

No. You should either go to the Be Sure to Insure Alabama website , visit your local licensing office or contact the MVD.

If insurance coverage cannot be verified, variances between the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), insurance policy number or National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) number provided to local licensing officials could result in the insurer being unable to verify insurance coverage for the vehicle.

To determine a possible VIN discrepancy, you should check the VIN listed on your insurance card and registration receipt to find any discrepancies. If the VIN on your insurance card is incorrect, you should contact your insurer to get the information corrected. If you believe the VIN reflected on the registration receipt is incorrect, you should check with your local licensing official.

Visit your local licensing official to surrender the license plate within 30 days of the MLI verification notice. Failure to do so will result in suspension of your vehicle registration.

ALDOR will use the information to attempt to verify your insurance coverage with the insurer.

  • If the insurance is verified (i.e. confirmed) successfully, the MLI record will be closed.
  • If the insurance is not verified (i.e. unconfirmed), you should contact your insurer and request that the insurer provide evidence of insurance coverage (statement on insurer’s letterhead) for the vehicle on the insurance verification date.

Visit your local licensing official to pay the required reinstatement fee ($200 for first suspension; $400 for second and subsequent suspensions) and provide evidence of current Alabama liability insurance coverage.

If the vehicle was in exempt (stored, inoperable, or other unused) status, then visit your local licensing official to surrender the license plate within 30 days of the MLI verification notice. Failure to do so will result in suspension of your vehicle registration.

La persona registrada tendrá que proporcionar documentación (factura de venta, etc.) y entregar la placa al funcionario local de licencias para completar el proceso de revocación. El formulario MV 32-7A-5 -Solicitud de revocación de la matrícula está disponible para proporcionar al funcionario de licencias cuando la matrícula no puede ser entregada.

The vehicle registration reinstatement fee provided for in the MLI law is a separate fee from the ticket fines related to tickets issued by law enforcement and assessed by the Administrative Office of Courts (AOC) or the local court system.

In accordance with Section 32-7A-12, Code of Alabama 1975, the department will suspend the vehicle registration of any motor vehicle determined to be in violation of Section 32-7A-4, Code of Alabama 1975.

  • In the case of a first violation, the department shall terminate the suspension upon payment of a reinstatement fee of $200 and the submission of proof of current insurance coverage on the vehicle.
  • In the case of the second or subsequent violation, the department shall terminate the suspension upon payment of a reinstatement fee of $400 and submission of proof of current insurance coverage on the vehicle.

The MLI law administered by ALDOR deals with vehicle registration.

The MLI law administered by ALEA deals with the driver license. Please contact the law enforcement agency reflected on your citation for more information if needed.

Todo vehículo motorizado registrado en Alabama debe estar cubierto por una póliza de seguro de responsabilidad civil de Alabama. Un solicitante de registro puede ponerse en contacto con su compañía de seguros para convertir la póliza OOS a una póliza de Alabama. Si puede convertirla en una póliza de Alabama, el solicitante de registro debe ponerse en contacto con su aseguradora para proporcionar tanto la póliza OOS en vigor en la fecha de verificación como la información de la póliza actual de Alabama al DOR a través del portal de carga en www.besuretoinsureal.com. Ambas pólizas deberán ser confirmadas para evitar la suspensión del registro del vehículo.
Sí. La Sección 32-7A-11 del Código requiere que el propietario del vehículo compre un nuevo registro. Se aplicarán todas las tarifas de registro aplicables, incluidas las tarifas adicionales y las tarifas de emisión. El titular de la matrícula tiene la opción de comprar una placa estándar o "God Bless America" (Dios bendiga a América) para el resto del año de la matrícula, de modo que no deberá pagar la cuota de matrícula adicional de $50. Si la matrícula tiene un mensaje personalizado, el mensaje personalizado del registrante estará disponible de nuevo en el momento de la renovación. Tenga en cuenta que la cuota adicional no se puede prorratear (40-12-258).
Sí. La Sección 32-7A-11 del Código requiere que el propietario del vehículo compre un nuevo registro. Se aplicarán todas las tarifas de registro aplicables, incluidas las tarifas adicionales y las tarifas de emisión. El titular de la matrícula tiene la opción de comprar una placa estándar o "God Bless America" (Dios bendiga a América) para el resto del año de la matrícula, de modo que no deberá pagar la cuota de matrícula adicional de $50. Si la matrícula tiene un mensaje personalizado, el mensaje personalizado del registrante estará disponible de nuevo en el momento de la renovación. Tenga en cuenta que la cuota adicional no se puede prorratear (40-12-258).

Visit your local licensing official to surrender the license plate within 30 calendar days of the MLI verification notice. Failure to do so will result in suspension of your vehicle registration.